Smartronix Employee Reviews

Found 42 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Start Up Company
Network Administrator (Former Employee) –  Fort Lee, VAMarch 29, 2017
This was a start up and treated their employees VERY well all the way around. I enjoyed working for them and would still be there if it was for loss of contract. I would highly recommend them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transformation and ideation are key
Capacity and Strategy Plan (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FlMarch 13, 2017
Really enjoy the creativity and culture of connectivity. Alot of flexibility and geared towards employee support. While at a branch office, HQ was always available to assist us with our contract and employment needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Information Content Manager (Former Employee) –  Quantico, VADecember 15, 2016
Great Company to work for but the mission of the client or the employee comes first. Great Benefits, Great opportunity to learn and expand your knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promising, but stagnant.
Solution Architect (Current Employee) –  Herndon, VADecember 2, 2016
Smartronix's CloudAssured division is an MSP spin-off of an older, more established company. As such, it's kind of a weird mishmash of cultures.

On the plus side, they've got a niche for themselves doing security and governance related work in the cloud for Federal, State, and DoD/DoJ agencies. So they've got some income and stability.

On the down side, their internal processes are really poorly developed. No code sharing (github, etc) or commitment to scaling resources internally. No chat tool to bring the distributed workforce together. Communication and project management is essentially done by email. WAY too many "business analysts" and project managers that aren't really doing anything. Some of whom happen to be friends/family of the owners.

There are some great people here, but a lot of the "vision" and drive is stuck at the lower ranks, politically. Progress is really hampered by a relatively stagnant older crowd of partners, their family, etc., who have all "made it" within the company and see no reason to change.

Unfortunately this is affecting our profitability and our ability to grow and retain the staff that actually does the work. The younger, <40 crowd of DevOps, Solution Architects, Software Engineers, etc. that this industry runs on.
Pros
Experience in government contracting
Cons
Poor professional development
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learnin experience
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VAOctober 1, 2016
decent company experiencing growing pains. They will not survive unless the cloud unit can become more organized. The training program isn't the greatest and for a company of that size 650+ they should have a more structured system.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Administrative Analyst (Former Employee) –  Quantico, VASeptember 19, 2016
This place was a good company, but the contract was not very reliable. I would still recommend them to someone if they were seeking employment in the private sector
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company employee focused
Storage Manager (Current Employee) –  Hollywood, MDSeptember 1, 2016
Long days
Challenging situations
Managing sub contract teams
achieving results
The leadership team is in tune to employee contributions
The team pulls together
Collaborative culture
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for as a contractor
Senior Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Stafford, VAAugust 16, 2016
Like all contractors, the larger the contract, the harder it is to place everyone when a contract ends. Still, the Smartronix leadership has worked overtime trying their best to take care of the entire team... even partners (working with the partner companies.)
Pros
Strong ethics and support for the employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Computer Network Defense/ (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 9, 2016
This is an excellent company with excellent leadership. I would definitely work for this company again if offered the chance to do so.
Pros
Benefits, Management
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for.
Systems Watch Analyst (Former Employee) –  Quantico, VAMay 11, 2016
Enjoyed working for Smartronix and supporting the United States Marine Corps. Great place to work at and learn new tools.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Client System Administrator (Current Employee) –  Eglin AFB, FLMarch 10, 2016
Co-workers are friendly
Company is very accommodating
Management levels are well defined
The most enjoyable part of the job is the people you get to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and comfortable work environment
Receptionist/Front Management (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, MDJuly 23, 2015
I loved everyone who I had the pleasure to work with, i was a temp at this job but treated as part of the family. I would have loved to keep working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the right place, unless you are perfect
Admin (Former Employee) –  Poorhouse USAJuly 15, 2015
When you as an employer have the opportunity to be better than just a corporate puppet, you should take it. Lesson Learned.
Pros
Great employees
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, great company
Clearwell Systems Engineer / eDiscovery Consultant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 7, 2015
I have had an excellent experience with this company as an employee. If there was a way I could have remained I would have. I was a budget shortfall sadly and had to leave.
Pros
Great pay, Great co-workers, great managment
Cons
Not enough work
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with breakroom, coffee shop, grocery store, and cafeteria
Programmer/ Analyst (Former Employee) –  Wright-Patterson, OHJanuary 19, 2015
Worked on C# . Net web applications. Also programmed Oracle 10g databases. Built small windows forms applications.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fun Workplace
System Administrator (Current Employee) –  Eglin AFB, FLDecember 3, 2014
Productive Fun Workplace, great company to work for. Great management, good benefits, and opportunity for growth. Never had any issues and always taken care of. Quick response for any questions or concerns.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding company
Network Engineer II (Former Employee) –  Quantico, VADecember 3, 2014
No complaints about this company at all. It was a great experience working with Smartronix and will gladly work with them again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Network Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Camp PendletonNovember 13, 2014
I worked for Smartronix for roughly two years. I can only say good things about the people, the company and how its ran. My compensation was not the best but the responsibility reflected. My contract recently expired with them and due to it being an east coast co. there was really nowhere to place me. I wish the best to the people I had a chance to work with and hope that Smartronix continues to grow in the hopes that we will cross paths again.
Pros
Very intelligent group of people, Cares for the employees
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work at!
Systems Technician (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VASeptember 25, 2014
This organization has the potential to further your career.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Full-Time-Network Administrator (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, MDJune 27, 2014
Great benefits, great place to learn and grow. Always for progression.
Pros
Career Growth, Interacting with new people, learning new technologies
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Smartronix. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 43 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1