Find companies:
Smithfield Foods
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

Smithfield Foods Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place of Employment
Quality Assurance Technician (Former Employee), Tar Heel, NCSeptember 14, 2014
Perform daily audits
Enforce PPE, GMP, SSOP, SPS
Comply with USDA/OSHA
Animal Welfare trained
Calibrate Equipment
Implement daily schedules and tests
Record Information
Communicate with QA Manger and QA Supervisor
Label Verification
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, safe, and informative work place.
Production Worker (Former Employee), Smithfield,vaAugust 19, 2014
Loved working along side Crew leaders and Production associates. Very straight forward duties, and friendly staff in all dept.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Production Worker (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VAAugust 13, 2014
There was alot of room for growth and that is always a plus in your job. The thing I like most about the company was, plenty of overtime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company was good to work for.free holiday foods.
Shipping and Receiving Material Handler (Former Employee), Smithfield, VAJuly 8, 2014
Had fun while working their at the company.lunch brakes was very fair,the pay was good & the company was not far out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a day at work
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee), Smithfield, VAJune 4, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: too crowded
I enjoyed Smithfield, I learned a lot about foods, how they slay hogs, how to work machinery an computers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Production Laborer/Clerk/Crewleader (Current Employee), Smithfield, VAApril 21, 2014
Pros: you are recognize for your hard work and job performance
Cons: healthcare/benefits
Smithfield foods is a very productive and wonderful place to work. You are able to interact with different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job,
Case Ready Prep Tech (Former Employee), NCMarch 7, 2014
Pros: cold climate
Cons: fair pay
climate was cold, pay was fair, good co-workers, where pay lacked benefits made up
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
forklift operator
Movement Control Specialist (Former Employee), Tar Heel, NCJanuary 31, 2014
remove dead hogs an load trucks with product an cleaning area of responsibility
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job to work
Production Worker (Former Employee), Tar Heel, NCJanuary 10, 2014
pretty typical meat plant. come to work poor training but if u want to learn they will teach u
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Volume Work
Plants Operation Manager (Former Employee), IllinoisJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: company structure
Cons: family owned
Work was enjoyable and the union and non-union co-workers were great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable and fast paced
Production Line Worker (Current Employee), Grayson, KYNovember 21, 2013
Pros: healthcare
Cons: far away
•a typical day at work is fun and enjoyable
•I have learned the process of making spiraled hams
•management is very friendly and helpful
•my co-workers are extremely nice and courteous
•the hardest part of the job is staying warm
•the most enjoyable part of the job is getting to work with a great group of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical food maufacturing plant
Shipping Coordinator (Current Employee), Wilson, NCNovember 3, 2013
This plant has a lot of employees all though there pay is ok you sometimes get the feeling that they should pay more then the things that expect of you to do. It is very cold in this plant also, so if you can't stand to be cold this job isn't the one for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and productive atmosphere
Boxmaker\packer (Former Employee), Smithfield,VAOctober 29, 2013
Pros: employee appreciation days, free lunches
Cons: extremely cold
The job was very easy, co-workers were sometimes difficult to work work with but for the most part it wasn't bad. Supervisor was very nice easy to talk with and very understandable. Learned to work at a steady pace but not let the job work you. The hardest part of the job was the unexpected change overs. The most enjoyable part of the job was being – more... around some of my co-workers and having a great supervisor – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
International Sales Manager (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOOctober 27, 2013
Pros: excelent compensation package
Daily pricing and selling of fresh and processed pork products.
Managed 3 foreign brokers
Category management
Risk taking with forward sales
Managing international supply chain
Review and approval of credit terms
Interpretation of US export regulations and foreign government import regulations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Line Worker (Former Employee), Clinton, NCOctober 3, 2013
Pros: bank time, vacations, bonuses
Cons: short breaks, mandatory overtime
Very time consuming may have trouble balancing work life and personal life. Very strict policies, hardly no room to handle anything outside of work. Managed poorly most days are unexpectedly complications anything could happen from; break downs, very early lunch/breakfast breaks, to very late clock outs with no warning. Co-workers not so bad since everyone – more... is kind of working toward the same goals. Hardest part of the job is mainly the time frame and excessive work. Most enjoyable part is by far the pay and benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Shipping Clerk (Former Employee), Smithfield, VASeptember 10, 2013
Pros: 1 hour lunch breaks
Cons: not able to spend time with children and family
Team work able to make a lot of money in a week. Majority of the co-workers got along. We made work fun and we became like one big family since we didn't get to spend that much time with our own families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
advancement opportunities, hardworkers
SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VASeptember 3, 2013
Pros: employees appreciation day, bonus, employees incentive
Cons: seven day work weeks
Smithfield Foods was a great opportunity for me. I started out floating boxes and worked my way up to Supervisor in less than two years. I started as an interim supervisor and was promoted my first year. The hardest part of the job was the staffing of over 55 employees by not being bias or showing favortism. The most enjoyable part was the relationship – more... built between the employees and myself – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Smithfield was a pleasant experience.
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Smithfield, VAAugust 20, 2013
I really enjoyed my time at Smithfield over the many years. It is a company that has been growing since I was hired originally in 1984.
Smithfield was always a big family, spanning many generations. This also was a feeling shared with our customers and vendors. This is one of the major reasons Smithfield has become the company it is today along with – more... hard work and dedication from each and every employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
growing company, but not many chances for advances.
PACKER (Current Employee), Kinston, NCJuly 13, 2013
Pros: enjoy my job
Cons: not enough hours
Good place to work and pay well for the Kinston area and has very good benefits. Enjoy co-workers and work in all parts of my department and has learned every job well. The hardest part of the job is that for the past two or more years, our department has not been making a 40 hour work week. This has caught up with my expenses and living has been difficult – more... and stressful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with Smithfield Foods
SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VAJune 20, 2013
Pros: employees appreciation days with cook-outs and fun stuff give-away
Cons: back to back 7 days work week
Smithfield Foods gave me the opportunity to become a team player and my first chance at becoming a great manager. I was given the opportunity to run a continuous production line staffing over 55 employees