Smith & Nephew

190 reviews

Smith & Nephew Employee Reviews

Found 152 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Floor Worker
Floor Worker (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 30, 2016
It was nice and the cleanest warehouse I've ever worked in. Pretty smooth and easy job. Smith & Nephew pays close attention to detail to make sure that everything is up to code.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
UPSTREAM QUALITY ENGINEER II (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 9, 2016
Good place to work. Good employees. The structure of the company is very streamlined and very organized. I would recommend working here to a friend.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company for skill set development
Endoscopy Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VADecember 29, 2015
Developed skill sets for covering surgical procedures. Learned invaluable methods to growing business in a competitive environment. Managing inventory in ever changing territories.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was difficult as first to learn anything new at a new job but out of my experience I was gratefully encouraged and appreciated by everyone.
packager 1 (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNDecember 10, 2015
I enjoy working for a company that provides medical supplies for the world. I believe that every positions within the company plays every key role of all aspects of the business success. I am pleased to have worked for a company with outstanding integrity and success.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, limited opportunities
Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNDecember 10, 2015
Smith & Nephew is a good company. It's really hard to advance once you are in the company. The management is decent and that depends on which building you work in. A lot of the managers came in thru the ranks and don't have a formal education and don't have a lot of the necessary tools to be successful managers. It's a great place to get some experience but don't plan on staying long if you would like to grow. There's also a lot of nepotism at Smith & Nephew.
Pros
compensation, flexible, ESPP
Cons
no advancement opportunity, No diversity in management personnel
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Work
Configuration Database Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNDecember 7, 2015
Smith & Nephew rewards those that have a desire to advance. However, in most cases it more about networking within the company. Overall, Smith & Nephew is a good place to work with good job security and decent pay.
Pros
Salary, Advancement, Job Security
Cons
Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, No room for growth
Visionaire Database Coordinator II (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNDecember 6, 2015
Smith & Nephew is one of the best companies to work for. However, it can be challenging trying to obtain a different position once hired.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
packaging medical implants
People Mark Temporary (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNNovember 23, 2015
i enjoyed the employees and working for smith & nephew it was a real learning experience knowing that the implant that we were packaging was going to one day help someone in life
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment and excellent management.
Associate PM, Outsourced Operations (Current Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLNovember 12, 2015
Smith & Nephew has always been a great place to work. From Day 1 I have had an extremely supportive boss who continues to challenge me in new roles and projects.
Pros
Great Local Management
Cons
Office relocating to TX.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork Expedition
Logistic Operator (Current Employee) –  Puerto RicoNovember 6, 2015
It is great place of work in the department of inventory control. I have lean how to manage different skills or departments. This because I like to learn and have knowledge of the company for when the co-workers come at you and ask for your help about something that they don't find, you need to start seeing all the inventory transactions and find the error on it. See what happen, receiving error, a wrong cycle or physical count, an incorrect order, etc. you need to ask every people at the different position to find the better way to get the problem. It is very important to have a great communication with all your co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and learn
manager (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAOctober 31, 2015
Smith & Nephew was not a perfect place, but it was a good place to work. The team is very helpful and most people want to do a good job. Upper management did not help much. The middle managers ran the show and got things done. Overall it was a good experience. Pay and benefits good. I enjoyed my time there.
Pros
Pay, Benefits
Cons
Upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable job run into the ground by bad management
Forklift Operator/Chemical Compounder (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAOctober 29, 2015
what can i say good employees bad management.people brought problems to the management team at company meetings all the time yet nothing seemed to get done about it.it was sad because when they made good products they flew off the sheves and when the made bad product it was a disaster.the last month i was there they lost 200000 dollars in gloves.
Pros
good people
Cons
out of business
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was good to learn
CNC Machine Operator / Set-up (Former Employee) –  Mansfield, MAOctober 23, 2015
was starting out on cncs, learned alot there. good group of guys. average pay, good benefits. worked off shift, paid differential.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Associate (Former Employee) –  kansas cityOctober 22, 2015
Working with Smith & Nephew was great opportunity. I was not only able to learn the business side, but the operational side as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good compensation. No opportunity for advancement
Sr. Market Manager (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAOctober 20, 2015
Work environment was toxic in the home office. Culture suitable for Yes Men/Women. Strategic direction was lacking. New Product Development process was broken with most team participants not having training in ISO, or FDA product development guidelines. Management often untrained in best practices.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant learning environment
Medical Device Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMOctober 19, 2015
The responsibility I had as an employee of this company was amazing. They made sure you were abreast of changes in technology as well as our clients. Company spared no expense in having quality product lines.
Pros
Constantly around brilliant people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used and Abused
OSC (Former Employee) –  ColoradoOctober 11, 2015
I worked for this company for two years. No training whatsoever! Upper management is lazy and will dish the work load onto the lower level employees then take credit for all the work. The stress is insane, industry standards are shocking, when considering what the company provides. Do yourself a favor and apply to the competition.
Pros
Decent benefits
Cons
No advancement, low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dysfunctional
Manager (Current Employee) –  Andover, MAOctober 2, 2015
The company seems to be going through constant reorganization for the last several years and there is no communication of what the long-term goals are maybe to hide that the people responsible for the reorganizations don't know what they are doing?? As you can imagine with the reorganizations they also have downsized with each change so those left behind really have no work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable work environment
Machinist (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNSeptember 30, 2015
A typical day of work at Smith & Nephew usually consist of safety meetings and productivity updates. The hardest part of the job is being there for 12 hours and the most enjoyable part of the job is developing new skills and work relationships.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SAP supersuer
Analyst (DEMO) (Former Employee) –  Andover, MASeptember 26, 2015
involved with all aspects of quality, quality management, training, process documentation, LEAN Six Sigma, material aster setup BOM correction NOI ECT
Pros
Six Sigma
Cons
lack of resources
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 190 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture