Sims Metal Management Employee Reviews

Found 80 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-Workers
IT Specialist (Former Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAAugust 24, 2016
Great co-workers, hardworking, team players. Great environment to worked in.Great location. Free Lunches, birthdays celebrations.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Bad Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recycling company
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAAugust 16, 2016
fast pace high energy production company very diverse customer base. I've learned to communicate and interact with people from a variety of backgrounds.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
metal recycling plant
Parts Manager (Former Employee) –  North Haven, CTJuly 12, 2016
Hot conditions, cold conditions, lots of overtime, lots of different things to do. Large company lots of manaegment. learned to drive many different machines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sims metal rocks!!!
Buyer- (Former Employee) –  Richmond, CAJune 20, 2016
Being paid to learn about the scrap metal industry is one of the best things in the world to take advantage of! This industry is huge, progressive and is always growing!

It was an honor and a privilege to work for the largest scrap metal company in the world!! Great business and great team in the north west!

Thank you all so very much for all that you taught me!
Pros
ALL OF THE ABOVE
Cons
NO CONS ALLOWED
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Lead Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 14, 2016
SIMS Metal Management was a good place to work and learn unique skills that you may not be able to learn at most jobs.

I was able to lead a night crew of six, and oversee night crew operations.

I also learned about and worked with NYS Sanitation.
Pros
Learned a lot of skills
Cons
No real cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 18, 2016
Reviewed production plans with employees. If there was special instructions that needed to be followed. And observed production to meet company standards.
Pros
friendly atmosphere, and skilled employees
Cons
lack of work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Sales Coordinator/Receptionist/Cashier (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAMarch 30, 2016
I enjoyed working there, they took care of me over the 18 years that I spent there. Got along great with my coworkers and was able to improve my team work skills and learn multiple computer systems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no dress code Jeans are ok, Intersesting customers
Operator (Former Employee) –  Providence, RIMarch 10, 2016
great company to work for advancement is possible when you work hard and learn the biz.
everything could always be better.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company, insecure management
Transportation Clerk / Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  New Albany, MSNovember 11, 2015
I learned a lot at this company. It started out small and grew into a huge business. I learned a lot of new skills at this company and I enjoyed my job for the most part.
Pros
Benefits and good pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Coworkers and Management - Awful Clientel
LOGISTICS CLERK (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 7, 2015
The employees and managers were great to work for but the customers that came in to scrap their metal were incredibly rude. They had no boundaries and were extremely disrespectful.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun place to work
material reclaimer (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VANovember 6, 2015
Great place to work. a great bunch of people and great benefits. there are meetings everyday to go over the plan of action for theday
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but lacks the resources needed to be efficient.
Diesel Mechanic/ Maintenance Foreman/ supervisor (Current Employee) –  Providence, RINovember 3, 2015
Excellent place to work depending on your position. Sims Metal Management is culturally diverse which makes for a good place to grow as a team player. The company is very safety wise. Maintenance department is lacking in resources. It is quite hard to do your job efficiently without the tools needed to complete a job in a timely manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety & Production
Lead Man (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 19, 2015
Having learn all mobile equipment skills, and worked with very knowledgeable personnel. had a great time working there for over twenty yeras.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not up to industry payscale
Crane Operator/Metal Grader (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VASeptember 23, 2015
overall a 3 the work to compensation ratio is grossly behind the times. and ths a rep. for sweeping thing under the table. when "things happen" ie accidents and faulty equipment failures.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was just a job
Operator (Former Employee) –  Chesterton, INSeptember 9, 2015
It started out like being part of a family but then realized all too late that everyone was disposable. It was hard work that was mostly unappreciated with poor equipment. Always looking for shortcuts even if it neglected safety. Personal friends of the owner were more important than longtime everyday clients.
Pros
A lot of experience in a short amount of time in a wide variety of fields.
Cons
The owners would sell out anyone to get ahead even an inch.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, COSeptember 8, 2015
Enjoyed working with Sims. My only regret is them selling the facility I was working at, forcing me to go elsewhere.

They create a safe work culture and support their employees learning and growth.
Pros
Safety!!!
Cons
HR
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 24, 2015
Love working with machines so this was a great job for me. You get to work many hours and also work day/night shift. Great co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of work,outside duties.
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 23, 2015
dealing with many people and lots of garbage .sometimes unsafe. lots cleaning. dealing with weather and precipitation. work hours are long. works overtime with no pay. something that makes me happy is the hours which i work.
Pros
good pay, good work ours, friendly atmosphere.
Cons
dealing with weather and precipitation, can be dangerous, heavy work load.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Shredder Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Morrisville, PAAugust 3, 2015
Enjoy my time at Sims, good company. My position was a very physical job. My day was filled with hands on machine type of days.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Supervisor and Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cordova, CAJuly 15, 2015
Learned and experienced the management aspect of Sims Metal Management. Worked with Knowledgeable leaders who I learned greatly from. Very good chapter of my life.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sims Metal Management. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 104 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.2
61%

CEO Approval

Based on 18 ratings
Add your rating

Sims Metal Management Reviews by Location