Find companies:
SMARTSTYLE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
64 reviews

SMARTSTYLE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
employee (Former Employee), Kearney, NEDecember 31, 2013
It was interesting working at Smartstyle. I enjoyed the atmosphere and liked the flexability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace environment
Stylist (Former Employee), Oak Ridge, TNNovember 4, 2013
the day rolled by quickly for the most part. It paid the bills. No chance of growth. The company changed its policies constantly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work with I love my guests.
Salon Manager (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 28, 2013
I like to think whoever I work for will believe in the same value with staff I do right now being at the very bottom and at the very top. I have always felt that if we invest in our team members' futures by developing leaders and providing a wide variety of opportunities for professional development. It takes the best to become the best, and I have – more... always been commented to patenting with and working with a company that is committed to building a team that does the right thing for our clients, team members and communities. As a supervisor I hold myself higher than normal and that is whether I am cutting, teaching or leading. Sometimes you just need someone with multi levels of experience and that is a plus. Proven conflict management skills, Ability to communicate clearly and effectively in all situations with great interpersonal skills Strong cognitive skills, including problem analysis, decision making, financial and quantitative analysis Drive sales by overseeing a high powered sales team- Act as coach and lens to your sales team. Assist with recruiting and hiring of your team- Receive extensive training to help you become a strong sales leader- Ensure great service by interacting with clients and team members Strive to achieve sales goals and maintain budget controls – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Beautician (Former Employee), Linton, INSeptember 17, 2013
Slow days, Fast days. Learned to advertise the store discounts. Coworkers made a team effort on sanitation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Stylist (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: education
Cons: management
This a parttime job, i learned from my co-workes , is hard went a new management get into the salon and the company not check other person situacion
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow, unorganized
Stylist (Former Employee), East Peoria, ILSeptember 9, 2013
Overall i just didnt enjoy working here. You always worked alone. The atmosphere of working in walmart is distracting and confusing. People leave and you have no way to contact them to tell them its time for your haircut then they come back and are mad that you skipped them. my manager called in sick all the time. the layout is messy, if your doing – more... hair you cant see a client at the register or looking at products because theres a big wall in the way. A typical day at work was me sitting there for 6 hours cleaning and only having 2 clients. i learned more about color correction because most of the clients who come for color have fried there hair at home with box color. the hardest thing was they scheduled one stylst at a time so if you were busy it was hectic. the best part was probably getting free samples of products to try. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company to start
Cosmetologist (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVAugust 20, 2013
Pros: good starter, nice clientel, decent tips
Cons: poor supervising, favoritism, low pay for what we do
Good company to start in if your just out of school or coming back into the field. Can have severe slow periods which lowers the ability to meet sales goals. Clients can be a bit much at times, but for the most part are nice. New supervisors have come in and tend to let the position go to their head. They can be bullies and play favoritism in my opinion. – more... Management is usually not given any proper training, leaving them scrambling sometimes. My coworkers, save for one, are all nice and we are a family. At the moment Im teetering on if I will remain here. My pay is not nearly high enough to deal with all we deal with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancment available
Stylist (Current Employee), Hickory, NCAugust 14, 2013
I like the availability to be able advance in the Regis family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great first job
Stylist (Current Employee), YorkJune 25, 2013
typical work day in this economy is pretty slow. there are days where business is perfect. As I said, this particular salon is good for a first job in this industry, to get your feet wet and get used to a faster pace salon environment. Additional training classes are provided and madatory with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working here but it's not enough to take care of my family.
Hair Stylist (Current Employee), Batesburg, SCJune 8, 2013
Pros: reasonable hours
Cons: the amount per hour
This job is a good place to work. The problem is I don't make enough money to take care of my family. I enjoy woking with the staff there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work environment
Hairstylist (Former Employee), Cordova, TNJune 7, 2013
Pros: enough family time, very nice clientele, and great coworkers.
Cons: management and pay left something to be desired.
I found the all of clientele were very nice and courteous. The management left something to be desired at the specific location I worked at, but I had awesome coworkers. If there was a problem between any of us we worked it out immediately. I left due to personal reasons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not all locations are the same
stylist (Former Employee), clovis,nmMay 21, 2013
Pros: garunteed pay
Cons: inconsistant actions
After finishing beauty school a friend began working at a smartstyle salon in a different location and loved it she got plenty of job training to improve her skills for the workplace before being thrown onto the floor to work on her own she loved working there so much I decided to apply at my local smartstyle expecting that they were all managed the – more... same and it would be a great starting location but I was wrong. First of all management never went over the rules they handed me a book and said everything is in there, as I was reading I realized my own manager was not following the rules such as dress code and clocking out for breaks. Second I got absolutly no training the first day I worked there they jus started giving me who ever walked in without giving any advice on what to do in certain situations. Well of course this being my first job out of school my techniques were not quite at a professional level and my knowledge was limited, training would have of course brought me to a professional level but since there was no job training I was left to do it on my own and learn from my mistakes. But of course with mistakes comes clients that are not fully satisfied. When these clients went to management they were given redos and a refunds and I was told about the redos but never actually told what I did wrong! Without even attempting to help show me how to correct my weak points or even what they were I was written up and after 3 clients having small redos or refunds done in the matter of a month I was fired. I understand that no salon wants unsatisfied clients but I do wish all smartstyles would do the proper training to prevent these mistakes and take into consideration that for most of the employees this is they're first job so mistakes will happen! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
*** RUN LIKE HELL***
stylist (Former Employee), GaMay 9, 2013
Pros: products/ training/ tools
Cons: management / threats/ lies/ pay
Let be honest people what type of demographics of clients would you prefer (walmart) or Saks Fifth ....smartstyle don't get me wrong it an another job and if your by yourself with 8 or more clients they are trying to nickel and dime the are ready low price which is very, very affordable by everyone.. plus manager and some staff or Ghetto as hell tattoos – more... showing, gold teeth and I mean females workers, ill . Well if the clients wont drive you out the unprofessional workers will. some of the store look run down from the floors to the doors, Alpharetta model looks trendy and new and Milton Ga. Im an fast worker which wasn't an problem it was staff wanting retail sale in their names and when corporate was told of this it was another story so that of and of course better clients that I know will pay me for what I'm worth, I transferred to the regis in the mall. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME IN WALMART STORES work for master cuts or regis named store, itself more professional clients/ workers and more team work based inside – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revolving door of stylists/managers/D.L.'s
Manager (Former Employee), JacksonvilleMarch 22, 2013
Pros: locations, dress code
Cons: pay, upper management, safety
Worse stressful job ever had. Company/upper management will NOT back you up if customer complains -the customer is always right and will try to get everything for free, and they know to call and complain, have had customers tell us this.. Regional Manager rude at every chance to belittle you.. They do not advertise for clients - they tell you it is – more... your job to bring in clients and will get wrote up or fired if not producing numbers. Some locations are good, others in bad neighborhoods - you cannot make the numbers so you make minimum wage. They need to restructure this company from the top down and start appreciating the stylists and managers.Too much stress/paperwork for managers for the pay. Some days you will be only stylist there, not safe. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Don't let the ex employees discourage you.
Stylist (Current Employee), Mobile Al.March 16, 2013
Pros: great opportunity, lots of traffic, learn more everyday
Cons: na
If you read all the reviews, the only negative feed back you get are from stylist that use to work their that probably were not good team players. It's simple. Regis gives you a platform with further education. How you grow as a stylist is up to you. They start you on low pay and commission but you have a opportunity to make more if you hit a certain – more... amount of service sales per a pay period. I was able to do so 7 months out of school due to dedication and hard work. I was making 48% percent commission after & months that the same salon. If you don't work hard to improve in yourself and your technical and only make base pay, who fault is that? Regis? You were told in school that how you make your money is up too you. 48% commission, no worry about tools and product. Just come to work treat your guest great and offer great service and make good money. It's as easy as that. For all the bad few snacks. Thy probably still making base pay. – less

