SMS Employee Reviews

Found 68 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work in Billings, MT
Janitorial Worker (Former Employee) –  Billings, MTAugust 28, 2017
My job was to keep a Mall clean. The problem is that my co-workers could talk for hours with people on the job, and do nothing. While I couldn't talk to friends and work at the same time. The job posting also $10 a hour and paid me $8 a hour. Others who had worked there longer than me never got a raise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment not so great
Personal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Buffalo Grove, ILAugust 17, 2017
Management there isnt the greatist, the coworkers are sometimes hard to get along with. Before i was moved up to personal assistant i would have to write appointments for sales reps and that got overly demanding was made/forced to write for more then 1
Pros
hour lunch breck
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company give each employee a box of candy for birthdays: Great Christmas parties
Inside sales (Current Employee) –  Buffalo Grove, ILJuly 30, 2017
The concept of SMS is a great one, however, some of field analysts are more focused on making the sales, and do not give some businesses due process in providing for their needs.
Pros
Insides sales people are rewarded with cash, . Management is geneious in providing off work activities..
Cons
No breaks, this is a commission only job. Most inside sales personality work continious to find new business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Pier Agent (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 30, 2017
Working with SMS was a pleasure, there were many positions to fill in one day. The training was great and useful to know. The work was fast paced every time.
Pros
Met travelers from all over the world
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buenos compañeros de trabajo
Cruise Agent (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 22, 2017
El trabajo es bueno pero son muy pocas horas a l semana
Pros
Buenos compañeros
Cons
Pocas horas de trabajo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very chill work space. People and customers are great
Assisting customers (Current Employee) –  Port of Miami, FLJune 14, 2017
I enjoy working there but there's just not enough hours , I wear a suit all day so I look really nice most of the time , my boss loves me working there says I bring a lot of customers
Pros
Breaks, tips
Cons
None really
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Custodian/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Ashland City, TNJune 4, 2017
They have bad Managment, They show favortism, They dont give pay raises, they are just overall a bad company,there was not anything enjoyable bout the job but the teachers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place with nice staff
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 13, 2017
I was working there as a truck driver and had a accident that was unfortunate and was let go because if it. But I loved the fact that they gave me an opportunity and encouraged me to do good. I would recommend them to anyone wanting to work. They are professional and productive and if I get the opportunity again I will take advantage
Pros
Lunch breaks in between route
Cons
Sometimes we have long routes and work days would be long
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very tough work environment, high pressure.
Cold Caller (Current Employee) –  Buffalo Grove, ILMay 10, 2017
The only way to make money at this company is if you have a good sales representative running your leads. However they only give good sales reps to people who have been there a long time, making it very difficult adult for new employees to commission.
Pros
Not micro managed
Cons
High pressure, hard to make money
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job starter
Janitorial Worker (Current Employee) –  Lynnwood, WAMay 9, 2017
Boss is understanding, and likeable. If you are a willing and
good start worker this can make your transition easier. All
equipment there, and supplies. Usually though replacement of
time off is hard as it is not for people who want time off. You have to have a cell phone, car and insurance. You will be paid once a
month. Its tied into the holidays of the state and federal so you
will not work on those days.
Pros
Jobs are normally 2-3 hrs time to drive to different job.
Cons
Its at night or eves and gas is not paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Pier Agent (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 29, 2017
This is a fun environment job everyone is helpful and sweet, only con is that there's no where to buy food so bring your own lunch, and customers could be rude.
Pros
Nice environment, helpful coworkers, happy vibes
Cons
Rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didnt like it
SMS-Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJanuary 26, 2017
It was too much on my back and too much standing up for too many hours and too much on my legs getting yelled at for no reason at all jus hated it alot
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competitive professional environment
Business Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Buffalo Grove, ILDecember 7, 2016
This is a professionally dressed environment that is highly driven on commission. The management is very laid back and wants you to motivate yourself because they do not micromanage. I have learned how to talk to business owners and set up a meeting with them with their very busy schedule
Pros
The lunch man works in the building
Cons
They do not care if you work or if your on your phone all day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't believe anything they tell you
Sales (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaNovember 30, 2016
When reading reviews don't be confused by the titles. A Business Consultant is an inside telemarketing role and those people call business owners to let them know you will be stopping by the next day. They don't tell the business owner WHY you, the salesman, are stopping by, just that you are. The owner is GOING to be surprised and most of the time will not agree to meet with you since there was no appointment set and no reason given for the VISIT. It is 100% commission with no reimbursement for any expenses. It is YOUR dime and your time. You will drive around all day with VERY low expectations of actually having a conversation with the owner and because of that the opportunity to make any real money is low at best.

IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A SALES JOB...KEEP LOOKING.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its very boring workplace...
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Ashland City, TNNovember 3, 2016
The company itself sucks.....in my opinion they have favoritism to their employees the environment of being around the teachers is nice but the company is A thumbs down
Pros
the enviroment is the only good thing
Cons
short breaks, to much work for little pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sms
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 3, 2016
It was a easy job , i work at different places such as nissan stadium and bridgestone area cleaning during and after events. The staff members are very helpful and they give proper training.
Pros
No
Cons
30 min breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money is great!
Business Consultant (Current Employee) –  Buffalo Grove, ILOctober 1, 2016
I like the fact that we have nights and week-ends off. We have a real team atmosphere with positive attitudes. We help business owners improve their business as well as their lives.
Pros
The earning potential is great and my department is paid weekly
Cons
You must love to talk on the phone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first company to start with
Desktop Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 16, 2016
Enjoyed working here.

Excellent staff and opportunities to grow and branch out.

Loved the luncheons and events in the building.

Great to go outside and enjoy the weather permitting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the job hated the unprofessionalism
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 6, 2016
The work was relatively easy nothing out of reach, I learned that with hard work an dedication you can achieve bigger goals for promotions, only issue i had was the undermining an lack of professionalism. I enjoy the fast past environment that required quick thinking and action. Getting to train an teach others what I've learn skills which help me progress throughout the time there.
Pros
got to hear some great shows
Cons
unprofessional with the management an employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and productive work assignments.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Redlands, CAJune 24, 2016
I have worked for SMS, they treated be good and I did the best job I could while employed with them. I look forward to being employed with them again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SMS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 122 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3

CEO Approval

66%
30 ratings
Add your rating