Find companies:
SMARTSTYLE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
53 reviews

SMARTSTYLE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place EVER
Stylist (Former Employee), Killian Rd Walmart, Columbia, SCMay 23, 2014
Pros: learned a lot from other stylists
Cons: low pay, horrible management
The manager would be mad if you would get more clients than her, she didn't know how to be a manager in any way shape or form! She was running other stylist's client's out of the salon because she was jealous that they were doing well. Everyone in the salon would go to the DM about issues with her, but they would never do anything about it. Then when – more... it got to the point where I couldn't stand working with her anymore I was told I should resign! Instead of getting rid of the root of the problem, they get rid of good stylists. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Privides alot of education.
manager/stylist (Former Employee), az.May 7, 2014
Pros: able to move up
Cons: pay, management/company a
I was a stylist then became a manager. The pay was awful for all I had to do. The company was going through alot of changes but never seem to follow through. Overall I was comfortable there but you can't support a family on the pay they give you unless is all you do is work. I needed a more reliable paycheck.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great customers but short staffed
Stylist, Cosmetologist (Former Employee), Ames, IowaApril 25, 2014
It was a great place to get some experience. But it was really disorganized and short staffed. I loved the customers they were great, and created a really fun environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stylist
STYLIST (Former Employee), desloge moApril 1, 2014
This was my first job as a hair stylist and they provided a lot of training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salon in Walmart
Stylist (Former Employee), phoenix azMarch 30, 2014
Applied cosmetology skills. Customer service. Retail sales. Salon cleanliness routines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse place I have ever worked at
stylist (Former Employee), fuquay ncMarch 27, 2014
Pros: very flexible hours, free services to stylists
Cons: awful management, no money, clients don't tip/ don't tip well, only hit comissio once in almost two years.
This place pays minimum wage, maybe if you're lucky 8/hr. None of the clients almost ever tip. They all expect you to do $120 colors for $45.00. The management is awful and almost non existing. You will never make commission. I've worked at two locations and got behind on my car payments. I had to manage the whole salon, do the schedule, inventory, – more... cleaning to make 5 dollars an hour after taxes with barely any tips. I tried to stay and build my clientele for a year. I built up but they never wanted to pay full price. I tried to do discounts at first but they never came back if i didn't keep continuing the discounts even though thy were extremely satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Hairsty (Former Employee), Muskego, WIFebruary 4, 2014
this job was interestingly fast paced, which I liked, but management was lacking and turnover was high.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cosmetologist
Cosmetologist (Former Employee), Decatur, ILJanuary 30, 2014
Cut, coloring hair, customer service, receptionist, appointment scheduling, cashier
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for beginners
Stylist (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: learning atmosphere, diverse haircare
Cons: have to hit commission or you are gone
The clients are friendly, hours pretty good, ok pay,I learned alot about my profession and i got to work on clients of differents races which i loved i would work for them again
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
employee (Former Employee), Kearney, NEDecember 31, 2013
It was interesting working at Smartstyle. I enjoyed the atmosphere and liked the flexability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace environment
Stylist (Former Employee), Oak Ridge, TNNovember 4, 2013
the day rolled by quickly for the most part. It paid the bills. No chance of growth. The company changed its policies constantly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work with I love my guests.
Salon Manager (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 28, 2013
I like to think whoever I work for will believe in the same value with staff I do right now being at the very bottom and at the very top. I have always felt that if we invest in our team members' futures by developing leaders and providing a wide variety of opportunities for professional development. It takes the best to become the best, and I have – more... always been commented to patenting with and working with a company that is committed to building a team that does the right thing for our clients, team members and communities. As a supervisor I hold myself higher than normal and that is whether I am cutting, teaching or leading. Sometimes you just need someone with multi levels of experience and that is a plus. Proven conflict management skills, Ability to communicate clearly and effectively in all situations with great interpersonal skills Strong cognitive skills, including problem analysis, decision making, financial and quantitative analysis Drive sales by overseeing a high powered sales team- Act as coach and lens to your sales team. Assist with recruiting and hiring of your team- Receive extensive training to help you become a strong sales leader- Ensure great service by interacting with clients and team members Strive to achieve sales goals and maintain budget controls – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Beautician (Former Employee), Linton, INSeptember 17, 2013
Slow days, Fast days. Learned to advertise the store discounts. Coworkers made a team effort on sanitation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Stylist (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: education
Cons: management
This a parttime job, i learned from my co-workes , is hard went a new management get into the salon and the company not check other person situacion
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow, unorganized
Stylist (Former Employee), East Peoria, ILSeptember 9, 2013
Overall i just didnt enjoy working here. You always worked alone. The atmosphere of working in walmart is distracting and confusing. People leave and you have no way to contact them to tell them its time for your haircut then they come back and are mad that you skipped them. my manager called in sick all the time. the layout is messy, if your doing – more... hair you cant see a client at the register or looking at products because theres a big wall in the way. A typical day at work was me sitting there for 6 hours cleaning and only having 2 clients. i learned more about color correction because most of the clients who come for color have fried there hair at home with box color. the hardest thing was they scheduled one stylst at a time so if you were busy it was hectic. the best part was probably getting free samples of products to try. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company to start
Cosmetologist (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVAugust 20, 2013
Pros: good starter, nice clientel, decent tips
Cons: poor supervising, favoritism, low pay for what we do
Good company to start in if your just out of school or coming back into the field. Can have severe slow periods which lowers the ability to meet sales goals. Clients can be a bit much at times, but for the most part are nice. New supervisors have come in and tend to let the position go to their head. They can be bullies and play favoritism in my opinion. – more... Management is usually not given any proper training, leaving them scrambling sometimes. My coworkers, save for one, are all nice and we are a family. At the moment Im teetering on if I will remain here. My pay is not nearly high enough to deal with all we deal with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancment available
Stylist (Current Employee), Hickory, NCAugust 14, 2013
I like the availability to be able advance in the Regis family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great first job
Stylist (Current Employee), YorkJune 25, 2013
typical work day in this economy is pretty slow. there are days where business is perfect. As I said, this particular salon is good for a first job in this industry, to get your feet wet and get used to a faster pace salon environment. Additional training classes are provided and madatory with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working here but it's not enough to take care of my family.
Hair Stylist (Current Employee), Batesburg, SCJune 8, 2013
Pros: reasonable hours
Cons: the amount per hour
This job is a good place to work. The problem is I don't make enough money to take care of my family. I enjoy woking with the staff there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work environment
Hairstylist (Former Employee), Cordova, TNJune 7, 2013
Pros: enough family time, very nice clientele, and great coworkers.
Cons: management and pay left something to be desired.
I found the all of clientele were very nice and courteous. The management left something to be desired at the specific location I worked at, but I had awesome coworkers. If there was a problem between any of us we worked it out immediately. I left due to personal reasons.

1 2 3

About SMARTSTYLE

Regis is hair, there, and everywhere. The world's biggest hair salon company, Regis owns, franchises, or holds a stake in some – Read more