Find companies:
Simmons Bedding Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

Simmons Bedding Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized and hectic
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 28, 2014
Not a good place to work. Management is abusive, unorganized, and unprofessional. Hard work up to 65 hours a week with low pay and very short breaks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Customer service manager (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTAugust 19, 2014
Pros: lunch ins with the facility
Cons: health care is expensive
Goin to work was great!, everybody in the office gets along and helps train eachother on their job,
Family is first, amazing!!!
perfect hours to have time for the family
I hope I can find a job that cares about eachother as much as they do here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the customer service department to enter daily orders and customer returns and call customers with delivery information.
Administrative Assistant (Temp) (Current Employee), Janesville, WIAugust 7, 2014
Working with the customer service department to enter daily orders and customer returns and call customers with delivery information.
Scan all Bills of Lading into Stellent, reassemble and file.
Receptionist duties including answering and directing phone calls, paging employees, date stamping mail, delivering all mail, greeting all visitors with a friendly – more... smile and upbeat attitude and properly signing them in and out.
Data entry.
Assist accounting and payroll with filing, copying, scanning, prearranging entering data on spreadsheets, and reconciling temporary hours with invoices. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simmons
Controller (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJuly 29, 2014
Have worked for Simmons for over 13 years and have really enjoyed the people I have personally worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RETAIL ACCOUNT SPECIALIST
Retail Account Specialist (Current Employee), Rochester, NYMarch 12, 2014
Pros: higher mileage reimbursement than most other companies
Cons: work some weekends but its really not that bad after you get use to it.
I started off in this company as a Retail Account Specialist. I have great leadership that was tough but fair. They challenged me to advance in everything I did and within a year they turned me into a superstar. In no time at all I was presented with opportunities to lead and potential advancement within the company. It was tough at first making the – more... sacrifices to work weekends but this lead to even better results and eventually I saw improved performance in my territory. Overall, there are a lot of opportunities for you to advance in your career path with this company. If you decide you like account management or sales training then you can go either way through a clear defined structure. I was surprised to learn how many younger strategic account managers there are in this company. This is a great company to grow with that has a tremendous sense of community. Everyone is there to help you and make you better as long as you are ready to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and culture that went bad.
Mail Services Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: good question
Cons: healthcare, management
The culture at Simmons was one of the things that attracted me to stay. Over time with several management changes, organizational changes on a regular basis and a hostel buyout the company cared less about it's people and more about the bottom line.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not like Job!
Shipper/Loader (Former Employee), Janesville,WIFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: bad management!
Not a good place to work, company cared little about employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alot of change
Corporate Logistics Operations Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: change
Cons: change
alot of change coming, combining with Serta, alot of unknowns also alot of opportunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NO FUTURE IN THIS COMPANY
SALES (Former Employee), NEW JERSEYJanuary 28, 2014
Cons: poor pay - no family life - poor training
ONE OF THE WORST COMPANIES I HAVE EVER WORKED FOR. ABUSIVE MANAGERS, USING VULGAR LANGUAGE, NO RESPECT FOR EMPLOYEES. COMPLETE LIARS, DO NOT BACK UP THERE EMPLOYEES. MAKE POOR DECISIONS AND BLAME SALES PEOPLE FOR FOLLOWING MANAGERS DIRECTION.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast-paced
Foundation Production Lead (Former Employee), Irving, TXJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: good health plan
Cons: hours spike and plunge at random
Multiple jobs to be learned, hours are order based 4 hours a day guaranteed, very good management will take personal one on one meetings when needed, co workers are as friendly as family and will help you if learn or improve if asked, numbers are taken hourly and are usually team based and depend on speed, but the family atmosphere will make things – more... easier and more enjoyable as days pass – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun and challenging environment.
Human Resource Manager/ Regional Recruiter (Current Employee), Seattle and DenverJanuary 5, 2014
Simmons is very innovative and always changing its product to meet customer demands. My job is to align with the Plant Management team on HR initiatives and ensure policies are being followed. I am responsible for the management of the plant along with the Operations Manager and Controller for two plants. Additionally, I support 9 plants in their recruiting – more... efforts. The best part of the job is that I enjoy the people and being a part of a team the worst part is not having the bandwidth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11+ hrs a day, six days a week, with no compensation for additional hrs.
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Agawam, MAOctober 30, 2013
Pros: not micromananged
Cons: 11hr+ days, 6 days a week, no work / life balance
When you walk in to the front office of Agawm facility, you notice Forbs top 100 companies to work for - in 2004 and 2005. In the year and a half I worked at Simmons, I wondered if Forbs was to ever take a look again, how far down the list this company would have fallen.
Compensation - if your are hourly, you will make money here, as you never know – more... when your day will end and you always work six days a week. As a member of management, I was severely short changed, They say you have the ability to earn bonuses, but no one had seen one in over 5 years,
Culture - I remember the Production manager telling the employees they were going from being paid overtime after 8hrs to being paid overtime after 40 - and holiday / vacation hours didn't count towards the 40 - then he had the nerve to say: ''if you think about it, your not really losing anything'' REALLY? So if I have Monday off for labor day and I have to work Saturday, (which you will) its no longer overtime - but I'm not losing anything? REALLY?
Job Security - show up every day, on time and do what your asked and you will have a job, Most people lost there jobs because of attendance. (but when your expected to work 6 days a week, no matter what, what do you expect?)
Management - Good people for the most part, just caught up in the Simmons mind set.
Work / Life balance - ZERO STARS - if you work 1st, you go in at 5 and leave around 3:30 - and you can leave 2nd shift in whatever condition you want because they can't leave until all the work is done. 90% of the time you walk in behind the eight ball. I never worked less the 11 hrs a day, several times I was still their at 5 when 1st shift was coming in. When I complained, all I got was: "welcome to Simmons.." What the heck does that mean? You will work every Saturday, period. They do try and give work to other facilities, but it never works out.,
This is a 3 shift facility, they just have no idea how to do it. (they did try, but when you start a new shift you need more then 4 experienced people stuck with 12 new people to make it work -(set up to fail)
Plus, when they can dump the work on 2nd and make people stay, what's your motivation?
Last but not least, the facility is too small for the volume they produce. Raw material is everywhere, not because the place is unorganized, but because they have no place to put the material. Its everywhere! Their is a reason why this job is consistently posted - I left on my own for the above reasons. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst companies I have worked for.
Employee (Former Employee), 2450 Esters Blvd., Suite 100, DFW Airport, TXOctober 22, 2013
Pros: can't think of any.
Cons: don't expect to see your family, except on sundays and some of those are worked.
Worked 12-15 hour days and most Saturdays. HR was seldom ever on the floor and not employee friendly. Management seemed to be managing from behind most of the time. Supervision was typically under staffed. Three-day weekends were nonexistent as most Saturdays before and after a holiday were worked. The production floor was very hot in the summer and – more... cold in the winter...6 heaters (not all worked) to cover about 1/4 million square feet with about 60 dock doors. If you want no family life, Simmons is the place for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
operator (Former Employee), irving, TXAugust 9, 2013
Cons: short break
productive
leaned to be on time , and work has a team
good relationship wit my co-workers
working in hot condition
the pay was good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very long hours and high turnover rate
Supervisor (Current Employee), Agawam MAJuly 7, 2013
Pros: hours if you are hourly.
Cons: hours, turnover rate.
This company lied to me about my hours saying I would work around 9 hours a day and the occasional Saturday. I feel as if I got cheated as I work anywhere from 11-14 hours each day, 6 days a week. They told me that I would work an occasional Saturday, it turned out that I got the occasional Saturday off. While I worked there many people complained about – more... the hours and anytime you mention the hours they always point to the door and say there is the exit.

