Find companies:
Smiths Medical
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
53 reviews

Smiths Medical Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, good products and today focused
Manufacturing Manager (Former Employee), Dublin, OHDecember 4, 2014
Pros: consistent mornings, great physical environment, safe.
Cons: structure and focus
Typically morning was systematic with preparation for daily meetings and attending daily meetings. The focus was on today. The most difficult task was how you were going to respond to today’s hot issue. The physical environment is clean and temperature controlled. The management team worked well together. The people had a deep concern for safety. Many of people were enthusiastic and general concerned about making the best medical products. Smiths has many good products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people company!
Project Mgmt. Mechanical Engineer Special Projects (Current Employee), Dublin, OHDecember 3, 2014
Rewarding / Challenging / Continuous Improvement

Building Our Future is expressed in our new Purpose, Principles, Priorities, and Performance, which we are introducing today. This framework is intended to be more aspirational on culture, clearer/simpler/ fewer on priorities, and more tightly coupled with performance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff terrible management
Software Test Engineer (Current Employee), Arden Hills, MNNovember 30, 2014
Aside from lower level management there is a great disconnect between employees and management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy company with room for advancement
Production Coordinator (Current Employee), Arden Hills, MNOctober 20, 2014
Pros: rarely has layoffs. room for advancement
Cons: production often has to work overtime to meet sales demands
The company is busy and is growing at a fast pace. Really enjoy my coworkers and having the opportunity to work on medical devices that save people's lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work a lot of ovetime and few days off. its a very demanding job and must be very carful on the job that you dont make mistakes.
Material Handler (Current Employee), Dublin, OHOctober 10, 2014
Pros: 3 breaks a day
Cons: no days off
The worst part of the job is no days off and a lot of over time. The management is very precise in procedures and must fallow to the tee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Former employee (Former Employee), Norwell, MAOctober 3, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, enjoyable, friendly working atmosphere
Cons: lower pay compared to competitors
Company is very good about work/life balance. Management for the most part is very good. Executives are great however middle management (managers & directors) like to think they have much more power than they actually do. Co-workers are great - very friendly, collaborative atmosphere. Hardest part of the job is the salary - Smiths Medical is notorious for underpaying their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Contract Administrator (Current Employee), Dublin, OHSeptember 24, 2014
Good place to work if you are comfortable not advancing. The company lacks professionalism and is very disorganized. There is little to no follow through with upper management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Components Lead Operator (Former Employee), Souyhington,CTSeptember 3, 2014
I enjoy working for this company but I relocated therefore I had to leave.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Angle Garza is the best manager I've ever had, or ever will have
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Dublin, OHAugust 19, 2014
Pros: some managers and supervisors are great, involved with charitable organizations
Cons: some managers are terrible, the pay is horribly low
Angie gets five stars, the job itself gets four stars, and the pay gets one star. I had to leave because although I loved my job very much, I couldn't continue earning so little pay for the amount and quality of the work. As I was leaving opportunities for advancement started to become available but the pay was low even for the promotions, so I had to look elsewhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
as a coordinator
Coordinator (Former Employee), Arden Hills, MNAugust 17, 2014
Pros: rewarding to have a great team of employees
Cons: not very caring of the companys employees
Data entry for the teams daily goals met.
Making sure all areas had sufficient coverage for daily work.
Filling parts orders.
Checking quality.
Daily data entry for orders.
Training
Managing a team of 26 technicians and assemblers.
Safety checks daily
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assembler (Current Employee), Keene, NHAugust 4, 2014
The people are very nice, it was a good job for the summer.
Ive learned a lot of patience and how to work quickly but pay attention to detail. It is a very fast moving job that was hard to get used to. I really enjoyed all the people I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper management is only concerned about their bonus
Production Manager (Former Employee), St. PaulJuly 10, 2014
Pros: mone
Cons: everything
If you have given up on life it will be a perfect place for you. If you have not given up on life stay far away from this place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Credit Manager (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNApril 16, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Great place to work, good internal and external people to work with. Collected past due dollars, reviewed and released new orders reviewed and prepared credit limits for new and existing customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, not a lot of advancement, no salary increases
Contract Administrator (Former Employee), Dublin, OHJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: the people, the learning/advanced training opportunities
Cons: archaic system, poor system integrity, no raises
Great people to work with, a lot of training opportunities yet not a lot of advancement , no salary increases, poor system integrity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to day
Mexico and Central America Distributor Manager (Current Employee), Central AmericaJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: multicultural, traveling around the globe, save and change lives
Cons: too much travel
My day to day business
First thing in the morning contact warehouses in Europe to see how many orders are we going to release and invoice in the week.

Secondly contact key accounts in Latin America and review any kind of issues regulatory, importation, marketing, clinical, or finance issues.

Last but of course not least fill reports for upper management, quite often backed up with points 1 and 2.

Maybe the hardest part of my job is loosing sales and market share due regulatory reasons
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productable
Coordinator III (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNNovember 18, 2013
Pros: many times a year having free picnics and etc. through the employee committee.
Cons: healthcare (spendy), pension (no longer given)
They are very safety consistence, all about lean, try to keep communication going.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promoted from within the company
Data entry (Former Employee), Waukesha, WISeptember 24, 2013
I was responsible for receiving departments, both the human and veterinarian portion. I would receive products, inspect products, and assign lot numbers to products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly political -decision making not encouraged
Regional Human Resources Manager- (Current Employee), Norwell, MAAugust 16, 2013
No best practices locally or internationally

Not strategic not open to new ideas

Ineffective org structure

Decision making not encouraged
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressed at Dead End Job
Production Assembler (Current Employee), Gary, INJuly 26, 2013
Pros: close to home
Cons: not compensated fairly for performance and reliability.
Not happy with current job of 7 years. Looking to obtain full-time and meaningful employment for a quality company that will appreciate my dedication and excellent work performance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mgt cares about mgt
Injection Molder (Former Employee), Gary, INJuly 17, 2013
Pros: great co workers
Cons: not enough pay
great people easy work not enough pay for work management cares about management

About Smiths Medical

Smiths Medical's forges are primed to produce medical tools for intensive care, surgery, and post-operative care procedures. Part – Read more