Smyth Automotive Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Devivery driver positions are no stress and enjoyable if you like driving
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Mount Carmel, OHNovember 18, 2016
The overall experience was moderate. I worked there part time while going to college. They worked with my schedule well and there was no stress involved, so it was a perfect match for what I needed at the time.
Pros
no stress
Cons
Low paying.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dysfuncional and unproductive work environment-never know if today is the day they will fire you and they do that on purpose
Accounting Associate (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 17, 2016
Overworked and very stressful
Month end reports; ins and outs of credit card processing as well as Telecheck; their software; more Excel uses
Management was divided, hostile and uncommunicative (at best)
Mainly ok though uncooperative and uncommunicative due to the division
Trying to accomplish tasks without full information and expections
Working with some of the store employees and customers
Pros
Discount on parts
Cons
no way to be included in the "club"
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a job.
Parts delivery driver (Current Employee) –  Mt. Carmel,OhioJune 15, 2015
A typical day at work consists of acquiring paperwork for the parts to be delivered to the respective client or store. Validate the parts versus the paperwork for accuracy. Deliver parts to the required recipient. Also assist the warehouse employees with pulling parts for the delivery drivers.
Pros
Discount on parts.
Cons
Low salary cap and limited advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family feeling.
Floating Manager (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHAugust 2, 2013
There were never a typical day each and ever day was a challange ..I think as for my job that is why I liked it.

The hardest part was leaving.All of my co-workers were very good people.
The most enjoyable was learning everthing that i did as well as the values.
Pros
People
Cons
Hour's
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The place is a joke!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Warehouse (Former Employee) –  West ChesterMarch 27, 2013
The place is basically for young kids who are starting a new first job. Management don't give pay raises you start at 8 dollars and it will take 5 or 6 years for a raise or if that....

Favoritism you can see it all over in this company!

Equipment is a always breaking and the people who run the place are a bunch of inconsiderate only out for their own good and not loyal to their employees.

I know it seems as if I downing this company badly but I am just giving people looking or might have had interest at Smyth a CAUTION REVIEW before applying within, as you see posted on the signs. I have been there for 5 years and still make the same as when I STARTED!

The best part of the job is clocking out. So there goes another story, Clocking in and Clocking out... I have never worked at a place where is was so difficult to just be on the clock.
Pros
hours are only thing that is great.
Cons
pay, management, going extra mile no appreciation in return
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Furthered my interest in Automotive
Parts Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  OHJanuary 21, 2013
They were a small, family owned business. The co-workers were good but some obviously didn't like their jobs. Management stayed frustrated at others' productivity and took it out on everyone.
Pros
good people
Cons
no insurance, low pay, no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Norwood, OHMarch 30, 2012
Driving a company car to deliver parts to stores.
Sometimes you might have to stock the warehouse.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smyth automotive review
warehouse (Former Employee) –  mt.carmel ohioMarch 14, 2012
Smyth had nice hours to work with along with a set schedule, excluding that there not great to work for, there is absoultely no room for advancement, they do not give raises even if you go the extra mile and work all the overtime they ask you to work, the managers are rude and demeaning.
Pros
set schedule
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Smyth Automotive. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
2.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.3
Management
2.4
Culture
2.7