Find companies:
Skechers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
137 reviews

Skechers Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physical job, fast pace, loved it...but
First Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Waterloo, NYOctober 29, 2013
I enjoy working retail, I love Skechers product. The largest issues with Skechers is the lacking of corporate support.
The inability to have the tools available to complete the job, or the support needed by corporate to recruit employees. The wage offered to associates is not sufficient to the tasks expected of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being patient not only with Customers but also with Employees
Cashier (Former Employee), Paramus, NJOctober 24, 2013
Working in Skechers was busy on the holidays and selling Skechers, ShapeUps was the stores number 1 priority. I've also learned to be patient in this job as well not because of the customers but also the employees because we all had different tasks throughout our shift and it was difficult to ask for help during busy hours. I did enjoy it's fast pace – more... enviroment because it kept me busy, but it only last around the holidays. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Very hard working people at this particular store.
Sales Floor Supervisor (Former Employee), Williamsburg, IAOctober 24, 2013
Pros: great people to work with. fun place to work.
Cons: no store manager, schedule was not consistent. not enough hours for what i needed.
Great place to work except they had no Store Manager and that made it hard with a lot of different aspects. The schedule was not really consistent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of Skechers
Cashier, Straightening (Current Employee), Orem, UTOctober 14, 2013
Pros: microwave, free popcorn
Cons: short break
A typical day would include straightening the store, helping customers, filling in any empty spaces, and creating a positive environment. I learned new customer service things and that retail is not an easy environment like originally thought. Management was not my favorite the top 2 managers hardly did any work they were always on the phone in the – more... back or just sitting in the back taking care of personal business and not doing work leaving us to do stuff on our own. It was very frustrating which is why most the store preferred working with each other and the other managers in the store then the GM and the 1st Assistant. My co-workers are great! I loved working with all of them! We all got along well and did our work. The hardest part of the job was the scheduling. I hardly knew when I worked and when i talked to my manager about maybe putting out the schedule a week in advanced he ended up just scheduling me less and only putting it out a few days in advanced. I loved helping customers, meeting new people, having new experiences, and of course making money – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy position
Sales Rep (Former Employee), Fresno, CAOctober 13, 2013
Simple job that could be easily maintained during school. Great part time job and a learning step for many.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to learn more about retail
Part time sales (Current Employee), Birch Run, MISeptember 30, 2013
Pros: gets very busy on holidays or back to school
Cons: friendly outgoing customer service
all employees are friendly and going out of their way to make the customers feel they are getting the attention they need in customer service. When it does get packed in the store, it does get stressful, but the employees never let that get to them. We have to make sure that the customers are happy and satisfied before they leave or enter the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from Skechers in Management..
Store Manager (Current Employee), Gurnee, ILSeptember 26, 2013
Cons: the dm.
It's a small shoe store doesn't take a brain scientist to run it. My District Manager is the problem hands down. I have seen some really qualified Managers come and go for interviews at my store but my "DM" doesn't want to hire someone better then her. The compensation is poor. I'm sure at DSW the Managers make more even the Asst. Managers. Overall – more... rating let's just say I'm looking for another job will keep it at that.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Territory Sales Manager- Key Accounts -Footwear (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 24, 2013
Skechers is a wonderful company and I truly believe in the product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Camarillo, CASeptember 20, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: not enough hours to go around.
A typical day at work was just stocking and aisles that needed to be filled and making sure customers needs were met. Management was great and the hours were very flexible. I learned more techniques on how to up-sell.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that recognizes achievement.
Store Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 4, 2013
If you want to learn how to advance, then bring your work ethic and get ready to soar.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Astoria, NYAugust 27, 2013
Just have to handle with a lot of rude costumers and keep and eye out for people that like to steal sneakers and lie about other things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bored job ever
sales (Former Employee), orlando floridaAugust 22, 2013
Pros: good pay and discount
Cons: bored
organized the shoes and sells

selfish coworkers

management is a dictator not a leader
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alway moving at fast pace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Paramus, NJAugust 19, 2013
I would usually sell sneakers and help customers with the choice of shoe they needed or wanted. I learned how to use the cash register and how to promote reward cards and credit cards. I think the hardest part was juggling 8-10 customers at once during black friday. I enjoyed everything there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace overall
Supervisor/Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 13, 2013
this company does not really offer benefits to their sales associates and it does celebrate the best sellers of the month or week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
2nd Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Honolulu, HiAugust 12, 2013
Pros: good, comfortable shoes
Cons: short breaks, commission structure left something to be desired
Great management with great co-workers, with a very fast pace environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere, hardworking management.
Stock Room Assitant (Former Employee), Hialeah, FLAugust 10, 2013
Pros: very flexible with hours, room for growth
Cons: days of slow sales
Working the stockroom making sure area is clean recieving shipments daily for restock and to be placed on sales floor. Making sure stockroom was well organized product easily accessible, and numerically organized by style product. Management was very proficient Manager awarded best warehousemanager of the year. Coworkers very friendly easy to get along – more... with hardworkers. Hardest part of the day would be a day where sales where slow and not much work to be done. Most enjoyable would be working with people that have good fun attitude worked well for team morale. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail shoe store and all that entails
First Assistant Manager (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CAAugust 3, 2013
Pros: decent benefits
Cons: no work/home balance for full-time employees
Shoes. Feet. Kids. Kid's feet. Decent company to work for. Otherwise, see beginning of comment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is great
Store Manager (Current Employee), Pottstown, PAAugust 3, 2013
Love the products the company makes and and everything i have been able to do with the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store Manager = No work life Balance
Store Manager (Former Employee), San FranciscoJuly 15, 2013
Pros: hirig dm hired me at a good base salary, but thats all gone now.
Cons: no work life balance, none of the upper management is there to help rather hand off issues until you give up on it.
When I 1st started working for Skechers I had a great DM she was let go and things went down hill fast.

There was a recruiter that worked there, that came into store and really demotivated staff based on how they were dressed (in his opinion) and hair cuts. Also my store never had shoes to sell, we were always sent shoes for other stores, our best – more... sellers were never restocked. Eventually after I left that location closed, the company was really mis managed no communication and no access to anyone that could help with the inventory levels.

My hours shorty after my DM left were expected to go from 45 to 55 without extra pay, it started off as a great position with a ton of goals to get the location working from prior mis-management however once the DM was gone there was no one to help I decided to cut my loss and found a better job. Could have been a great place, if they treated there managers with respect and the DM,s that truly cared about there team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment with good people
Assistant Manager, Store Manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 12, 2013
Pros: freedom, advancement, co-workers
Cons: poor communication on corporate level
A lot of good people, having fun at work. Retail structure is still lacking, and training is laughable. However, this lack of organization gave me managerial freedom to staff and train as I saw fit for each store I had to manage. Employment is great if you can handle sudden changes, and creative freedom. If you require structure, and a hand to guide – more... you, look elsewhere. – less

About Skechers

Skechers' top executive Robert Greenberg knows how to land on his feet. The founder of 1980s icon L.A. Gear heads Skechers USA, – Read more