Find companies:
SMG
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
57 reviews

SMG Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Server/Waiter (Current Employee), Newark, NJOctober 4, 2014
Great job nice people. Worked well for this company.

kofFabmz bkzp;
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New skill set for me and fun job
Food and Beverage Server (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: knowledge of food service (kitchen); banquet setups; cash handling
Cons: cleanup after large banquets. time consuming with much food wasted.
I found "food & beverage server" to be a complimentary adjunct to my life career in healthcare. Delivering a good safe product without contamination to the customer in a convention center setting was fun and satisfying. My coworkers were very diverse in backgrounds to include work and education. Most were trying to supplement school, other jobs, or – more... like me adding to my semi-retirement. In fact, I received the idea for "food & beverage" from the AARP website of job ideas for 'nearly' retired persons. Had I not relocated to Las Vegas, I would still be an employee with SMG. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a job with a wide range of duties as needed
Parking Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Rochester, NYSeptember 25, 2014
every day at ,this job was some what different , , it would vary with different events ,court loads , police events etc . i would deal with monthly parking customers daily persons .police judges, to vagrants. most times the job was enjoyable. the hardest part of the job was working with personal that had no pride in them selves or their job.. truly – more... sad.. upon leaving this job it was nice to be acknowledge by so many people from rpd to judges to lawyers and so many people at the hall of justice that you got know and they would entrust you to take care of them as needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Set Up Operator/ Housekeeper
Set Up Operator/ Housekeeper (Former Employee), Fresno, CASeptember 21, 2014
Assist with daily event management to include unlocking meeting rooms, checking out equipment, and maintaining awareness of daily event schedules; Inspect all equipment for proper functioning before setting up in a meeting room; Maintain orderly appearance in all storage areas; Conduct regular inventory of setup equipment; Responsible for appearance/cleanliness – more... of public spaces and meeting rooms; Assist with resetting spaces after events/meetings; Maintain neat and clean appearance of information center, lounges, meeting rooms, hallways (in coordination with housekeeping staff). Relay outstanding/pending items to replacement shift prior to being relieved; Attend required student employee staff development meetings/programs/trainings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team, always willing to teach
Event Manager (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: free tickets to most events
Always something different on an average day at work, great events taking place and always meeting new people. The staff and management are great and always willing to give a helping hand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Be
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Kissimmee, FLSeptember 9, 2014
Great place to be, very un-interesting time in my life, just work and home. Regardless though the company is doing its thing and its not going to tank in the near future.. i would invest in stock in them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ability to be creative and flexible yet slow bookings for events.
Sous Chef (Current Employee), Evansville, INAugust 20, 2014
Pros: easy hours, paid vacation
Cons: not enough business
Office attached to the kitchen with a view of work space. My own desk and computer to work from when pricing and ordering needed to be fulfilled. Quickly learned how to price out menus and cost out competitive vendors. The management above my position seems to be one sided and old fashioned. Not open to new ideas. I manage my own prep cooks and work – more... closely with the catering team. All are team players and make events and work go by smoothly. Slow periods, when no events are booked for catering is a hard part of this job. There could be one to two weeks of no cooking, ordering, or even seeing other staff members due to their offices being on the opposite side of the building. Gets lonely. One of the most enjoyable parts of my job is meeting with a client and creating a custom menu. The client tells me ideas they are looking for or foods they very much enjoy, then to my best ability, create a meal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Parking Cashier (Current Employee), New Orleans, LAAugust 6, 2014
I love the job its laid back very flexible with hours. you sometimes get to meet stars from the events. its a part-time job unless your manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something interesting
Electrial Apprentice (Former Employee), Midwest City, OKJune 27, 2014
Pros: concerts and basketball games free attendance
Cons: we worked all around the clock
It was definitely a great experience for me. So many different concerts and professional basketball games. Many movie stars and Musical artists. Met a lot of great people. And with all the tradeshows I got a taste of the Gaming industry, Dental field, many loal political events. Overall it was a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SMG/Aaramark is a great oppurtunity to work outdoors and/or indoors.
Restroom Attendant (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJune 24, 2014
