Find companies:
Sims Metal Management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
45 reviews

Sims Metal Management Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Inventory Accountant (Current Employee), Tulsa, OKMay 28, 2014
Great company. I just want to move up as a Staff Accountant then a Senior Accountant because I am getting my double major in these fields.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot about the metal industry
Buyer for Redwood City Facility (Former Employee), Richmond, CAMay 5, 2014
Pros: medical benefits
Cons: some people in the management are racist
I enjoyed my time working for this company because it opened a new learning avenue for me about metal recycling. The industry is so rich and expansive, there's a lot to learn! And I look forward to learning more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Plant Operator (Former Employee), Jersey City New Jersey 07305April 30, 2014
Pros: place for advancement
Cons: not enough health coverage
Very productive and busy the management very professional and on top of things the hardest part of the job not enough ours in the shift to finish everything. The most enjoyable was working hard and loving what I do
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced ,unpredictable long work hours
Crane and Mobile shear operator (Current Employee), Jersey city NJMarch 29, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: unpredictable work environment
The day starts with a daily safety meeting. Then the supervisor gives out work assignments. Work assignments involve,stock piling of scrap iron,barge loading and unloading, and ship loading.,exportation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people great sense of stability
Maintenance Engineer (Former Employee), Fairless Hills, PAMarch 17, 2014
I enjoyed my time at Sims very much. I worked on the mega shredder which shred cars. My co workers and I were extremeley hard working and always fulfilled our duties. Management was even better. The hardest part of the job was fighting traffic to get there. I lived pretty far away from the site.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buyers postion is very serious
Buyer / Cashier Supervisor (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKMarch 7, 2014
- most of management was great however a few bad apples
- hardest part of the job was no direction from "manager"
- best part of the job was meeting new people daily & helping them find solutions to their needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with great experience.
Scale Operator (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 5, 2014
Pros: great people and a good re pore with customers and vendors.
Cons: understaffing
A typical day at Sims includes scaling vehicles in and out of the system thus applying payments to individual and bulk loads according to tonnage. Customer service is provided to customers and vendors as well as H.R. and management. Co-workers typically work together and provide information whenever there was a situation in which the others were not – more... familiar. The hardest part of the day was when systems would shut down, as technology sometimes does, we were still in control but it made the job just a little harder. The most enjoyable part of the day was when we were the busiest, work was accomplished and customers were satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if metal industry wasn't so shaky
Bid Analyst (Former Employee), Newark, NJMarch 3, 2014
First job after I got married. Great pay, great benefits from day one. Management had a bit of anger management issues but they were good most of the times. I was laid off after one year on the job due to economic crisis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Broken Promises
Business Partner (Former Employee), New Albany, MSJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: compensation
Cons: everything but compensation
16-18 hour days, company rewards mediocrity, regional management makes promises it does not have the authority to back up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work for SIMS
Appliance Technician (Former Employee), Richmond, CADecember 20, 2013
Pros: free lunches was something we were given often.
Cons: there were alot of dangerous elements about the job.
I would work daily Monday - Friday dismantling refridgerators, washer's, dryer's, stoves, freezers.Microwaves, toasters and other appliances. Separating the metal from other parts, and removing freon, removing the electrical wiring from everything.

How much of what we use today in our everyday lives is recycable.
Working outdoors in all kinds of weather. – more... From freezing to heat and from rain to just dry weather.

