Find companies:
Six Flags, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
982 reviews

Six Flags, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
EMT-B (Current Employee), Upper Marlboro, MDOctober 22, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping the feel better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starter Job
Ride Mechanic (Former Employee), Valencia, CAOctober 18, 2014
Pros: fulfilling outdoor work, great people
Cons: low wages for lifelong career
This job was the most enjoyable job I had. Once trained in the maintenance procedures, it was solely your responsibility for the performance of the rides. I worked with several great people that all shared their knowledge willingly. The union/management battle hurt both the worker and the company and kept wages low, but this was an excellent job for – more... a new high school grad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My typical day
Ride Operator (Former Employee), Phx, AzOctober 16, 2014
Pros: working outdoors
Cons: working in the rain on raining days
I love working at the amusement park. I started my day by greeting guest and securing them on the ride. I loved attracting people to the ride I was in charge of operating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Seasonal Employee (Former Employee), Arlington, TXOctober 16, 2014
Good place to have fun at work, need to be ok with being in the sun a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun evnvironment
Security Guard Officer (Former Employee), Agawam, MAOctober 16, 2014
i enjoyed going to work everyday because i got the chance to interact with different people. my co-works were friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It Sucked
Hostess/Food Service (Former Employee), Mitchellville, MDOctober 15, 2014
Pros: getting off work early
Cons: short breaks, long hours, constant relocations
Working at six flags felt like modern day slavery. They barely want to work with your schedule. Some mangers seemed pretty much like a-holes. The only people I could relate with and enjoyed being around the most were mainly people that worked in the same shop as me and they were all cool people. Working at six flags is more for people that enjoy hard – more... labor its not for the faint of heart. There shouldn't ever be a job where your happy that they let you off early or your own head team member quits before you do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet fun workplace
Hostess (Former Employee), Gurnee, ILOctober 15, 2014
Customer Service is key. The ability to meet new people in a theme park environment were the enjoyable moments within this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unbelievable skill building opportunities!
Access Control Officer (Current Employee), Six Flags Fiesta TexasOctober 15, 2014
Pros: unbelievable opportunities
Cons: no bad things at all!
Long hours of glorious technical learning; teaching and living.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this job.
Admin (Former Employee), Eureka, MOOctober 13, 2014
Pros: everything was good.
Cons: working holidays during summer months.
I started out as a seasonal employee and worked my way to the Food Service Department Administrative Assistant. I worked with numerous employees. At times was able to work in the park on busy attendance days, which allowed me to work with the younger employees. I enjoyed everything about the job. I would love to go back. I was let go due to reorganization – more... of the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun first job
Customer Care Supervisor (Former Employee), Arlington, TXOctober 9, 2014
This is a great place for young kids as a part time job. Flexible hours great perks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good seasonal place to work
Building and Grounds keeper (Current Employee), Valencia, CAOctober 8, 2014
After the hectic summer season things slow down to 14-16 hours a week
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at first and then it just becomes a nightmare.
Security (Current Employee), Valencia, CAOctober 7, 2014
Pros: lunch discounts, park discount, free park entry to magic mountain & hurricane harbor, free parking.
Cons: short breaks, no benifits, bad scheduling, not as fun as they advertise it to be
typical day depends on what time you start, if you have morning you set up the tables at metals and then wait to let guests in, mid shift you pretty much start where day left off and then so on you just have to deal with rude people.

the co-workers were pretty cool, probably the best part about working there is the people you meet.

the hours are only – more... good during october then after that your lucky if you work one day.

what i learned is that i will never work where i play.

and for the scheduling part it sucks! they sometimes schedule you on school days and you get points if you call out.

the point system they have is if you have more than 60 attendance points your fired, this is mostly for school kids in high school since it'll teach them to manage but for adults it aint the place to be! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
blah
Hostess/ Aunt Martha's Restaurant (Former Employee), Gurnee, ILOctober 3, 2014
Pros: made a few friends
Cons: work conditions, managers, breaks
This was my first real job while in school and I hated it. I worked in a restaurant in the park and at a food cart. Whenever I was at the food cart there was no way to get in contact with anyone if anything was needed. Managers didn't walk around regularly to make sure everything was alright. And there were plenty of days when I was forced to stand – more... at the cart in the cold and or rain without the proper attire. I have not been back to the park since the season ended. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We had weekly In-service to refresh skills and involvement of fun activities.
Lifeguard (Seasonal) (Former Employee), Valencia, CAOctober 3, 2014
Pros: employee discounts.
Cons: no air-conditioning in the break room.
Every day at working as a Lifeguard was a great experience. I was very involved with the children and it helped me realized how much I want to work around them. I learned how important it is to always be respectful to adults and children. Children are individuals and they should always be acknowledged regardless of how old they are. My co-workers were – more... very friendly and it was such a friendly environment to work in. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing how happy children were when they went down the water slide. Hurricane Harbor was a magical place for the children and it was nice to be a part of their enjoyment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and great guest interaction
Cashier /Hostess (Former Employee), Marietta, GAOctober 3, 2014
A typical day at work was usually hot since I was outside, but was always fun. I also learned how to upsell products here. Management was very involved. I didn't have co-workers I often worked alone. The hardest part of the job was dealing with a lot of guest at once, but I became immune to it and then I became a pro it handling it. Since I'm a outgoing – more... person the most enjoyable part was the guest and how the loved the rides. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT WORK
Coordinator of Stunts/Lead Actor/Stuntman (Former Employee), Pacific, MOOctober 2, 2014
Pros: learning experience, lifelong friendships, good pay
Cons: seasonal
As an actor, one doesn't hear the word salary very often, but that's what this was, a salaried position. The director would audition people from all over the U.S. and a super talented bunch of people would entertain audiences from all over the world 5 times a day, 5, sometimes 7 days a week. The hardest part of the job was the 25 shows per week. the – more... best part of the job, was, the whole job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and enviornment
Volunteer (Former Employee), North Chicago, ILOctober 2, 2014
Great overall experience but more importantly a great learning experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly fun environment
Host (Current Employee), Gurnee, ILOctober 1, 2014
Pros: friendly coworkers
Cons: low pay
A typical day at Six Flags is great. There are many new people of different ethnic backgrounds that I meet on a daily whether it be guest or employees. I love the interaction with the guest as well as my coworkers. Being at Six Flags has taught me that work can be a great place to network. It has also taught me how to provide excellent customer service. – more... My managers are great. I haven't had any problems with them, they do their jobs well and are always willing to help when it may be needed. My coworkers are the greatest. We get along as if we have known one another for years. The hardest part of the job is dealing with the difficult customers, but within dealing with them I learn to handle multiple situations with different solutions. My most enjoyable part of being at Six Flags is the smiles on on all the guest faces when they are at the front of the line. Also, I have a chance to converse with many guest and get them to laugh and vice-verse. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace/fast paced
Ride Attendant (Former Employee), Jackson, New JerseySeptember 30, 2014
Pros: free park visits, paid lunches
Cons: very hot on summer days
six flags was a fun, friendly work place. It was also fast paced and always busy. i enjoyed the free park visits while working at the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work but not Enough Compensation for Working Conditions
Games Host (Former Employee), Valencia, CASeptember 30, 2014
Pros: nice perks
Cons: tough working conditions for little pay
The job is a very fun place to work. You get to meet and see different celebrities. Cool perks are free access to the park and parking on your day off, 35% discount on MOST of the parks merchandise, and if you are a thrill seeker the ability to ride roller coasters on your free time. In the summer time it gets very hot and it gets very cold. you're – more... required to stand on your feet all day in these types of whether conditions and at times the leads and supervisors tend to forget about you. These conditions are not worth 9 dollars a hour and most of the time you may not work your full shift (if you are a person that prefers to work their entire shift). – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Six Flags, Inc.

For millions of people, Six Flags is the standard-bearer for theme park thrills.┬áThe company is the #2 amusement park operator – Read more

Six Flags, Inc. Photos