Find companies:
SOC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

SOC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite a good place to work from with wonderful facilities.
FIRST NATIONAL SECURITY SPECIALIST BALAD IRAQ (Former Employee), Balad IraqJuly 25, 2014
Pros: good food, good gyms for work out and nice sleeping quarters.
Cons: vacation home was once a year or after two years.
Imparted in me time management skills, managing guards working for long hours (6am to 7pm), manning a post that needs being alert all the time and being able to check every thing to the dot.
Workers would take long to go home, therefore they would become home sick and bored making work cumbersome and them hard to control.
The management was at times – more... good but at times could err especially when our immediate shift leaders were changed from Americans to Bosnians who could hardly speak English.
The hardest part was dealing with natives who do not know English yet you must drive your point home especially when they are entering the camp to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, unorganized, wasnt ready for the contract volume
Supervisor (Former Employee), deployed to IraqJune 17, 2014
Pros: networking opportunity
Cons: to many to list
A company that was more interested in the bottom line than hiring quality people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Duty Manager (Former Employee), Peachtree City, GAMay 31, 2014
Great place to work with awesome coworkers, very nice commute to/from home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Security Specialist (Former Employee), IraqFebruary 18, 2014
• Perform biometric collection and data entry functions in central database for: Fingerprints, Iris Scans, Facial Images, and Personal Data.
• Produce identification cards for Host Country Nationals for employment by the U.S. Government utilizing government provided badge equipment.
• Review biometrics documentation to ensure accuracy of information.
 – more... Perform quality checks and cross checks as required to further ensure accuracy of data.
• Assists customers with routine questions during the badge process.
• Perform reception and other administrative duties required to complete the mission.
• Assist in compiling statistics and preparing required reports.
• Perform screening functions at an Entry Control Points (ECP) utilizing portable screening equipment.
• Planned and carried out Internal and External control points.
• Working and aiding in Base Defense Operations Center (BDOC)
• Supervisor manned towers and vehicle searches – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
office assistant
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Minden, NVFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: calm enviroment
Cons: didnt always have work
Assisted in organization of files (electronic and hard copy), office supplies and in any
other area needed. Successfully completed all jobs in a timely manor and by time
requested. Scanned, renamed and saved documents in SharePoint. Performed audit
checks for verification of information from hard copy to SAP.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
After work we play football
Supervisor (Former Employee), BaghdadOctober 30, 2013
Day Shift for 12 hours in pleasant company.
To have patience.
The management is very professional.
They are very professional, so the work is easy.
Now there is nothing difficult.
When you recognize your effort
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pool games
Security Specialist (Former Employee), BaghdadSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: dinning facilities provided by kbr was good
Cons: all good
working with soc as security specialist was so nice, i learn more about first aid, weapon handling, vehicle and personal search and many more. The management was good everything was in order, we worked as a team with ma co-wokers thus making the job easier but the hardest part was during incoming fire to the camp sorry i can't metion everything here – more... because of security reason.The most enjoyable part was when we had fun with US military during parties and other national holidays party – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience.
Supervisor of TCN's (Former Employee), Al Asad Air BadeMay 23, 2013
Pros: salary/money was good
Cons: some expats were too mature. had no people skills.
You get out of the job what you put into it. Some supervisors played favorites. Some talent of others was overlooked but I would work for them again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management
Security Supervisor (Former Employee), IraqApril 20, 2013
Pros: flexible staff, one down day to recoup
Cons: guards were undertrained, and expats under paid
Everyone knew what was supposed to happen and who was supposed to do what. All guidelines were met or exceeded. But the TCNs were a "cheap" help. under trained and over paid.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job good people
Trainer / Adviser (Former Employee), baghdad IraqApril 16, 2013
Pros: i had the opportunity to instruct
Cons: overseas
Enjoyed what I was doing and the people were great. I had the opportunity to work with some wonderful people and teach people of different nations skills they needed to succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Enjoyed time spent with company
Explosive Detection Dog K9 Handler (Former Employee), BaghdadMarch 6, 2013
A K-9 bomb detection team is a two-part team comprising a handler or trainer and a trained K-9 dog. K-9 bomb handlers are trained to detect explosives. K-9 bomb detection is used to track and find explosive devices or chemicals. The K9 Handler performs his or her duties while commanding a trained working dog that is part of a team that has met NAPWDA – more... certification standards and is a certified team to search for explosives. The team may be required to search vehicles, packages, backpacks, mail, containers, rooms, buildings, areas, or other objects as directed and in a dangerous setting. Performs security patrols of designated areas with use of a canine. Watches for irregular or unusual conditions that may create security concerns or safety hazards. Performs security searches to locate and identifying dangerous materials or contraband. Permits authorized persons to enter property and monitors entrances and exits. Observes departing personnel to protect against theft of company property and ensures that authorized removal of property is conducted within appropriate client requirement. Investigates and prepares reports on accidents, incidents, and suspicious activities. Maintains written logs as required by post orders. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing like fun when your on duty
GUARD (Former Employee), Iraq-balad campFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: free lunch etc
Cons: short break and health care etc
A typical day at work was not a ctually bad because i use to friend the person i could work with, i learnt to be co-operative to everyone ,the management was goo because they use to balance the duty, my co-worker had to be good because i use at least not bore him at post, sisnce i ws a lady i could only work with men only , so i had to motivate them – more... not to be bored allday,the hardest part is when you have failed to coparate with you co-worker, language barrier with the bosinian supervisers, still during winter time when you are not given the requirements in time ,eg juckets glaves and others.
the most enjoyable time when you are given aday off to rest and when your getting your advances to buy your own needs. – less

