SMCI Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome work environment
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLJuly 6, 2017
I was responsible for preventative maintenance of all plant equipment as well as machinery brake downs mechanical and electrical along with all company vehicles
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great temp agency
Technical Support Representative (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 20, 2017
pay was great! Pay was very competitive. Temp agency based in California so not a lot of job availability in San Antonio, Texas. No benefits. No paid time off.
Pros
pay was awesome
Cons
no paid time off, based in california
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very prodictive work place until sold to differnt company.
Shop Foreman (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLApril 5, 2017
Enjoyed working there. Very productive company and safe and enjoyable work place until they sold to bigger company metaltec. After the sale of the company to many changes and poor decision making on upper management. What once was a great company to work for became to much of a hassle.
Pros
Great work place good people.
Cons
Sold company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SMCI, MetalTek: Unorganized, low paying, CYA culture
Tooling Engineer (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FL 33811August 22, 2016
SMCI is disconnected. Communication disconnect between front office and main shop will drive you nuts. Front office is a revolving door for every position. Why? Same reason I left as the Tooling Engineer: We were sick of the profit loss due to horrible management, blaming the workers at every turn, POOR PAY, dishonesty, managers who got the position due to nepotism and general lack of respect for people. They will make you take on huge workloads, without adjusted compensation, even if it's not related to you job. HR is a trap to minimize employee concerns. I wouldn't recommend this company. Period.
Pros
Made good friends
Cons
Pay, machine shop manager is clueless, horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management troubles
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLAugust 4, 2016
Everything is pretty straight forward until deadline come then management will do everything they can to throw shop workers under the bus. The tell customers its shops fault.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Senior Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Glendale, CAApril 24, 2016
The staff and personnel at SMCI are terrific and it was a pleasure working for them. the Salary was great, still could use some work on the benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
blah blah
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLMarch 3, 2016
moving various types of steel to different areas for fabrication into different products shipped all over the world worst part of job was working in the weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good company
Leadman / supervisor (Current Employee) –  Lakeland, FLApril 27, 2015
A lot of job changes. overall i enjoy working for the company. Benefits and advancements are a plus. Employees and upper management are easy to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SMCI client Pearson
Tech Support Representative (Former Employee) –  San AntonioNovember 13, 2014
Temp agency. Worked for client Pearson with educational website and products. It was a decent job, one of the better places I've worked. Outside of Pearson, SMCI doesn't have contracts in San Antonio, but they did work on maximizing the starting pay from this contract. There was a family of deer in the parking lot and surrounding area, a nature trail and mountain bike path at this particular contract
Hated for the contract period to end.
Pros
Most of the SMCI staff are great to work with.
Cons
Only has one contract in the San Antonio area.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a place where i learned the meaning of the prison system
correctional officer 1 (Former Employee) –  Leakesville, MSNovember 8, 2014
this is where i also learned what the prison system stood for and what it mean to deal with different personalities in a professional manner
Pros
stable
Cons
better benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

Want to know more about SMCI?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Accounts Payable/Payroll Associate (Current Employee) –  Glendale, CAMay 30, 2014
Annual Review process seems unfair. Co-workers are nice. Have fun every Halloween. Celebrate most holidays.
Pros
none
Cons
annual reviews
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Glendale, CADecember 2, 2013
Forecasting server needs/storage needs
Working with a vendor to obtain information about the enviroment
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
NDE Technician (Current Employee) –  Lakeland, FLNovember 2, 2013
It's a wonderful place to work. And that's all I have to say about that.
Pros
o
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I.T. Support Analyst
I.T. Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Thousand Oaks, CAAugust 8, 2013
I contracted on-site with Amgen Inc. to provide technical support to 2,600 users nationwide and in Canada and Puerto Rico. Assist with training new hires to improve skills and familiarize them with corporate procedures. Support the client’s business partners in resolving problems such as network outages, database issues and establishing Internet service. Software supported includes proprietary packages and apps, Siebel and Veeva CRM (front end), Gelco/Concur, Wi-Fi, and DSL and cable broadband connectivity. Hardware supported includes Compaq NC600c Laptops, docking stations, HP 6480, 6500, 6500A multi-function printers/scanners, IPHONE, DROID, IPAD2, and RAS Secure ID VPN key fob. Also responsible for entering calls using the IBM “service now” software, in addition to writing knowledge base articles.


Major Contributions:
• Successfully maintained client relationships to achieve a 95.7% customer satisfaction rating.
• Provided expertise that enabled the successful rollout of unified messaging to 1,500 users.
• Enhanced client profitability by installing special CRM software and assisted the Amgen sales force to cache login credentials for active-directory services on 1,500 laptops.
• Selected to travel multiple times to regional sales meeting to support IT initiatives, once presenting to the group about the new upgrade.
• Honored with 12 awards for contribution to the client’s Field Service Desk Infrastructure.
Pros
Occasion 1 week working assignment in Las Vegas
Cons
No ability to move up in rank and pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great recruiting company
Sr. Business Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Phoenix July 19, 2013
SMCI did a great job of recruiting me and supporting me until I transitioned to a permanent position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair employeer
pipe welder (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLJune 24, 2013
fun company to work for.
1/2 hour lunch break
Owner friendly
and everyone easy to get along with
Pros
clean work
Cons
not enough hours and work on books
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SMCI is good for the short term
Field Hardware Services (Current Employee) –  Thousand Oaks, CAMay 15, 2013
Been working as a contractor for SMCI now for over seven years. I can't say enough about how well they treat their employees. I like the company and the managers however the only real issue is there is NO sick pay, vacation pay or medical benefits. They do have an option where you can get benefits however it's a big cut in pay. Other than that, I like them. They are flexible, understanding and responsive.
Pros
flexible, responsive, relaxed atmosphere
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was very good job
Machinist (Current Employee) –  lakeland flApril 2, 2013
Different jobs everyday which is nice so it dont get boring.
Able to run horizontal boring mills, vertical mills, manuel lathes started to learn cnc lathe as well as vertical turret lathe.
Able to read and understand blueprints.
Ran numerous nuclear jobs so can do the paper work.

Management wasnt perfect by anymeans before but they kept us buisy , know there is no material and people are lucky to get 32 hrs.

We worked 80 hr weeks for pretty much 2 years so we are all like family great bunch of guys.

The hardest part to me is not knowing what are schedule is as it seams to change everyday.

Learning new machines ,making new products etc.
Pros
we were able to get all the overtime we wanted
Cons
never know weather we a job from one day to the next
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabrication & machining
Shipping Receiving Associate (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLFebruary 25, 2013
SMCI is now Metal tech. They build for Siemens PPG. Is a good place to start at the botton and work your way up. The pay is light.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance and pay. Supportive direct managment.
Senior Technical Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 25, 2012
Lack of many key accounts to obtain maxium amount of jobs for recruiting.
Pros
work/life balance, fun and supportive staff
Cons
lack of accounts, jobs to recruit for
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

See more SMCI reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SMCI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.9
Culture
3.4