SM Energy Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
BI Developer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 21, 2017
A typical work day for me involves maintaining dashboards and workbooks on Tableau Server, returning emails and helping staff members with their IT needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job until new management
St. Engineering Tech (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 21, 2017
The whole atmosphere changed once Tony Best retired. New management did not care about employees and was not about the company nor did he make the best decisions.I enjoyed working there the first couple of years. I was so greatful. After the lay off and changes in structure moral was so bad, people were miserable and many left.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
lackof communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice employer
Consultant (Ervin (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXJuly 10, 2017
Supervisors very nice, a lot of expectation learned a lot about supervising job sites, hardest part was the time away from home, most enjoyable was the pay
Pros
Very good pay
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good outfit to work with
Independent Consultant (Former Employee) –  Billings, MTJune 27, 2017
Enjoyed my experience with them. Excellent and timely pay. Very professional and courteous. Would come back if needed hopefully they will be re-expanding after the turn down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really great team
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXMay 22, 2017
Some of the best people I could have asked to meet! Very fun atmosphere and professional co-workers. The turn over rate for employees is higher than other companies i've worked for. I really enjoyed working for this company and with my team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More diversity needed
Senior Engineering Technician (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 31, 2017
Just posting words here to make 150 minimum characters. There were better teams than others, better leaders than others. Not much employee diversity, that could be better for the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, but upper management is cold.
Accountant (Former Employee) –  MontanaMarch 23, 2017
People are great to work with on the regional level. Upper management and corporate politics make communication a joke. They are downsizing staff and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic and hostile work environment
Lease Operator (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXFebruary 27, 2017
The Production Superintendent over the Midland area is a vindictive, hateful, insecure man. If you're not part of his click, you have no chance of advancement.
Good pay, but some things are worth more than money. I quit and went to work for a better company.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work, toxic envrionment
Lease Analyst (Former Employee) –  Denver, COSeptember 25, 2016
I'm glad I'm no longer there. Management is totally unethical. Current CEO said there would be no layoffs, and after layoffs began he gave himself a hefty raise in pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very political. Good compensation.
Sr. Facilities Engineer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 29, 2016
Like most smaller E&P companies in this economy, there's a stronger chance for layoffs/bankruptcies. To sum things up, poor management, good compensation, and a unsure view of their future (internally and externally).
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great at first, but became my worst nightmare!
Sr. Geological Tech/Wellness Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, La / Tulsa, OKMarch 23, 2016
The first 10+ years were great with this company. As leadership changed and the company grew, it became a non desirable place to be, getting worse each year. Poor management.
Pros
Decent bonuses in good years. Good health insurance.
Cons
Micromanagement, back stabbing, company rules that were rediculous.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great attitude and work environment
AR Accountant (Current Employee) –  DenverMarch 21, 2016
Work hard and play hard
Oil and gas company that is financially doing above average
Younger crowd
Open to new ideas
Great communicators
Good educators
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place to Work
Sr. Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 4, 2016
SM Energy is a great place to work. Everyone is very professional and care about what they do. I would recommend SM to anyone.
Pros
Bennifits, Growth, Manangement, & Work Life Ballance
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Senior Exploration Geologist, Mid-Continent Region (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJanuary 15, 2016
Co-workers and team environment was superior. Organizational structure could us improvement. Little Opportunities for advancement
Pros
co-workers, benefits
Cons
slow moving
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Land Tech / Lease Analyst (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJanuary 8, 2016
I worked for SM Energy for a little over nine years. The Tulsa office was a wonderful place to work. The company in general was great. They had great educational programs and wonderful benefits.
I came into the company as a file clerk and left as a Lease Analyst, this company taught me so much and really helped me grow.
Pros
Great Benifits
Cons
Closed Tulsa
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work. It is very family oriented. It is the best place I have ever worked.
Construction Consultant (Former Employee) –  Catarina, TXNovember 13, 2015
Great leadership and coworkers. It is a very family oriented company. They are very safety minded and do a large amount of safety training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Completions Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Eagle Ford, TXOctober 25, 2015
Great work environment and people. They were willing to be flexible with my work hours to help get in work around my schooling.
Pros
Great people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no good
Consultant/Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Dickinson, NDFebruary 18, 2015
he lies no good cheap lier who will cut your legs outs from under you what else could you need to know management was terrible workers where great hours are long
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment
Production Engineer (Internship) (Former Employee) –  Elk City, OKFebruary 6, 2015
SM Energy is a global company that provides energy needs for the world. The company compensates their employees well and provides a rewarding work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
North Dakota
Division Order Analyst (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 22, 2014
Cleared title issues for North Dakota
Free Breakfast on Fridays
Need more math
Pros
Nice team
Cons
Wishy washy team lead
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 10Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SM Energy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.4
Management
3.1
Culture
3.7