chachi – June 17, 2013

i need to work with soc at balad or any one in balad can help me out how to get in touch with whom in charge many thanks

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good people to work with because all facilities were available
Security Supervisor (Former Employee), Taji IraqDecember 21, 2012
Pros: free lunch and supper
Cons: only one day off a week
A typical day starts well everyone following his schedule learned so many new things such proffessonal weapon handling, sharp shooter, manegement and the hardest part was working with people who could not speak english from Mascedonia and Bosinia but very interesting since at the end of the day we got to co-exist and appreciate one another and life – more... goes on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I have ever worked for
CSS (Former Employee), BaghdadNovember 25, 2012
Pros: there is not one good thing to say about this company
Cons: onboarding, work environment, micro managers, poor equipment...
HR/Admin repeatedly lost paperwork, onboarding departments do not communicate with each other, submission of important paperwork is not shared so some departments will sit on your application for weeks.

In country management micro manages everything. If you think you are joining SOC to improve an area or to make a difference, go to another company. – more... The PM and his entourage are the only ones who make decisions and the lower managers have to clean up the mess upper management leaves behind. Front line managers, who should be leading teams do more paperwork than leading.

There is a lot of talent in the line manager pool but it will never get used by this PM or his cronies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
take care of yourself first
Security Supervisor (Former Employee), BaghdadNovember 2, 2012
Pros: $$
Cons: management
Terrible management and overall bad company. But if you have to work here do it for the money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and very challenging.
Team Leader-SOC-Moble Convoy/PSD (Current Employee), Baghdad, IraqAugust 2, 2012
Pros: company paid vacation.
Cons: none really.
.Great working environment
.Cultural learning
.Management is mostly by far the best I've worked with
.Coworkers are well versed, andthere when needed guidance, as well as team players.
. None really everyday is a challege for new, and inventive ways on how to go about your job in a more productive way, room for error is very limited so your always up – more... to the task for you, and your team.
.Learning the different cultural difference, and various other duties/challenges....etc...that are required. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As as admin asistant, logistic, Armorer
Admin assistant/ logistics/Badging (Former Employee), BaghdadJune 29, 2012
Pros: gained security tactics and armorer skills
Cons: i never had a good boss
I enjoyed what i did cause it was taking me to another level of skill and experience, office work was done to the best of my ability with arranging and record keeping, inventories were done on appropriated date for beter reports and smooth operation of the project.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working was good
security guard (Former Employee), AL ALsad Air BaseMay 9, 2012
Pros: yes
Cons: yes
Average, i learned many things since the base was of many people, management was so bad, the hardest is when the stom comes, enjoyable part when am standing my post.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to work.
Shift Supervisor COB ADDER/ COL PROSPERITY (Current Employee), Baghdad IraqMarch 30, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: vacations and visas
Work at the main entry control point for the entire base. Incharge of about eighty six guards to secure the safty of the base. The people I work with are mostly proir military so we all have a common bond. I would have to say the hardest part of the job would have to be the language barrier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting working with contracts in Iraq and Afghan
Travel Coordinator (Former Employee), Minden, NevadaMarch 14, 2012
It was an internesting place to work and learned a lot while there