Find companies:
Social Security Administration
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
266 reviews

Social Security Administration Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment
Audit Consultant (Former Employee), MarylandFebruary 3, 2014
Great workplace. The client was very in-tuned with their financial and information technology growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure job, Good benefits, Can be stressfull. Very busy office environment. Good customer service skills required.
Social Security Claims Representative (Former Employee), Iselin, NJJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: job security, benefits
Cons: can be stressfull at times.
Interviewing and adjudicating claims throughout the day. Explaining benefits and eligibility to the general public. learned good customer service skills. Management was fair. Set goals and expected productivity. Co workers were cooperative and at times worked in teams. The most difficult part of the job was at times dealing with belligerent,uncooperative – more... individuals. The most enjoyable part of the job was assisting the general public. Explaining benefits and options. Completing applications. Benefits, compensation, and job security is excellent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Internship Duties
Social Security Administration Summer Internship (Former Employee), Plaquemine, LAJanuary 28, 2014
I updated customers disability claims. I scheduled meeting on the phone and in person to get updated medical records from clients so they can continue receiving Social Security Disability income.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a conductive & equal treatment work environment
Program Analyst (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDJanuary 18, 2014
Cons: unequal treatment by management
Balanced culture, environment, management practices, fair treatment, appreciation, equal treatment is completely absent at present work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NO PRESURE
CUSTOMER/TELESERVICE REP (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: flex time, vacation time
Cons: traveling too far to work (1 1/2 hr without traffic)
THE JOB WAS A GREAT EXPERIENCE FOR ME. I LEARN HOW SOCIAL SECURITY OPERATE ON A REGULAR DAY. MANAGEMENT WAS FAIR, MY CO WORKERS WERE A GOOD GROUP OF PEOPLE TO WORK WITH. THE HARDEST PART OF THE JOB WAS TO KEEP THE CUSTOMERS HAPPY. THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART WAS WHEN I HELP THE CUSTOMERS TO GET WHAT THEY DESERVED AND A SMILE ON THEIR FACE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security
Claims Representative (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: job security and diversity
Cons: health benefits, "political red tape"
I have learned so much since I started working for Social Security. With our primary goal of public service, I discovered many ways of communication with my claimants, learned quite a lot of diversity, culture, and social responsibility. I have learned to adjust to Social Security's ever-changing policies and procedures. Flexibility is key, I have learned – more... how to adjust to the times (economy, unemployment, a person's struggles not only for themselves, but their family as well.) The thing I enjoy most is the sense of accomplishment in knowing I have helped people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job opportunities and security. Currently understaffed which affects the quality of work provided to public.
Claims Representative (Former Employee), Miami, FLJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: working with the public, job security, good health and retirement benefits, advancement opportunities
Cons: short lunch breaks, understaffing.
A typical day began at 7:00am and ended at 3:30pm with 1/2 hr for lunch and two 15 minute breaks. Before interviewing began at 8:30- to 9am, I would work on pending cases or participate in staff meetings, training. Interviewing was conducted until 3:00pm and the balance of the day was working pending cases. My employment with SSA taught me to be a supportive – more... and helpful team member while acquiring good interviewing skills. Organizational skills were also highly regarded due to the excessive amounts of cases. This helped me to keep my cases as current as possible and to prioritize my workload. Management was always helpful and supportive. As in many work places, difficult co-workers could be encountered, however I always extended the same respect and patience as with my interviews. The most difficult part of my job was dealing with understaffing which created back logs and delays in case processing. This adversely impacted the public which was always my main concern. The most enjoyable part of my job was the fulfillment of assisting and educating the public, along with the opportunity I was provided to train fellow co-workers and mentor new employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A work environment which allowed for growth and flexibility in raising my children
Paralegal Specialist (Current Employee), Tampa, FLJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: flexible work and leave
Cons: takes time to advance depending on the current personnel
I have enjoyed a long career with the Federal Government starting when I left high school in 1970. I worked in Washington, DC for the Federal Bureau of Investigation in a stenographer pool and then with the Department of Health, Education and Welfare with a group of attorneys that wrote legislation. The men and women I worked with were graduates of – more... ivy league colleges such as Harvard, took me under their wing and honed my skills. I resumed my career after the birth of my son in Tampa, FL at the Social Security Administration in 1980. I served in many capacities in the office from a typist to a paralegal specialist. The hardest part of my current job is drafting a decision, sometimes with scant direction, to comply with the social security regulations. However, I enjoy working independently. One of my favorite jobs in the office was a technical lead in a group that serviced four Administrative Law Judges. I was responsible for the flow of the work and training individuals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
variety of work skills and constant training for new laws learned
Bi-lingual Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Dearborn, MIJanuary 4, 2014
Cons: had to pay for benefits
Was a fast paced work environment. Taking care of the public's issues with their Social Security Benefits on a daily basis and on a face to face basis. Co-workers were wonderful to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding experience
File Clerk (Former Employee), Independence, MissouriJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: good working atmosphere
Cons: stairs
HIPAA Act maintained
Different cultures working together without barriers
Accuracy of the utmost importance
Team work a constant
Team members all had the same common goal
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ss a cards
Service/Contract Representative (Former Employee), Decatur, ALJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: helping others
Cons: long days
completing benefits application, coworkers worked together, working the window to help people getting an application approved
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job as a Legal Technician.
Legal Technician (Former Employee), Wichita, Ks.December 30, 2013
Pros: flex hours, pay, benefits
Cons: knowing that people were desperate to receive benefits, were in distress with medical conditions out of their control.
Reviewed medical records, arranged them in chronological order preparing them the Administrative Law Judge review and hearing. Scheduled hearings, spoke to clients, attorneys, other staff regarding disability issues.