May 10, 2013

The truth is not told here the base pay is 38% and you got to make 1600.00 in order to get in the 40 percentile base pay is 7.25.Even if you work hard they still try to control your life. Even experience stylist starts off with such pay. It not negative feedback its the truth I worked for the company for many years. They will work the snot out of you and fire you when you don't want to kill yourself anymore. They look for the next fool. Then the managers write you up for being out of commission. Threaten to fire you. This is the truth.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK Place To Start
Stylist (Current Employee), NCMarch 5, 2013
Pros: free training
Cons: barely got breaks, the management and pay
The company can be messy. When I started, I started with a manager who had not been properly trained.She was new to the company and didnt know her job well so she was unable to teach me about the job properly. They pay is not the greatest. If you don't sell products you won't make much money. Learn what you can here and move on!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
blah
Hair Stylist/Sales consultant (Current Employee), Corinth, MSMarch 3, 2013
Pros: if you don't meet your commission amount, you are atleast guaranteed minimum wage.
Cons: low commisson, no base pay plus commission, high insurance, work nights and weekends
This company seems money hungry. They want their employees to slave for them, and they don't want to pay them good money to do so.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Hair Stylist (Former Employee), Redding, CAFebruary 5, 2013
Pros: lots to learn, plenty of hours, and clients
Cons: this location was inside walmart, so it could be a bit hectic at times.
My manager taught me a lot of tips and short cut's, I was scheduled a lot of hours, and people tip well. It was inside of Walmart so I could shop of eat lunch without having to go too far from work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible, no place to even start.
Former Stylist (Former Employee), Macomb ILFebruary 4, 2013
Management is AWFUL! Manager is always right, even when wrong. Consistantly breaks rules and blames others for it when she is caught out. Expects staff to work off the clock. Rude, downgrades staff in the most demeaning manners imaginable. Does not comply with state sanitation laws. Expects staff to always be on call even on days off and expects employees – more... to tell her every plan that they have on days off at all times. When personnel are hired full time, they are given part time hours due to lack of seniority. stylists have been told they will be written up for something said to management while off the clock even though management throws things at employees while screaming at them at the top of lungs. It is terrible, unprofessional, and bound to make you crazy. You will start out at 7.75 an hour for 90 days, or MAYBE will hit the impossible commission brackets that are in place. The pitiful paychecks are not worth the emotional, physical and mental distress and abuse you will go through at this location. I will never work for this company and advise others to proceed with caution as this is the worst job I had ever held. – less

May 10, 2013

This is the truth about some managers

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company, great benefits, many great changes
ex manager (Former Employee), round lake beach, ilJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: benefits, ce's, great environment
Cons: starting pay a little low
I was the manager for this location & I can honestly say this is one of the best jobs I had! I loved what I did my DL was a great coach & person! Regis/SmartStyle is a great company to work for & they have lots of great changes on the horizon that will only make it even better! If you are looking for a great career where you can grow, continue to learn – more... & advance than this is the job for you!!!
I wish I never left!!! – less

About SMARTSTYLE

Regis is hair, there, and everywhere. The world's biggest hair salon company, Regis owns, franchises, or holds a stake in some – Read more