Find companies:
Simmons Foods
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Simmons Foods Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed being able to use my Human Resource skills to help others
Human Resource Manager (Former Employee), Van Buren, AROctober 22, 2014
I enjoyed working for Simmons Foods, I used my payroll and HR skills daily as well as basic data entry skills. The most challenging part of my position was communicating with those with a different language. I tried to learn to I could communicate the best I could.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Accounting Intern (Former Employee), Siloam Springs, ARSeptember 29, 2014
A typical workday consisted of working on fixed asset accounts, construction in process accounts, work in process accounts, lease expense accounts, and preparing spreadsheets for the auditors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to work only if you must
worker (Former Employee), MOSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: free clinic
Cons: horrible hours, demanding expectations
A typical work day means doing everything without asking for help. You maybe ask to work extra hours because people tend not to show up to work. No job training and if you get train they are not qualify to train you. If you do seek out management or Human Resources they will turn you around because they do not want to waste time on you. The coworkers – more... are scare to say anything because they are afraid to get in trouble by management. The hardest part of the job is that they have rules in place and they are not enforced to protect your job and help you out when they are most needed. They make you sign things in a rush you have no idea you are signing your rights away. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out of control
Lead (Former Employee), Van Buren, ARJuly 18, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: pay, workers, management, setup
Everyday was a rush and never ready day. The front of the line was ready before the back of the line. Everything was always go, go, go. I learned how to do Q.A., and H.A.C.C.P. Learned how to manage time and schedules. Management here was really different and unorthodox. The co-workers were hard to work with, didn't speak English, didn't listen or follow – more... rules. When we lost workers due to legal reason it was hard to be productive when short on workers. Not being able to speak the same language was a big barrier. Not really anything I enjoyed about this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Hours
Quality Assurance (Former Employee), Van Buren, ARNovember 14, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: healthcare
The people were really nice. I learn i lot to work under pressure, learn to work a lot with numbers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Production Worker (Former Employee), MOAugust 14, 2013
Pros: free thanksgiving lunch for everyone. christmas gifts for kids and drawings, people could win giant "flat screens!"
Cons: it's just the hours, most of the times we only get 36-38 hours. it would be nice if we could get more hours.
A typical day at work is waiting in line for smocks. Once the hour begins, everyone gets really busy. It's a wonderful place to work because there is always something for everyone to do, so boredom is out of the question. The managers and supervisors are SUPER NICE! All the co-workers are very nice. Everyone always smiles and asked if I needed help. – more... There is really nothing hard about the job, everything is all about learning. Once you learn how to handle the products or what to do with them then it's a piece of cake. I really enjoyed working with this company because I stayed busy throughout my shift. And that's me, I like to stay busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivy
Quality Control, Supervisor Part-Time (Former Employee), Van Buren, ARApril 30, 2013
Pros: overtime
Cons: short lunch breaks
taking care of the breading lines maintaning great USDA regulations was being followed. the co-worker was awful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging career that keeps you on your toes
QA /HACCP Coordinator (Current Employee), Siloam Springs, ARApril 8, 2013
Pros: being able to meet and exceed goals
Cons: health care
Started around 5:30am and ended around 5:00pm. I learned how to deal with management and customers on a professional level. Working hand and hand with management on a daily basis. Team work with co-workers is a must. The hardest part of the job was the dealing with different percetions from the government regulatuions. The easiest part was being able – more... to motivate team workers to fulfill customer satisfaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Food Safety Coordinator (Current Employee), Siloam Springs, ARApril 1, 2013
Oversee processes, manage employees
Work with Production management team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at , people are nice
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee), Southwest, PAMarch 19, 2013
Pros: learning
Cons: dealing with mangement when they have to do something they don't want to do for benifit of company
Typical day at work is working at own pace as long as you get your work done, what needs to be done at end of shift. If time start doing extra so you are ahead for the week. Management is ok to get along with. Hardest part of job is not being stressed but have leaned that it is a chalenge. Most enjoyable part is working with people for so long they – more... become part of family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and educational
Industrial Mechanic (Former Employee), Van Buren, ARFebruary 24, 2013
Pros: always learning
Cons: cold
Overall not a bad place to work. always an opportunity to learn something new. management is laid back but strick.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competative & Challenging
Quality Assurance/Food Safety Supervisor (Former Employee), Van Buren, ARJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: excellent health care program
Cons: long hours & sunday work
Simmons was a very competitive, fast paced, and always a challenge. The people @ Simmons Foods hourly & management for the most part are all great to work with. I really enjoyed the time I spent at Simmons that resulted in knowledge, experience, & education they provided me with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
before the plant closed, was a good place to work
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee), Springdale, ARJanuary 13, 2013
Pros: recieved a lot of maint experience
Cons: trying to get new parts ordered was a nightmare, budget.
clock in, check with the previous shift for any and all issues that would have to be addressed before the next production shift. There would a short time to break down the lines for sanitation to clean, during the cleaning i would have to repair any machines,water lines,air lines,ect, before setting back up for the next shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Quality Assurance Supervisor (Current Employee), Siloam Springs, ARDecember 20, 2012
Pros: fun
Cons: long hours
Nice people long hours good pay. Enjoyed working here. Had a long commute so looking for another job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very few english speaking people
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Siloam Springs, ARDecember 11, 2012
Cons: hair net, beard net, safety hat
Hated every day of it. I cant give a real good review because i dont remember much about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work enviroment
Forklift Driver/ Back up Lead (Former Employee), Van Buren, ARNovember 17, 2012
Pros: very good benefits package, including medical, dental, vision, and life insurance.
Driving Forklifts to keep the line fed with totes of chicken. I learned how to drive a forklift and palletjack safely and effectively, along with keeping track of inventory on the shipping dock. The management was very nice and courtious, always there to loan a helping hand or answer any questions you may have. Co-workers were all very respectful and – more... overall fun to work with. The hardest part of the job were the hours i had working 3rd shift from 10 at night until 7 in the morning. The most enjoyable part of this job would probably of been my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outgoing Nigh Shift- With hard working individuals
Shipping Clerk (Former Employee), Siloam Springs, AROctober 3, 2012
Pros: kind employees, hard working individuals
Cons: raises came with time- rather than hard work
A typical day at work consists of not only trying to meet daily, weekly and monthly goals, night shift was a really fun, laid back, type of work. People were outgoing, independent, funny and kind. I would say you have to be a specific type of person to handle a night shift at Simmons Foods.

