Find companies:
Smithfield
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

Smithfield Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smithfield Foods
packing chitterlings at night on second shift (Former Employee), Tar Heel, NCDecember 13, 2014
Pros: good hours and over time.
Cons: employees did alot misconduct.
A typical day for me was were I had be able to work in hot or cold temperature and clean chitterlings properly before weighting and bagging then sealing to be shipped out. Being able you work at a steady pace. I learn to be a lead and not a follower. I learn went times get rough inform a supervisor or crew leader also write statement down in human resources. Ever take action in my own hands because it can get you fired or expelled. My co-workers was misconduct to me all the time. My team member hit me so I defense myself. We both got fired. I should have just reported her and let it be. The most enjoyable part of the job was just being able to have the chance and experience to work for Smithfield because I was reliable and dedicated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people!
Quality Assurance Technician II (Former Employee), Grayson, KYDecember 9, 2014
Company could be better! It had a high turnover of people when I was employed there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe, cares about quality products
sanation (Former Employee), Middlesboro, KYDecember 2, 2014
Pros: health ins, dental, vision, 401k
Cons: cold wet messy
good place to work,loved my job had personal problem moved to far away to drive there. meat packing plant .cold job not for everyone if you can stand the cold its a good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Team Leader (Current Employee), Cummings, GAOctober 21, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: hours
This company will definitely keep you busy. I enjoy supervising my employees and developing work ethics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job.
Plant Worker (Former Employee), Tar Heel, NCSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: great pay and benefits!
Cons: the point system!
It's a great job as long as you live near the plant or don't have too many major bills. The gas bill alone was $260 a month plus a car note! Hated the point system. I honestly would go back go if didn't have a car note.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Head table, Grounds keeper (Former Employee), Tarheel, NCSeptember 6, 2014
breed hogs loaded hogs got them ready to be sold to other comapnies
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Production Worker (Former Employee), Kinston, NCAugust 28, 2014
Pros: good insurance
Cons: short break
It is fun very challenging and it take a whole lot of team work to succeed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smithfield was a great company to work for
Security Coordinator (Former Employee), Smithfield, VAAugust 20, 2014
We had a great team, that worked hard together to better the company and each other. In the 16 year of working for Smithfield:
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Meat Cutting Specialist (Former Employee), Tar Heel, NCJune 19, 2014
really good work environment. I have nothing much to say other then i could have done with out the water and working so hard from a temp sevice then letting everyone go after the job was done
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Demanding Place to work and they don't care about the older employees.
EMS Coordinator (Former Employee), Clinton, NCJune 16, 2014
I Worked there for 34 yrs.. and I loved my job. When Farmland took over they expected too much out of one person although I tried to fill the many duties that was expected of me it was just too much and when I asked for help that was impossible at that time. I learned that its not good to invest your whole life into Smithfield's company cause when something goes wrong they will find a scape goat vs getting you the help that you need.. I would never advise anyone to work there in a management position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees treated unfair
Meat Packer (Former Employee), Middlesboro, KYJune 13, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: the attendance point system, unwillingness of management to work out problems with the workers
Smithfield had excellent benefits, however you couldn't take time off from work to go to the doctors because you would receive an attendance point, and after 6 you would be discharged from your job. Management on the upper level of the staff had no more knowledge of their job, or how to handle it, any better than the supervisors underneath them. Unwilling to work with employees during conflicts. The co-workers always worked as a team, with few conflicts amongst them. They were all there to get a paycheck, and make the best of it...though they complained daily about the way the plant was ran. For myself the hardest part of the job was dealing with the extremely cold temperatures daily. I really enjoyed my job, and made some lasting friendships. The people who worked in the packing room were always friendly and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible workplace conditions
Production Worker (Former Employee), Tar Heel, NCMarch 21, 2014
All these people care about is the hogs, they treat employees like animals. Very good pay, but not a good place to work at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cold
Cooler 6 (Former Employee), Smithfield, NCMarch 4, 2014
Smithfield was a hard job. I was the only person in a cooler about the size of 2 football fields. it stayed around 32 degrees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Patient Account Representative (Former Employee), Suffolk, VAJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: family time
Cons: healthcare
Answering phone calls from patient. What i learned was time management skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
equipment constantly breaking down, giving maintaince positions that I would have to show them how to do their job
Line Supervisor (Former Employee), New Tazewell, TNJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: several falls on
go in put machines together to begin to run. getting everyone ready to start the day. Then just filling in for ones that goes to rest room, have to keep Just go into a big mess left from shift before we really had
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), clayton, NCJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: long hours
It's very long hours. You make very good money,but you really want have time to enjoy..........................................When you are off you just sleep all the time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enviroment to work with people!
Head Custodian (Former Employee), Smithfield-Selma Senior High SchoolJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: watching the children who attended grow up and graduate.
Cons: dealing with quarterly inspections. everything had to be in order and spotless.
I really enjoyed coming in to work talking with my co-workers and meeting the new people that came through. I also enjoyed how my staff was instrumental in assuring the site was spotless. We received compliments and awards for the work we did as a team. I was hesitant about taking a leadership role at first. I learned that I am able to lead others and the job done. The hardest part of my job was when I had to reprimand someone or fire them. The staff and management was like a second family to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was ok ,as long you work over 40hrs a wk was the only time we had a nice check
Production worker (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VADecember 22, 2013
Pros: i like have a job
Cons: i dont have any thats why i was there for 23yrs, but if i had to have 1 it would be my job end 8-16 13
THE job was ok i was there for 23yrs . I learned alot working with others on there jobs when my line was down. The managemet was good to me, but alot of people said it suck . I had no hard time on my job but it was some jobs that work people so i would go help out when I could.The best part of the job was I HAD A JOB SO I COULD FEED MY KIDS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need to consider things come up you need time off
Production Worker (Former Employee), Bladenboro, NCOctober 18, 2013
the job was very easy I worked on the kill floor doing various jobs. the thing that I disliked the most was that they don't consider the everyday life things such as kids getting sick ect. I was fired from them when my children was hospitalized for havin pneumonia
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, busy.
Crew Leader (Former Employee), Tar Heel, NCSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: long breaks.
Cons: smell, animal parts.
A typical day at Smithfield was usually busy I tried to keep myself busy because I don't like not doing anything, but as far as the managment/supervisor's at smithfield I do not give it a good rating because that is the reason i quit, my co-workers were okay. I pretty much keep to myself and do what I am suppose to do and if i don't have anything else to do I kept my co-workers. The hardest part of my job at smithfield I would have to say getting blood and animal intestins on me everyday was something I didn't like, the best part of my job was driving the forklift because that was something I actually liked to do.