Find companies:
Skill Sprout
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Skill Sprout Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training & Employee Protection Lacking
BCaBA (Former Employee), Normal, ILJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: co-workers, clients, pay
Cons: job protection, lack of training, hours
While the clients, families, and co-workers are amazing to work with, this company is very unorganized. While interviewing, it is important to ask lots of questions if they offer full-time. They will often promise full-time, but do not bet on consistency with hours. If you don't meet your full-time status over the 90 day probationary period, you will – more... not get your benefits, even if you requested more work and were not given any. And know that you can be fired at any time for no reason. There is little employee protection.

Training is also lacking. Do not be surprised if you are placed in the job and asked to perform at a certain expectation, with little or no training. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Internship Opportunity!!
Internship (Current Employee), Peoria, ILJune 27, 2013
Pros: great learning opportunities, friendly staff, flexibility
I have absolutely enjoyed every minute of my summer internship with Skill Sprout! They facilitate a wide variety of learning opportunities and provide interns with lots of valuable experience. The staff has been extremely friendly and helpful. Working for Skill Sprout has been an awesome internship opportunity!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place to Work!
Consultant (Current Employee), SpringfieldMay 1, 2013
Pros: great pay and hours!
I have worked with Skill Sprout for over 1 year, and I have thoroughly enjoyed working for this company. The management is kind and very supportive! The HR dept is very accommodating, and the co-workers are lots of fun! I'd highly recommend this company to anyone!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for dedicated workers!
Consultant (Current Employee), Washington, ILApril 10, 2013
Pros: flexibility, supportive team, progressive and innovative, full- and part-time positions
I have truly enjoyed my time at Skill Sprout. As the company has grown they have made many transitions and improvements, providing quality care for both their clients and staff. I feel that we have a solid team approach and an overall willingness to help and learn from each other as we all contribute to our main goal: helping families with specific – more... needs. Skill Sprout has helped me advance from line therapist to consultant. They were understanding and flexible with me during my maternity leave and continue to offer support for my new family. I look forward to continuing my career with Skill Sprout! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passion for Student Growth
Pre-Kindergarten Instructor (Current Employee), IllinoisApril 9, 2013
I have worked for Skill Sprout for 3 months and love every day of teaching! The HR department is extremely welcoming and quick to answer all of my questions. My Academy co-workers are highly passionate about seeing growth in student performance. Management is encouraging towards employees and dedicated to producing the best quality program for clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and fun job with incredible staff
Line Therapist (Current Employee), Normal, ILApril 3, 2013
I absolutely LOVE working for this company. Staff is very friendly and wants to get to know you. I feel very comfortable asking questions and being myself around everyone I work with. As a line therapist, they are very flexible with my busy schedule and help me out when needed. I am told on a daily basis how much they appreciate me and what I do. Staff – more... meetings are fun and interesting. I have learned so much relating to my degree and feel like I have an advantage over other students in my major because of working at Skill Sprout. I would definitely recommend Skill Sprout to anyone and everyone in my community! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Chicagoland Team
Consultant (Current Employee), ChicagoApril 3, 2013
I have been working with Skill Sprout for 2 years, and have found my experience to be very positive. The team in the Chicagoland area is knowledgeable and supportive, and truly makes my day to day work experience a pleasure. The level of care that each therapist puts into providing services to our clients and families is immeasurable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team of co-workers!
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Normal, ILApril 3, 2013
I work in one of Skill Sprouts newer locations. Everyday is new and keeps getting busier! The client load is building and families are getting the services they need. I don't work directly with children but even outside of therapy I have seen how the kids are progressing and reaching their goals, which is fun to see!
We have a great team of office staff – more... and therapists that all work together to serve our clients. It's a great place to work! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting the Family's Educational Needs
Academy Instructor (Current Employee), Central IllinoisApril 3, 2013
Pros: independence in teaching, growing with the children and their families, constantly learning new techniques
I have worked for Skill Sprout for almost 2 years in the Academy. I have had the wonderful experience of working with great families and children. I have the chance to impact the child's education in a positive way that leads to his/her educational growth and confidence. I have worked with several children's teachers to help the children reach their – more... goals. I work with a very supportive, knowledgeable, and flexible staff. I feel we have a very strong team with a population of clients that is progressively growing and reaching their goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Growth Opportunity with An Innovative Provider
Clinical Case Coordinator (Current Employee), Peoria, ILApril 3, 2013
Pros: professional growth opportunities, family-friendly schedule, financially viable yet also community-minded for-profit company, progressive and inclusive, parents feel supported, located close to home in safe neighborhoods, minimal travel
Cons: relatively young company experiencing exponential growth over an incredibly short period of time
I have worked for Skill Sprout for approximately nine months, and I absolutely LOVE my job. In over 20 years of working in social services, I have never worked with such a dedicated, smart group of professionals. Yes, we have high expectations of one another, as do our clients, and that is partly what sets us apart. This company is providing critically – more... needed services to amazing families, and I can honestly say that it is truly a privilege to be associated with Skill Sprout. Last spring, I set out to make some changes, career-wise, because my motto is "Stick with the winners" and the company where I was previously working was undergoing tremendous change (not for the better). I began searching via indeed.com, and I interviewed at a number of companies, and no place felt right until I found Skill Sprout. We have spirited, bright, dedicated therapists and educators, and our company provides some of the most effective, evidence-based methods for serving families with children with special needs. What's not to love?! I believe in what we do -- and so will you. Come grow with us! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding, Fulfilling Jo
Lead Line Therapist (Current Employee), Springfield, ILApril 2, 2013
Pros: working with children, flexibility
Cons: changes within the company, occasional driving
With such a young company, Skill Sprout has a lot going for it. The staff that I work with is extremely helpful and can direct you to the person with the right answer. The BCBA's truly care about each client, and want to see them grow. Every day is something new, and it is great to not have the routine of a day to day job. With every job, there are – more... some hard days, but seeing individuals grow is the most rewarding part of my day. If you are looking to grow within a company as well as flexibility, Skill Sprout is a great place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Far Away
BCBA (Former Employee), Central IllinoisMarch 22, 2013
This company has a lot of good ideas, but lacks solid leadership to accomplish its goals. The staff at the home office are rude and unprofessional, the "academy" is ran extremely poorly, and staff morale is low everywhere. Stay far away.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
Line Therapist (Current Employee), Springfield, IL, USAMarch 22, 2013
Pros: working with kids
Cons: lots of change, but that's expected with young company
I have been working for Skill Sprout for quite some time now and I think they are a great company to work for and grow with. The company is young so they are still figuring out some of the best ways to do things, but this job is so rewarding. Working with children with autism and seeing them master their programs is awesome. I would definitely recommend – more... working here if you are searching for a place where you can start part-time and eventually grow into a leadership role. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Skill Sprout has been very rewarding!
Line Therapist (Current Employee), Chicago, IllinoisMarch 20, 2013
Pros: the team like work environment.
Cons: would like a clinic location but i hear we are getting one soon.
I absolutely love working for Skill Sprout! It has been very rewarding watching the company grow and knowing we are making an impact on these kids lives!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Line Therapist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 13, 2013
Pros: working with kids and had a great bcba that i worked with.
Cons: not full time, no benefits, long drive and no compensation.
This job may be good for administration or people working in the office as they have given their organization 5 star reviews on here. Worked with this organization for over a year, HR is horrible and not helpful. No compensation for gas. Client that I worked with did not live near me at all ( they have no knowledge of the Chicagoland area). They are – more... worried more about the quantity over the quality of care that they are giving their clients. I had an awesome BCBA that I worked with that they ended up letting go because they were changing thing with the company, and ended up having a family cancel services because of all the changes and craziness that goes along with this organization. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't waste your time
Former Line Therapist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: working with kids
Cons: no mileage reimbursement, driving up to 2 hours one way in traffic
This company is located in southern Illinois, they have no idea how to schedule therapists in Chicago within a 10 mi radius from where they live and they do not reimburse gas mileage. They hire BCBAs that are overworked with little time to train. Some of their BCBAs are rude and unprofessional.