My favorite part of the job was working with people who I – more... would be friends with. It was more like a little family than co-workers.

The hardest part of the job was the drama, it seemed like there was a constant negativity in the establishment between day shift and night shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Quality Assurance (Former Employee), Siloam Springs ARAugust 9, 2012
Made sure equipment was clean before start up everyday and made sure the product met USDA requirements. Hardest part of my job was the language barrier between me and some employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but good crew
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), Van Buren, ARJuly 24, 2012
Pros: small company
Cons: stress
A day at Simmons was a little stressful, The management seem to be insecure and worried to much about things were under control. This caused problem between the supervisers. I worked 3rd shift and did not have to deal with for most of my work day.

I did learn how to deal with contractors to get both jobs completed (clean up and machine repair at the – more... same time.)

Co- worker were under the most stress taking cre of the equipment while production was in operation. That led to presure on me to get things done after production was over. They would get a little upset if I did get the info I neened to help them and that did happen often.

I did enjoy the close relationship I could have with the crew. Being a small company and a small cure gave me more time to do things to emprove the work enviorment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Warehouse (Current Employee), Siloam Springs, ARJune 21, 2012
I'm work by myself in the warehouse and answer to the shipping manager. I start the day by walking the warehouse and making everything is picked up, clean and in it's home. Then I get everything set up for production to run and keep track of everything in the computer. The most enjoyable part of the job is driving the fork lift. The hardest part of – more... the job is when production doesn't follow the game plan and I have to move fast to net in the new product that they want to run. – less

About Simmons Foods

Simmons has grown up with an approach that results in continuous improvements in everything we do – from advances in processing – Read more