Slumberland Employee Reviews

Found 92 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very clicky and childish environment
Stock 1/Administration Assistant 1 (Current Employee) –  Maple Grove, MNAugust 11, 2017
Not a good work experience. Never let me call in. Made me find a replacement while I was out due to illness. Coworkers were rude personally and professionally.
Pros
Free lunch on saturdays
Cons
terrible workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going Downhill
Warehouse and Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJuly 30, 2017
Decent Job if you're looking for a part-time job or if you're looking for full-time and not looking to get 40 hours. Good environment but bad management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy Friendly Hardworking Company
Furniture Assembler (Former Employee) –  Osage Beach, MOJuly 19, 2017
Everyday I was able to meet new clients and with the limited time I was face to face with them I was given an opportunity to make sure they were satisfied wit every aspect of their purchase through Slumberland
Pros
Lots Of 'Window Time'
Cons
Hot Enviroments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Sales Job
Sales (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILJune 16, 2017
Very relaxed place to work. 100% commission job and with that being said you can actually make some decent money if you commit and work at it. Management is good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Bad Experience
Customer Service/Stock (Former Employee) –  Maple Grove, MNJune 7, 2017
It's not bad, just listen to the sales people and do a good job and they won't mind you. The ones that I worked with always preferred to have me working because of how good of a job I did and I didn't mind, it got me more pay.
Pros
Free lunch (usually on Saturdays), Flexible schedule, competitive pay
Cons
Busy pick ups around holidays, graveyard shift (where there's literally nothing to do)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Work
Franchise Business Consultant (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNJune 2, 2017
this company provides an excellent environment of stability. They are focused on driving improvement that results in maximizing profits but heavily values the voice of their employees and customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great hours
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNMay 31, 2017
this job was first shift and perfect for the summer time. customer are always polite and the workload is alwya manageable and rhe teams are good I liked working here
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fine
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNMay 15, 2017
I think Slumberland is an ok place to work. Some of the sales staff can be rude and obnoxious and the compensation is low. But overall the company's core values hold true.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different types of people to work with
Furniture Consultant (Former Employee) –  Freeport, ILMay 8, 2017
Typical day consisted of daily work in marketing and sales of indoor home furnishings. The hardest part of job was times when there are a lack of customers to service. The most enjoyable part of job was giving customers what they were looking for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow pace with no real chance for advancement
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Missoula, MTApril 12, 2017
I never really felt like I had a chance to move ahead within the company. Maybe it is different in a larger market and corporate store, but being where I was I don't feel like I could sell enough at times to make my commission rate no matter how hard I tried to better myself as a salesperson
Pros
Awesome coworkers
Cons
dying business model
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok working place
Warehouse Driver Assistant (Former Employee) –  Little Canada, MNApril 12, 2017
A lot of heavy lifting a lot of late nights long days
hard to take breaks no sit down time
constantly moving and standing great guys to work with pay was ok
Pros
furnitue discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, laid back
Delivery and Warehouse associate (Current Employee) –  Marshall, MNApril 2, 2017
Great college job and easy to do. Management is good and everyone is laid back and easy to talk to. Good hours and easy and work with other college students and get along great with everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depressing atmosphere, small-town mentality, dead-end job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  MinnesotaApril 1, 2017
Decent sales job as far as the basic commission structure and hours go; stores doesn't open until 10, no one works overtime ect. Base pay is $10 an hour, you get payed base pay OR commission, whichever is higher. You will end up not getting payed for sales because of this however you are also always getting compensated for your time(although barely above minimum wage in most states). Overall just a really boring place to work, the furniture is tacky, and management is stuck in the 90's. Would NOT recommend to any talented salesmen as there are much better opportunities out there.
Pros
Laidback, free lunches once a week, big discount on furniture
Cons
Long hours, will die of bordom, deal with the general public, arguments with customers, terrible management, family-run company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Office Associate (Former Employee) –  Grand Forks, ND 58201February 11, 2017
I worked there for only a couple months but it was a great environment and the people care about their employees! I moved and they offered to let me switch to another store which was awesome.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work. Awesome people
Home Delivery Assistant (Current Employee) –  Little Canada, MNJanuary 25, 2017
Expect to work your butt off everyday. Some delivery routes can be easy and the next day can be the worst. Overall fun place to work
Pros
People
Cons
Amount of Deliveries on some days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working there!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  8800 Hickman RdJanuary 25, 2017
Enjoyed working here and I will miss all the people I worked with. My supervisor and I had a wonderful re pore both on and off the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a unfulfilling job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOJanuary 25, 2017
Owners were extremely greedy and didn't typically take care of his employees. He made promises that were never kept. The owners wife was extremely two faced.
Pros
None
Cons
Would steal from you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of heavy lifting an long trips
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  2320 N Maple Av Rapid City SD 57701January 21, 2017
On box the furniture. Put it to gather call the customers to tell them what time will be at there house ,an start loading the truck take out trash cut up the boxes. For recycling
Pros
Nap on the way to the deliver
Cons
Long breaks if were running a head of time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible experience
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Rochester, MNJanuary 20, 2017
This was a terrible experience. The management is inconsistent and incompetent as well as little to no break time given as well as a primitive pay system usually leaving an employee scratching one's head on payday
Pros
None
Cons
On call like flow to ones workday
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pressure sales
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Spencer, IAJanuary 7, 2017
If you love sales it is a great place to work. I learned more than I care to about furniture and mattresses. Management is great with the franchise stores but I would avoid working for a corporate establishment.
Pros
No commission cap
Cons
Commission only.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Slumberland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 95 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

Kenny Larson
80%
31 ratings
Add your rating