Sims Recycling Solutions Employee Reviews

Found 53 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers, lacking management
Mechanical Designer (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CAJuly 12, 2017
Great co-workers, management is under qualified, current vision is unattainable and unrealistic.
I enjoyed my time there for the most part.
Not sure what else to put, but I need at least 150 characters to continue on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't recommend
Wearhouse Worker (Former Employee) –  La Vergne, TNJune 11, 2017
Start time was 5:45 am. This is a very hot place to work with very little fans to cool you down. Here I did learn how to drive my first sit-down and walk along lift. I also learned how to drive my first straight truck. Management was very poor with little to no care at all for the employs. The worst part of the job was management, they had no respect for your opinion at all. I loved delivering for the company cause it was my escape from the wearhouse.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treated fairly and respectfully
Maintenance technician (Former Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILMay 25, 2017
They treat their employees with respect and are willing to hear out your concerns. They do not see employees as assets but as people. Safety is their great concern to keep it that way.
Pros
No rushing just get your tasks done.
Cons
Management needs more structure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was an ok job
Stocker (Former Employee) –  West Chicago, ILMay 19, 2017
I enjoyed working there but the pay was not as much as I aspected and it was very hot were I was working at the people were friendly and staff and it had its moments
Pros
good environment
Cons
the pay is not good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So dusty and not organized
Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  La Vergne, TNMay 1, 2017
The place is dusty. The business is not organized or shall I say professionally run. A lot of people quitting. They hire new people every week but some just never come back or q
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Not organized and some rude people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
medical benefits are good
Client Operations Specialist (Current Employee) –  West Chicago, ILApril 6, 2017
no room for growth or upward movement precluding any career advancement opportunities.

management does not appear to know what's best for company to take it forward in a profitable direction

lots of operational changes over last couple years with site closures, layoffs, cost reductions and restructuring

US business is suffering due to scrap prices and commodities market fluctuations (month to month)
Pros
ability to work OT
Cons
healthcare and 401K
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
PRODUCTION TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Smyrna, TNMarch 7, 2017
My review of sims recycling is a good one. I was able to actually learn how to take out certain parts of the products. finding out all the different parts of the inside of a device was an excitingexperience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love sports
Associate (Former Employee) –  Edison, NJFebruary 19, 2017
Cosumers were rude not all but most
Learned how to find out whats the best sneaker for running,walking ,play ball etc but its ok got to have constumer service and patience
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Some rude people shopping there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production
production (Former Employee) –  Salley, SCNovember 28, 2016
love taking things apart love the workers there and love the environment but I dislike the pay I was getting only 8 a hour the people I worked with was great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty work enviornment, hated it.
Roll Off Driver (Former Employee) –  Edison, NJSeptember 20, 2016
Horrible work environment as far as cleanliness a lot of dirt kicked up in the air leaving black residue in your nose at the end of the day, hot conditions and heavy lifting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people to be around never seemed to be a day at work
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Del Amo, CASeptember 7, 2016
Operating​ ​baler​ ​machinery.
Eliminating​ ​any​ ​left​ ​over​ ​plastic​ ​sort​ ​done​ ​by​ ​production​ ​line.
Keeping​ ​track​ ​of​ ​baler​ ​inventory​ ​and​ ​sorts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Shipping Clerk, Forklift Operator, Line Picker (Former Employee) –  Lavergne, tnMay 7, 2016
i didnt to much care for this job but at the time it paid the bills, i felt like i was over worked and underpaid. and the conditions were terrible esp in some departments.
Pros
n/a
Cons
dirty, not enought money
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
undisclosed (Current Employee) –  TNSeptember 13, 2015
Good place to work. Great place with good mgmt. Good work life balance. Good pay. Good work culture. Very safety focused. Great teams.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sims Typical
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZSeptember 13, 2015
Customer Service office management payroll / hr liasion maintain daily paperwork first impression cusotmer service safety regulator meeting minutes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a very good place
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILAugust 24, 2015
the place it self is very dirty inside. they have lots of hazardous chemicals around.the management when i started was great.as soon as a new supervisor turned manager comes in it all went downhill.the employees were good. we were able to go out and eat till he shut that down.we were able to have cell phones in case of emergencies,he shut that down(my fiance was pregnant and he didint allow it)
Pros
none
Cons
working there
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Glass Booth Associate (Former Employee) –  ElkridgeMay 10, 2015
Required security screening to enter building long lines to get in. No overtime and all temp employees due to company not wanting to hire full time associates. Company run through threats and fear to keep production up. Paid same rate as a temp.
Pros
Its a job.
Cons
Job run through fear and no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Production Technician (Current Employee) –  Salley, SCMay 6, 2015
outstanding work place enjoyed the daily work and the co workers were outstanding hardest part was when the work got slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Key Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Cranford, NJApril 13, 2015
I really liked working for Sims. Unfortunate Downsizing, but overall a good company. Worked allot of trade shows and got to travel a bit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Worker (Current Employee) –  Greater Chicagoland areaMarch 10, 2015
Good people, pretty typical place. Benefits are good, company tries to do extras for employees. Each site can operate differently, so it kind of all depends on what plant you work at.
Pros
good insurance
Cons
sometimes poor communication, lack of drive to improve
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair paying job, but with little job security.
Welder/Fabrication (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CAMarch 5, 2015
This position involved simple tasks that where easily accomplished when given the time to complete them, as well as fair compensation for what the position asked of us. However, job security leaves something to be desired. As I was laid off in during the week with no reason or warning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sims Recycling Solutions. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 74 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3