Find companies:
SL Alabama
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

SL Alabama Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive atmosphere
Receptionist (Current Employee), Alexander City,ALFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: affordable health&dental plans as well as life insurance benefits
Typical day at work is usually steady. Ive learned about automotive production. Managment and my co-workers are great!
The most enjoyable part of my job is interacting with others(customers etc.).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sl albabma
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee), Alexander City, ALAugust 20, 2013
Pros: the money paid the bills
Cons: everything else
you came to work and most days you worked the same station. you had to do your job to the best of your advantage while being yelled at and treated unfairly. you were often made to things that were not your job and threatened to get fired if not done as you were told. company standards changed with notifying the operator who was then punished for misunderstandment. – more... you were made to do your job and other operator jobs if they left the line. often I was required to the team leaders job without getting the extra pay for that job or credit. no incidents were looked at and by the end of the day you were stressed out more than you could handle but arrived the next day because even though you only got paid 9.45 per. hr. you worked 12 hrs. a day and the money was enough to pay the bills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Material Handler (Former Employee), Alexander City, ALAugust 8, 2013
first real full time job only thing I didn't like is when they bought in new supervisor from the Tennessee plant they didn't know anything
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Quality Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Alexander City, ALJuly 23, 2013
Productive experience. Well managed company. Produced high quality product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
Team Leader Preproduction (Former Employee), Alexander City, ALJuly 7, 2013
bad management

bad workers

hardes part was working 13 hrs a day with no breaks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No empathy for employees
Assembler (Former Employee), Alex City, ALMay 20, 2013
Cons: low pay and no appreciation
A friend of mine was just fired from Samlip for missing a couple of days of work when his best friend and roommate died unexpectedly. Classy move, Samlip.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee), Alexander City, ALDecember 6, 2012
Pros: money
Cons: stress, long hours
SL Alabama isn't a place for pregnant women. They're a lot harder on them, and a lot of the people are racist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the hard work and experience!
Operator/ Floater- Assistant Team Leader (Former Employee), Alexander City, ALNovember 12, 2012
Pros: on my own kind of work, able to do things i enjoy... paperwork, cleaning the machines... etc.helping to lead.good pay!
Cons: short breaks and seven days a week.
SL Alabama as with any job has its quirks, but I loved the job I was doing. I knew all of the machines and computer programs we had to use with the machines. I was so good at what I did that I was usually the one who trained the new employees. I became a blue shirt really quickly. I ran Meiki machines 1-5, 650 # 1 and 2 which produced housings. I also – more... operated the mirror machines. We would have to pull the lenes off the machines and inspect them. I check them for quality and I did do a good job if I say so. I have caught parts that were bad that even Quality Control missed. I helped material handle also. I kept a clean, tidy area. I broke people out and I help run one side of the molding department for my team leader. I helped with weighing the parts and doing paperwork.

Actually my favorite part of the job was helping the team leader, doing the harder laborsome jobs, and cleaning the machines. I never got sent home because my team leaders knew I would work.

The hardest part of the job would have to be when both the team leader and material handler would be out. This left me to take over as teamleader, floater and material handler.

I had a lot of friends while I was working there. Everyone said they loved my personality and I had a wonderful smile.

Whenever possible I would try to let management know if there was an issue. For example: A new lens line we were running and I was the only one running it.... the owners had already told me not to pack something so I didn't. Then I was later told by the technicians that this same problem would be okay to pack. I told them no because the owners had already told me no. When management came I explained to my supervisor why I would not pack these lenses and he spoke to the owners and they agreed with me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Molding/Machine Operator (Former Employee), Alexander City, ALJuly 9, 2012
Working at night is the hardest part of this job.
Mostly seven days a week.
Management is great.
Co-workers is ok some are better than others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard
Machine Operator/inspector (Former Employee), Alexander City, ALMay 15, 2012
A typical day at work: tiring
I learned what tired really was!
The management was ok.
I loved some of my co-workers!!
The hardest part of the job as being on my feet for 7 hours and 10 minutes of every day.
The most enjoyable part was being recognized for the hard work that i was doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Young company with diversity challenges to overcome, has a good future.
Human Resources Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Alexander City, ALMay 1, 2012
Pros: time off / incentive awards
Cons: working on most holidays / 14 hour days
A typical work day meant that I arrived at 6:30am for a 7:30am start and generally worked until 7:30pm . I would make my rounds on the shop floor and take the time to speak with employees and supervisors alike. This would allow me to find out about challenges as well as opportunities, develop new relationship and formulate new strategies as an effort – more... to proactively support the employee / management workforce. The remainder of the day would consist of management meeting, conflict resolution council, staff meetings, department meetings

This information would be confidentially and strategically reviewed and direction or advisement shared with management. co-workers were made up of a cultural mix. Once diversity was clearly underswtood the cultural mix would be one of the companies greatest assets.

The most difficult part of the job was keeping the politics out of the way. ( International / Domestic)

The most enjoyable part of the job through all of the above was slowing creating a family / friendly work environment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Automotive supplier that provides employment in a town devestated by the loss of textile jobs.
Shipping Supervisor (Former Employee), Alexander City, ALApril 11, 2012
Pros: learned basic automotive supplier operations, worked with many good, competent people.
Cons: little appreciation, (some in management who had no inkling of empathy), relatively low pay, unusual and sometimes illogical demands.
A typical day/night ran 9-10 hours at least. There were good opportunities to learn JIT shipping, including daily transmission of ASN's and EDI correspondence, as well as seeing the way the automotive world operates. The initial management was very competent but that was reversed upon his departure and ultimate replacement by a foreigner. Most of the – more... co-workers and workers in general were capable but there was no loyalty. Probably 90% of the workers preferred to be working somewhere else. The toughest part was the sometimes illogical demands and the tendency to unnecessarily make a relatively simple job more difficult than it should have been. The best part was working around some good people and getting the job done in spite of upper management. – less