Hardest part of the job was mailing out denials to people you felt were truly disabled but had been disallowed by the Administrative – more... Law Judge.

Co-workers were fun, was well liked and still have friends working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with very talented people
IT Specialist, Team Leader (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDDecember 29, 2013
A great government organization with highly technical people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Special Claims Representative (Former Employee), Laredo, TXDecember 19, 2013
Pros: all good
Just do your work and all your supervisors will leave your alone.
Great income increases
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once you're there...you can't really go anywhere else
Senior Case Technician (Current Employee), New York, NYDecember 16, 2013
Pros: flex schedule
Cons: no upward mobility
Working with SSA isn't so bad. But please know that once you get into the appeals branch/office with SSA, you can't really get out. So be sure that you REALLY like what you're about to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping at the work place
Federal Security Officer (Current Employee), Woodlawn, MDDecember 15, 2013
Pros: free luch etc.
Cons: short breaks ect
sometimes slow but perfect, management can be a challenge dealing with a variety of work but not hard at all, my co worker's are great team player's, the most enjoyable part of my job is helping and healing , yes working in a federal building you fined your self in a healing moment because so many people come in everyday with something wrong and when – more... you can challenge the everyday battle and deal with it , then you become the winner of the day, and at the end you think back to that moment and smile because you completed all your work for the day!!! I love to heal and help – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retirement, Survivors, and Disability Clients
Claims Representative (Former Employee), Richmond, INDecember 5, 2013
Pros: retired and survivor clients are genuine
Cons: no dental provided and medical has much to be desired
Productive and very rewarding interviews with the retired, widow/widower, and disabled adult/children communities. I enjoy laughing, crying, rejoicing, ministering and uplift with the clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professionalism and helping the public with their important situations
Claims Representative (Former Employee), Washington DCNovember 27, 2013
Pros: luncheons, christmas parties, lunch, vacations
Cons: having to tell a person who you have watch deteriate in front of your eyes denied disability.
Face to Face interview with the public. People came in to apply for Disability, Social Security Retirement Benefits, Social Security Cards, Death Benefits, so you had to always be very professional. There were times when you were challenged, sometimes people were very verbally abusive, but you had to remain professional. I learned that the Social Security – more... Office was more than just filing for a Social Security Card. Management was very important, because when the public came to the office to ask about their claim you had to have everything in order. As co-workers, we were like family, we go along great. Dealing with the abusive public was the hardest to adjust to. The most enjoyable part of the job was when you are able to tell a person who has filed for disability that their claim has be approved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learn how to interact with higher management
Social Insurance Specialist/Benefit Authorizer (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDNovember 22, 2013
The ability to interact with individuals of all level was very educational and a learning experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very professional
Psychiatric Medical Advisor (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PANovember 19, 2013
Pros: intersting work
Cons: was only part time - the rest was private practice
Good staff, interesting work and relates extensively with the legal departments

About Social Security Administration

These guys have your number. Or at least you better hope they do. The Social Security Administration (SSA) pays retirement, disability, – Read more