Smithfield Foods Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor leadership
Brand Manager (Former Employee) –  Lisle, ILJanuary 15, 2018
Leadership was not strong with no clear direction of company future. Most peers were not strong. HR was not supportive and allowed poor behavior to continue even when reported several times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Kinston, NCJanuary 14, 2018
i enjoyed working for smith fields
when they down sized i was unable to take job with company because of tending to my elder mom and dad in area
Pros
good salary
Cons
closed plant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Career for everyone type of job.
Electric Pallet Jack Operator (Former Employee) –  Wilson, NCJanuary 13, 2018
Went in hard and came out drained most days. Most departments in the plant have the wrong pay grades. Management seems alright until you find out the truth about there dirt and secrets. You can get away with a'lot of things just as long a management favor's you. Dealing with lazy workers is the hardest thing for me work is the easy part. The perks of the job are slow days, there like free paydays.
Pros
Bonuses and paid holidays
Cons
Lazy co-workers and management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed to work with others in a team
PORK MEAT PACKAGING (Former Employee) –  Smithfield, VA 23430January 13, 2018
It is a good job with supervisors who care about employees. The good this I liked about the job was that they provide a lot of benefits to employees such as health care, and dental benefits. also its a good paying job.
Pros
no free lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place for a family man
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Kinston, NCJanuary 12, 2018
I enjoyed working with this company work for a long time I am a hard worker but i get tried some time we all in it to make money and I am the one that makes it happens so u make money I make money
Pros
Good lunches
Cons
Good breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Miscellaneous worker (Former Employee) –  Monmouth, ILJanuary 12, 2018
It's a great place to work... It's a hard job to do... But you get use to it... I really enjoyed working their... My coworkers are some of the nicest people I've worked with...
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Short brakes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of hard work with low salary
Farm Manager (Current Employee) –  Maxton, NCJanuary 11, 2018
it's is a lot of hard work in a very tense enviroment, There is always pression for production. It is very likely to suffer from an accident and get injured.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and confusing
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Siler City, NCJanuary 11, 2018
Smithfield's is very stressful when busy and does not have good management. They are very inconsistent and stressed out themselves. They are flexible with their hours. Very busy on Sundays. I learned how to work fast and learn things quickly and how to be on my feet for long periods of time. The hardest part of the job is the drive thru because they will run out of food and have to start cooking more things and you get very backed up. The most enjoyable part was talking to the regular people who came in and got to get to know them. They have only one break a day to eat and it is very short.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s good
Warehouse Manager and rte helper (Current Employee) –  Nitro, WVJanuary 10, 2018
It’s a good job fast pace time consuming hard work job all the positions rte help and sales loading trucks receiving orders customer service and help out management
Pros
People
Cons
The hire ups don’t know what all we do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The bonuses are good
Distribution Operator (Current Employee) –  Kinston, NCJanuary 8, 2018
Work environment is very cold.
It's not what you know but who you know.
Some management are sometimes quite unprofessional while others try.
Workplace culture is anything goes and rules are easily looked over by employees and management. The hardest part of the job is the cold temperatures.
The most enjoyable part of the job is training others to do the job the right way.
Pros
Work hours are 5am -130pm
Cons
Lazy employees who slack off on the job causing others to work harder.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Direct Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJanuary 4, 2018
Typical day at work included waking up at 4:30 am to be at the warehouse by 6am and load the truck. Always working in a cold/freezer environment. Be prepared to carry alot of boxes it is non-stop hard work which can be good since your day flies by and there is no time to clock watch.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
FORKLIFT DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Smithfield, VAJanuary 4, 2018
Horrible management and the company doesn’t care about anything but production. They under pay the employees and and does not show any appreciation to the workers!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive workplace
Butcher/QA (Former Employee) –  Smithfield, VAJanuary 4, 2018
A typical day at work was being in proper PPE and being on the line at 4:30pm. I learned how to do numerous jobs such as packing, cutting, and QA responsibilities. Management was good helpful at times. The culture was equal. There wasn't anything really hard about the job other than working in cold temperatures. The most enjoyable part of the job was the nice people who help you when you need it.
Pros
two long breaks
Cons
the long walks and lines
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over worked under paid
Packaging Labor (Current Employee) –  Grayson, KYDecember 29, 2017
I have worked at enough places to know when you are being treated unfairly and not appreciated for your quality of work. Management is very unprofessional with how to conduct problems and solutions with coworkers.It is not necessary to reward employees every time they do their jobs efficiently but it is important to be treated with respect and not to reward the ones not working and causing more problems with other employees.
Pros
plenty of hours
Cons
cold environment, unprofessional management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Crew Leader (Current Employee) –  Smithfield, VADecember 28, 2017
Fun place to work. Lots of hours. Great team working effort from employees. Great paid time off. They have very good benifits. You can advance pretty quick in the company if you put the effort into it.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Lots of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard, fast paced, repetitive work
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Monmouth, ILDecember 27, 2017
The jobs are hard work, fast paced, and very repetative. If you are willing to work long hours for great pay then the job is for you. its wonderful pay and benefits, but lots of hours and not much chance for time off. Not a family oriented company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive job and no lay offs
Cutter (Former Employee) –  Tar Heel, NCDecember 24, 2017
I had good work field in the company in cutting the meat. The production line is a fast pace and need to pay attention to deal on productive line. Managers supervision is lacking not monitoring the production line with workers.
Pros
Co-worker, production
Cons
Manager lack of support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not work there again or reccomend to people
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Milan, MODecember 24, 2017
Management doesn't care about you at all. Bottom line is profit. Constantly short handed. Very racist working environment. HR is a joke literally had to draw a picture for them once about how my production line was setup.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management and Hr
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Peru, INDecember 22, 2017
It was fast paced but working 3rd shift has the downfall of doing sanitation 2 times a week or more. If bacteria was ever found, it was 3rd shift that would have to come in and or stay after 7 a.m to make sure the machines were properly cleaned.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Tar Heel, NCDecember 22, 2017
This was the most stressful job I have ever had. The supervisors only care about getting the product and the orders filled they do not care about the well being of the employees.
Pros
the money
Cons
the work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Smithfield Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 927 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4