Find companies:
Social Security Administration
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
324 reviews

Social Security Administration Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job No Benefits
Disability Retirement (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 16, 2014
Pros: i brought my own lunches
Cons: i also took my own breaks because i ran the shop alone, and did all the work.
My job at Enterprise Auto Body was fun and i enjoyed what I was doing. But there were no medical nor other health related benefits offered by the employer. My days were filled mostly with repairing cars and or trucks that had already been repaired there before I got my job. I had only one co-worker and he did the cleaning of the shop and grounds then – more... if needed he would help move a vehicle or two into or out of the shop.The most enjoyable part of the job was payday as is in most job related situations, on my payday my daughter would always come get her money for shopping her and my wife because I usually did not get off until around 8 or 9 PM and the stores would be closed and I worked weekends also. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government job
Contact Representative (Current Employee), Queens, NYSeptember 9, 2014
A typical day at work was taking phone calls and answering questions from the pubilic regarding there Social Security and Medicare. What I learned was everything and anything about Social Security and Mediare. Co-workers were very friendly. The hardest part of the job was the call center atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer and managers
CLAIMS REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Hammond, INSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: public contact
Cons: rude claimants
I enjoyed my job as a claims representative immensely. I particularly enjoyed my interaction with the public. The office personnel functioned as a team to meet office goals. Our office was looked upon most favorably by the public for being friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. The most difficult aspect of job is just not having enough time to help – more... everyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retired with Benefits
Retired (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 27, 2014
Pros: at home a lot
Cons: lonely, bored
I retired young and would like to work from home if I can find that type of job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social Security summer intern
Intern (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAAugust 25, 2014
My duties were to assist the supervisor and workers with anything they needed help with including the mail room, organizing files, leaving messages for the clients, and sending off reminders for future appointments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting but stressful
Technical Expert (Former Employee), Washington, PAAugust 22, 2014
Pros: steady employment, good pay
Cons: stressful at times
I have worked for the Social Security Administration for 40 years before retiring in October, 2013. I worked in various positions. This is one of the most complicated jobs dealing with the public and their benefits. I have a very strong work ethic due to the variance of this job. I worked my way up from the lowest position because there was opportunity – more... given to good workers. I had met many interesting people in this position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Legal Assistant (Senior Case Technician) (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 21, 2014
Pros: perform work on my own
Cons: little contact with co workers
Reviewed work load for the day, and worked it up. See resume for details.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive place to work. Met lots of people and learned alot about Social Security.
Processing Clerk (Former Employee), Wilkes-Barre Township, PAAugust 18, 2014
Pros: benefits are great. retirement is great. all the extras are great.
Cons: they work you too seriously.
The DOC (data operations center) is an amazing place to work. Actually very interesting job and wouldn't mind going back there to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse friendly culture
Management Analyst (Former Employee), Woodlawn, MDAugust 15, 2014
Always had an opportunity to learn something new. Going to school and continuing education were encouraged for career growth. Loved the networking atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social Security Administration
Teleservice Center (Current Employee), Grand Prairie, TXAugust 11, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: on phone calls consistantly
It is a very stable position. Not much room for advancement unless you have higher education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Service Representative (Current Employee), Laredo, TXAugust 8, 2014
Pros: great retirement package.
Cons: short lunch break.
On a typical day at work we carry a heavy workload with various duties. I have used my compuet skills to my maximum potential here and I contie to learn more skills each day. My management team is great and I could not ask for better co-workers. The most enjoyable part of my job is arriving to work and getting started on my duties
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good salary and benefits, work hard and lots to learn
Claims Representative (Former Employee), Clarksville, TNAugust 6, 2014
Pros: interaction with the public
Cons: large inventory workload
You felt a sense of job satisfaction in helping people in need. The job required working large case loads of people filing for disability in various stages financial and emotional need.

The job required focus, attention to detail and organization skills to stay ahead of the growing inventory.

The fact that I was able to work and assist people from – more... all walks of life made the job that much enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Place to work and Learn
Mail Clerk (Former Employee), Falls Church, VAAugust 6, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Social Security was the most enjoyable place to work and I learned a lot of things working in the mail room.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was my first job after I graduated.
Technical Advisor (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 4, 2014
Pros: good supervisor.
Cons: none.
Working for the government was my first job after I graduated from High School. I worked there for 17 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Claims Representative (Former Employee), Orlando, FLAugust 4, 2014
Pros: excellent opportunity to be promoted/
Cons: there we no cons to this employer
Plenty of opportunity to be promoted. Plenty of training of any new positions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job I've EVER had!
Leadership Development Program/Attorney Advisor (Former Employee), Baltimore, MD/Dallas, TexasJuly 29, 2014
Pros: very engaged in employee development
Cons: limited career ladders for attorneys
The Agency gets an undeserved bad reputation. The Leadership is caring, genuine and embrace the philosophy of servant-leadership. They invest a great deal in training and developing the staff. I had the opportunity to be mentored by a handful of executives who made themselves available and always ensured that the path I was on would lead to where I – more... hoped to go in the future. I got a wide range of experiences. My supervisors were great. I loved working here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Senior Legal Assistant (Former Employee), Dallas, TexasJuly 26, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: breaks
Flexible work schedule, good for mornings when you are stuck in traffic. I learned a lot about social security disability benefits. Management staff was good. I got along well with co-workers. The hardest part of the job was locating expert witnesses to schedule for hearings. The most enjoyable part of the job was sitting in on the actual hearings and – more... being a part of the process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work in
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Queens, NYJuly 24, 2014
Pros: two 15 minute breaks
Cons: no overtime
This place had Great staff and flexible hours. I really enjoyed working in this company, because it allowed me to develop and learn different aspects within a large agency.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexibility is great
Social Insurance Specialist, Claims Representative (Current Employee), Bessemer, AlabamaJuly 22, 2014
Great way to help others. Good job. Ever evolving environment that is sometimes challenging but an overall good place to work. SSA is very family friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reputable employer in the field of contract security.
Service Representative (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIJuly 22, 2014
Pros: uniforms provided, many different opportunities.
Cons: contract disagreements. stability is not something you should expect.
As far as contract security goes, G4s Wackenhut is a very well organized employer. They also pay a wage that is competitive in the field.

About Social Security Administration

These guys have your number. Or at least you better hope they do. The Social Security Administration (SSA) pays retirement, disability, – Read more