Working with my hands and working with the public. Having a clean safety record, never had one accident in the time while I was there. And that allowed everyone to have bonus's. NO ONE WAS INJURED ON THE JOB! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe place to work
Heavy Equipment Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJNovember 5, 2013
nobody in the company cares about your family or your participation as a human being in the workplace.
not consider the rest of your body when you need your presence at the workshop. and that's not safe.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If your not a YES man you will not be there
Crane Operator (Former Employee), Fairless Hills PaNovember 2, 2013
Cons: back stabbing, liars, two face, one way management
If you are not in their click [supervisors/management] they want nothing to do with you. They will act like they want your opinion but if you ask or say to much they feel threatened by you, even thought they Do ask for it.When the company gets backed up they will let people stay to get them out of the jam,those are the ones that would do anything for – more... the company. But when there is only so much o/t available/or a ship comes in that's when the ones that are in the CLICK get the work. First shift complains,back stabs,cries,but get the special treatment they can NEVER do anything wrong. The company will tell you if you do what they want you can advance in the company,but all the hire up spots are taken by the kiss a**'s that are in their little CLICK.SIMS are a bunch of lairs they don't care about anyone there,Management/Supervisors think they are better than GOD,they all forget where they CAME from.The wage increase is nothing close to what you would think would be for a BIG company,the most they claim they can give you ONCE a year is 3% of your yearly income.But when it comes close to the great review they will say things like you know it depends on your performance but they already know what you are getting [your supervisor] because they are the ones that fill out your sheet, then they will tell you after the review they had nothing to do with the out come.so in reality if you need to make money and they did hire you,take the job but keep looking because unless you can KISS *** or are dumber than them its not worth the bulls*** they put you thru.They don't want workers they want PUPPETS, almost everyone there thinks their the boss they do no wrong and get covered by supervisors and office managers. First and second shift DO NOT get along and that's sad being it's ONE COMPANY. they MIGHT put you in another position but WILL NOT INCREASE YOUR WAGE but they are working on it so they will tell you.Alot of EMPTY pomise's they pump you up so they can tear you down. to them you will never be good enough for them.The HR in JERSEY CITY [The home office] are two face people,he really was sweating when they thought a UNION was going to get in,they came down to give us the reasons why we don,t want one,was begging us not to vote one in, once the issue went away they went back to their s*** don,t stink attude. They need to get NEW MANAGEMENT in there that really are there for the employees and treat them like they want to be treated. There are people that really work and people that talk s***,about how great they are, and SIMS only hears the s*** talkers.They need to put all MANAGEMENT,SUPERVISORS,ANYONE WITH A TITLE in a class that reminds them how to treat people,to remember where they came from,you have to give RESPECT To get RESPECT,or just FIRE THEM then see how GREAT they are. The funny thing is they talk how good they are but you NEVER see them do anything.they all need a wake up call.to – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
BUYER\ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE (Former Employee), Mobile, Al.October 22, 2013
Pros: working in my hometown.
Cons: management very unorganized
Management made made many bad decisions which has caused the yard to struggle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fastpaced environment where nothing is the same
Safety Manager / Yard Supervisor (Former Employee), Denver, COOctober 20, 2013
Pros: fastpaced, nothing is ever the same, great opportunity for management, personal satifaction of knowing you kept people safe
Cons: extremely long work weeks(65 hrs+), nothing other than that
A typical day at Sims as a Safety Manager is never ending. The days starts by giving a tool box talk to all of the employees in your respective area of supervision on the task at hand for the day. If it is a Wednesday then it is a safety brief for the whole yard on mishap trends in the West Region or what kind of inspections are going to be preformed – more... to be ready for and if there are any V.I.P.s coming in for a visit. After that is all said and done a walk of the yard is preformed, and the yard is nine acres so being in shape is a must, to see if there is anything that could become a potential problem and to see what if any housekeeping needs to be done prior to customers entering in the yard because the safety of the customers it priority one. During the operations of the day inspections are made of equipment being operated in the yard for proper PPE(seatbelts, lights, backup siren) and to check the daily inspection sheet to ensure that they were filled out correctly. Also while yard is in operation meeting in greeting of the customers is going on talking to them about their experience so far and if they have safety concerns they are taken and addressed. If there is any work that has to be done in the yard by outside contractors they are meet at the front office explained our yard policy on what is required for PPE as well as areas that are off limits then they are assigned someone to escort them back to the area that they are to be working to eliminate accidents as much as possible. Towards the end of the day the yard is cleaned of debris, equipment is parked on line, and shops are closed up. Once this is done a final walk of the yard is done to ensure everything is done. If not the night crew is notified and remaining housekeeping is completed by them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money, not friendly
Laborer (Former Employee), Fairless Hills, PAOctober 17, 2013
All about business, doesn't take into consideration family issues/needs. Will have excessive overtime which takes away from tending to family needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Professional
Human Resources Manager (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJSeptember 27, 2013
This position enabled me to really show my strengths as a generalist as I was responsible for 18 locations and over 1000 Employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace
scale master (Current Employee), Mobile, ALSeptember 25, 2013
Im a scale master for a truck scale scrap metal indutry. Usually on a day to day basis I deal with more then 75 truck aday. With a wide range of materials from non-metallic to metallic, carving still to platinum metals. I work with a great team of people to get our jobs done on time to meet our quota.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start a carrer
Yard Supervisor (Current Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 6, 2013
Working with everyone is a lot of funny. Everyone is so knowledgeable about the industry and willing to help you better your own understanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job fun, fellow workers great, boss good
Purchasing Systems Administrator (Former Employee), San Jose, CAAugust 11, 2013
Pros: hours
Cons: job mkt not good
Learned a lot, feoow workers are fantastic to work with, benefits were OK
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounting
Accountant (Current Employee), Richmond, VAAugust 3, 2013
Pros: job
Cons: management
Reconcile cash on a daily basis, order cash for cashier, freight bills, trade payables, answer switchboard, run scale, run cashier, DMV paperwork, Ocean freight charges, EOM reports, A/R, A/P

1 2 3

About Sims Metal Management

Sims Metal Management provides metal recycling services primarily in¬†Australia, the UK, and the US. In addition to¬†processing – Read more