December 18, 2013

For the record, a majority of Skill Sprout clinics are located in Central Illinois, but they are opening a clinic in the Chicagoland area the beginning of the year. And Skill Sprout tries to keep employees within a 30 mile driving radius. Anything outside of that, Skill Sprout will reimburse for.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work!
Intake Coordinator (Current Employee), Washington, ILNovember 6, 2012
I've worked at Skill Sprout for almost 5 months now and I could not be happier with my job. Every day is different and there's always something going on. The management team is fantastic and their always there to help you in anyway they can. I love that all my coworkers are so willing to help out whoever needs help. We are definitely a team and do what – more... we need to do to get the job done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I LOVE MY JOB
Office Manager (Current Employee), Washington, IllinoisSeptember 21, 2012
Pros: high level expertise from office staff to direct service staff and everywhere in between
Cons: insurance exclusions for autism or aba therapy
I started with Skill Sprout in 2009 and have been with the company since. As the Office Manager, I have seen it all. Frustrations from families who do not have Autism or ABA coverage on their insurance policy to the enormous growth we've experienced. Skill Sprout has faced many obstacles and have overcome many. We’ve worked closely with the insurance – more... carriers to help pave the way for not only Skill Sprout, but other ABA providers so families can get the service necessary for their children to succeed. I am extremely proud of the company I work for and the services we provide. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great & Rewarding Company to Work For
Marketing Assistant (Current Employee), Washington, ILSeptember 21, 2012
Pros: great staff to work with, works well as a team.
I really enjoy working for Skill Sprout! I have worked here over a year and have seen how much we have grown in the past year! It's amazing how we've grown. I am proud to work here and see the great services that we provide and the great outcome that comes from it. I am so happy to work for a company that has great need for our services for children. – more... Helping these children makes me happy :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it!
Administrative (Current Employee), Washington, Illinois, United StatesSeptember 21, 2012
Pros: benefits for full-time
I love working here!! You have to be up to working in an environment that is very fast pace and always busy. It is awesome to be a part of a company that is making a difference in the lives of children with autism and other disabilities. The people who work here are great people and the environment is great as well. Would highly recommend this place.

About Skill Sprout

Skill Sprout is here to provide educational, behavioral, and rehabilitative services and supports to individuals and families – Read more