At Aaramark I used to meet alot of different people on a daily basis.Also it was always something new and exciting to experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting
Ticket Sales Representative (Current Employee), New Orleans, LAJune 18, 2014
Exciting and interesting place to work and be productive as well as meeting and interacting with new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Progressive Company, that cared for employees
Marketing Director / Brand Manager (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 17, 2014
Pros: complimentary beneifts from venues & wine & spirit brands
Cons: very long hours and late shifts
This company meant a lot to me because I founded the company. I learned a great deal about not only being a business owner but how to help develop and reinvest in the company so that it will continue create revenue. It required a great deal of discipline and management in order to run a successful marketing and promotional firm and the hardest part – more... of the job was time management when handling multiple accounts. By us being a small firm there were often times where we were understaffed and could have done a better job attending to some of our accounts. Overall I enjoyed making our clients experience with our company memorable. We had several repeat customers due to our customer service. That meant alot to me because that was one of the founding principles I wanted to stick to when starting up this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Days But Fun Job
Manager (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXApril 22, 2014
Pros: exciting, ever-changing environment. relaxed atmosphere.
Cons: days can be long with events. have worked for months without days off.
Days can be long during event season, and seem very long when it's slow, and there isn't a lot to do. The work is challenging since everyday is different. The job isn't difficult but does require a lot of problem solving. Good people. Great built in network of people in similar positions and situations to get guidance from nationwide.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting new faces
Event Staff (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKApril 17, 2014
The most typical day was, a complaint. I gathered information from the person that is complaining and resolved to problem. But, the most enjoyable part of the job is to make sure that our customers are happy and enjoying the event.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable place to work!
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), West Conshohocken, PAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: benefits
The environment was relaxed but very professional. I learned a lot about the different aspects of the Sports and Entertainment Industry and Property Management. My co-workers were great and really good people to work with on a daily basis. The most enjoyable part of the job is when we would win a bid after putting in the hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working at the Greater Columbus Convention Center its an expeiance
Security Officer (Current Employee), 400 N High street Columbus OhJanuary 31, 2014
a typical day at work starts out with a review of the days events, then I retrieve a radio and set of facility keys,I patrol the facility to check for safety regulations while scanning card readers to record my route. my coworkers and I work as a team to ensure that everyone that visits our facility is able to enjoy their day. I must say the most difficult – more... part of my job is when I must remove people from the premises on very cold days. my job is most enjoyable because I get to meet new people, see different attractions, and learn many things. our team of officers are manage by a well organized and caring team of professionals which insure that we as officers are able to do our jobs – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable atmosphere
Cashier / Food Preparation / Runner / Server (Current Employee), Long Beach Convention CenterJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: a free meal, small breaks, and good atmosphere
Cons: a lot of customers come through every day
Worked with many employees to get the venue working at its best. The managers knew what to do without being overly controlling. the co-workers are very easy to get along with for the most part and just want to get the job done as much as one's self. The hardest part is when it gets crowded and a little chaotic. The most enjoyable parts are talking with – more... the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor leadership
Management (Former Employee), Long Beach, CADecember 31, 2013
Pros: some great employees
Cons: leadership
Very negative atmosphere. Very threatening environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very easy going and very enjoyable
Security Guard (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PANovember 11, 2013
Work was very laid back and enjoyable. Patrolling the building was never a problem and was always an easy task to do. The hardest part of the job was the dead silence when working for an overnight or very slow moving show. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to see different activities taking place in the building and the feeling of being – more... part of the build up/tear down team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is different
Various (Current Employee), VariousNovember 9, 2013
Good company to work for. Lots of hours, but work is different daily and you get to work with a lot of different people and learn from them.

1 2 3

About SMG

SMG, the world leader in venue management, marketing and development, was founded in 1977 with the management of our first facility, – Read more