Find companies:
Smokey Bones Bar & Fire Grill
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
78 reviews

Smokey Bones Bar & Fire Grill Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible scheduling
Server (Former Employee), Greensburg, PASeptember 23, 2014
Worked with good management that was always willing to work around a schedule that best fit your life. The cleanest restaurant I have worked at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun at first, management changed, sports bar environment
Busser, greeter, food runner (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VASeptember 17, 2014
Pros: hours, pay, location
Cons: management
I started in high school, was a good job then, made decent pay as a host and busser. Owner changed, company changed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political, tolerant, and a job
Manager (Former Employee), Easton, OHAugust 12, 2014
Pros: great starting managment position
Cons: too political
Dealing with many political ideas and persons. Open and close. Various scheduling. Crunch felt in between the ranks. Co workers were pleasant and easy going. The hardest part of the day is finding time to spend with little ones.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for food, drinks and fun interactions with people
Training Server (Current Employee), VAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: interaction, connection and meeting different people, building trust with clients.
Cons: healthcare benefits, not in my field of study - ready to follow my dreams
I come into to work and say hello to everyone, other servers, bartenders, cooks, dishwasher and managers. Check the service line to make sure we are stocked up on extra food supplies for the dinner rush and create a warm and inviting atmosphere for all clients I serve that evening. I have learned to be open minded, responsive to changing conditions – more... and situations, and to trust others with assigned tasks. I get along great with management, whatever they need me to do I accomplish to the best of my ability. I always help out my co-workers with anything they need help with or to just make the shift easier for them to be able to complete there work. The hardest part about my job is leaving the industry, I have done it for so long and have enjoyed serving people, but it's time serve people in a different light and follow my dreams in the medical field of kinesiology. The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting and interacting with various people and learning about there life experiences!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace cheerful staff
Greeter, Bus Boy, Host (Former Employee), Bowie, MDJuly 17, 2014
good work environment chill laid back after hours the staff would some times have eatting contest everyone was like family coworkers easy to get along with management was a strict when needed but laid back and fun mostly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome experience
Server, Hostess (Former Employee), Newport News, VAJuly 9, 2014
This was my first job and I learned a lot from it. I was very thankful for the experience and guidance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Volume, great atmosphere, great food
Lead Cook (Current Employee), Columbus, GAJuly 3, 2014
Pros: discount on food
Cons: healthcare
Will recommend family and friends to eat there anytime, this is my first restaurant I have every work for, good management, everybody listens to your opinion about certain way we should tackle things, co -workers are fun to work with, job is fast past, and fun to work with people who care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced fun work environment
Server (Current Employee), Greensburg, PAMay 21, 2014
The typical day at Smokey is fast paced and can be fun, if you have the drive for it. The money can be inconsistent if serving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My summary
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Albany, NYApril 24, 2014
I learned how to work with diverse people and I learned how to work the bottle machine.

I got along with the managers and the employees to make the work place a safe environment.

The hardest part about the job was dealing with pushing the carts in the snow on a busy day to make sure all customers had a cart to go shopping with.

I enjoyed most is – more... working with an amazing company and learning the about the company and what they have to offer to employees – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fun atmosphere to work in most of the time
Service Manager (Former Employee), lithonia,gaApril 9, 2014
Working for this company taught me to remember business comes first before everything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cook (Former Employee), Orlando, FLMarch 28, 2014
I worked for this company for 13 years and the last year has been really tough. Constant changes to the menu, poor communication among manager's and no raises for the employees. I hadn't had a raise in over 8 years. It was time for me to move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work place with great food and atmosphere
Server (Current Employee), SpringfieldMarch 24, 2014
Pros: management works well with my school schedule and very profitable place to work
Cons: you have to work nights and weekends to make the best money
love it love it love it love it love it loveeeeeeeee ittttttt
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick cash
Waiter (Current Employee), Springfield, ILMarch 17, 2014
Good place to make cash for college students. Awesome serving, bar tending, and kitchen staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Bartender (Current Employee), Kissimmee, FLMarch 11, 2014
Great food, Good people and fun times. Very high volume Restaraunt, very good place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and good food.
Server (Former Employee), Fayetteville, NCFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: loyal customers, 50% off food for employees, great co-workers
Cons: no benefits, rare breaks, lack of care for employees
Smokey Bones employees on a good day are full of energy and look out for one another as well as their customers.Working there has taught me a lot about how hard but exciting the service industry is. Unfortunately, management was what needed work. Not all of management was like this but the General manager was the main problem for most of the employees. – more... The servers in the restaurant had to deal with constant verbal harassment and bullying as well as lies, so he could cover up his mistakes. Our best days and most successful days were when he wasn't there. Over all I would say Smokey Bones is a great place to work with high energy and good money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Fun Fun
Server (Former Employee), Peachtree City, GAFebruary 25, 2014
I loved my co-workers. It was an interesting place to work at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enviroment
Server (Former Employee), Peachtree City, GAFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: discounted food, great teamwork, great co-workers
Cons: no benefits and being up on my feet all day
Loved my job there. Most of the customers were great. Management was reliable and knowledgeable. The kitchen staff and other servers were always on top of their game.

The most difficult part of this job for me was when the customer wasn't satisfied with something. I don't like when people are not satisfied with the service I would give.

The most enjoyable – more... part of the job is when you could see the teamwork among servers during the busiest times of the week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Exponential Expansion Opportunities, Difficult to balance life and work due to hours
Bar Manager (Current Employee), Chesapeake, VAFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: great people, good benefits, good pay, and free food!
Cons: 65+ hours a week, late night hours, never ending deadlines
A typical day at work consists of inventory, coaching, training, cost monitoring, guest resolution, guest satisfaction, quality assurance, and at times the list never ends. The most difficult part of the job is balancing the extreme hours while maintaining a healthy personal life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Service supprt (Former Employee), Melbourne, FLJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: great friendships and great atmosphere
Cons: some sense of non working together with some team mates
Never a dull moment. Learned a true sense of working together with other team mates. Hardest part of the job was picking up others slack that did not put forth a good effort
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to come and eat, an even better place to come for music at night
Greeter (Current Employee), Lithonia, GAJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: becoming a better person
Cons: no discounts, rarely breaks
A typical day for me at Smokey Bones is always a handful. From complaining customers to unorganized employees along with the managers. Working for Smokey Bones definitely thought me a lot of patience, in may cases it most definitely made me a better person. Within my last year of working for Smokey Bones I have encountered too many different managers – more... in and out. The hardest part was having to adjust to so many differences in such a short period of time. Unfortunately a few of my co-worker are always on the edge of their live bringing it to work with them. In all honesty the hardest part would have to be my co-workers along with the managers. The best part was always seeing how happy our customers would feel while engaging in conversations and satisfied our customers would leave. – less

1 2 3 4

About Smokey Bones Bar & Fire Grill

If you feel it in your bones, you know you're in the right place... If you're looking for the exciting challenge of growing a – Read more

Smokey Bones Bar & Fire Grill Photos