Co-workers vary tremendously, you have many language barriers from all over the world which is awesome and interesting and also creates challenges. It isn't unusual here to be working and notice that someone walked out because they can't stand the stress of the place.

The most enjoyable part of this job is that it isn't micro managed and you are trusted to take lead and make changes.

What I learned here is to ask more questions before accepting a job offer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Manufacturer/Assembly (Former Employee), janesville, wi.May 23, 2013
I enjoyed working at Simmons Bedding, and the people whom I worked for and with throughout my duration .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for!
ACCOUNT MANAGER - INSIDE SALES (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 10, 2013
Simmons is a very nice company to work for, the culture and the people are nice and enjoyable. Love working there but there is not much room to grown unless you are willing to move to another state (this only applies to the sales dept.)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rude managers, Not a good work environment
Supervisor Receiving (Former Employee), Tolleson, AZDecember 6, 2012
Pros: good pay hourly
Cons: mangement attitudes, rude staff
A typical day at Simmons is going in at 6:30am and working until 3:30pm. What I learned about this company is that they are not very professional and do not care about their employees. The hardest part of this job was lifting 150 lbs rolls of fabric.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive friendly atmosphere
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee), Compton, CANovember 23, 2012
Pros: the ability to learn new skills, working with others as a team.
Cons: not enough hours in a day to complete all that needed to be done, due to cut-backs.
busy from start to fininsh. traveled to learn installing and repairing new equipment. Friendly atmosphere with co-workers. The hardest part of the job was not enough time to complete tasks due to cut backs.
The most enjoyable part of the job was to travel and learn new skills.
certified cpr and first aid. forklift certified. Participated in company – more... outting called the game of life. where it involved all employees to participate and work as a team. learning each individuals strengths and weaknesses. Giving support to one another in the individual games. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
CORPORATE TRAINER / RETAIL ACCOUNTS SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Rochester, NYSeptember 17, 2012
the 'fun' kind of stress,loved it!
Manageable territory size, diverse accounts, if you like speaking/training a variety of salespeople then you will love it even more

About Simmons Bedding Company

Simmons sleeps tight as a top US mattress makerĀ alongside rival Sealy. The company, founded by Zalmon Simmons in 1870, makes mattresses – Read more