Find companies:
SMARTECH
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

SMARTECH Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much work.
Field Technician (Current Employee), Worcester, MAMarch 7, 2014
Pros: work at your own pace.
Cons: your working at your own pace because there aren't enough jobs for each day.
I have never had any personal human contact with anyone in the company. They send me one or two jobs a day if I'm lucky. I'm not complaining though, I like it so far, when there's actually work to be done. Communication is sometimes an issue because it's all done through e-mail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great
OBIEE Consultant (Former Employee), Austin, TXMarch 6, 2014
Work experience counts and if you are responsible you will succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low low pay
Tech contractor (Former Employee), Lexington, KYMarch 3, 2014
Pros: na
Cons: payment to contractors barely enough to cover expenses
This is a review only as a tech contractor for this company. As a contractor, payment doesn't make sense from an expense point of view.

You drive your own vehicle and you cover gas and other expenses plus all your time driving (hope you don't get caught in traffic) and receive $18 per completed service call up to 20 miles away before 1099 taxes?

Consulting – more... other techs, they agreed this pay was substandard in the industry.. They also concluded that Smart tech must be making the majority of the money on these calls while the contractor does the hard work. The payment Smarttech would receive on each service call would be far higher per service call amount.

So, what are you really making after you take all the associated travel expenses and additional unpaid time out? what, $10 an hour? Less?

Just thought I would put this out there because Smarttech Doesn't Advertises what it pays contractors. They leave this to the end of the discussion. Hope this helps someone else out before they bother talking with them. I've since switched companies and am making the $30+ per service call which is more appropriate in this position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
most interesting day of work i have ever had
Flight Simulator Assembly Technician (Former Employee), Ottumwa, IAJune 13, 2013
Pros: really cool job
Cons: there was a blizzard
I got hired by a company posting on Craigslist on behalf of redbird flight simulators. The job was to work as an assembly tech under the supervision of a lead tech working for redbird. the job took 8.5 hours but we ended up staying there a LOT longer due to a blizzard. the actual job was pretty straightforward and fun, it was the assembly of a full – more... motion flight simulator for a local community college. working as a crew of 3 we unloaded the parts from the penske truck, layed them out, then began assembly according to the directions given by the lead tech, this included the mechanical and electrical components of the machine and it all went together very smoothly. the snow had been picking up all day, and by the time we were done and on our way out it had gotten really bad. we got stuck in the parkinglot and had to stay overnight at the college. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great compny to wok for.
Dell Computer Technician (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMay 3, 2013
This job taught me to be more careful with inventory because I was liable for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience
Technician (Former Employee), Austin, TXDecember 17, 2012
it was ok
learned computers
the company was too far away
hardest part was driving
most enjoyable part was repairing the computers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job for Beginner
Field Technician (Current Employee), Corpus Christi, TXAugust 26, 2012
its aa hard work day driving all over the place and managing the calls was difficult\. management is great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced job at times
Sub-Contractor (Former Employee), Austin, TXMay 1, 2012
Pros: a lot of different situations for a computer tech
Cons: having to drive further out than actually told
Job was a great way to do pc tech work in a fast paced environment. A typical day would start at the DHL office at the airport picking up parts and then running calls the returning the used items back to DHL before they closed