Find companies:
Societe Generale
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
98 reviews

Societe Generale Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
need a change
Associate, NY REPO DESK, FIXED INCOME (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 13, 2014
dont work here. you need to be french. the culture is not ideal for americans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great mix of French and American culture
Associate Director, Procurement - North America (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 23, 2014
Pros: champagne toast on bastille day
Cons: rotating senior management
It was an eye opening experience working for a French bank and engaging with a French business people. I gained a world view on the banking US.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant atmosphere.
Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJJune 17, 2014
Pros: benefits, people.
Nice place to work. With friendly people and knowledgeable management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Consultant (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 26, 2014
Pros: nice place to work
Cons: political fights between french team and us team.
If you are ok with the constant political tussle between the French management in Paris and the one in New York its a very nice place to work.

Lovely work life balance and really talented colleagues
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proffesional
Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJMay 22, 2014
Great place to work. Very supportive group and very demanding
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn
Intern - Cross Asset Structure Team (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 27, 2014
Personable co-workers.

Open workspace.

Great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work for!
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 29, 2013
Was a great place to work for. Great working environment! Love it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Societe Generale is a great company. It has been a stellar experience for me.
Receptionist Manager/Supervisor (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 27, 2013
Pros: employee programs and discounts.
Cons: have outsourced quite a few departments including mine.
I've learned and gained a lot of experience over the past 8 years work at Societe Generale.

Management is great so are my co-workers.

I didn't find anything hard but it was challenging at times and I enjoyed it.

Having an excellent staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Achieved many career goals
Back Office Securities Operations Associate (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJDecember 12, 2013
Pros: distance
Cons: food was expensive in that area
One of my usual tasks while there was to wire funds out which included withdrawals and interest payments. Also moved collateral to various custodians

Throughout my years there, I have been trained to handle many different functions

I have made many friends for life while employed there

The hardest part of my job was leaving

We laughed while doing our jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement opportunities or job security - at least in audit.
Internal Audit Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 19, 2013
Dead-end. No advancement opportunities or job security - at least in audit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
Analyst (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJJuly 4, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: not much possibility for advancement
Excellent environment with friendly interaction with peers and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Personal and Professional Growth
401k /Deferred Compensation) Administrator (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 18, 2013
Pros: team oriented, and good work environment
SG overall was a good company to work with. Good benefits package but as with all companies the benefits package could be better. People work well together. And good work life balance.
Good Personal and Professional Growth Company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging tasks, ever changing roles (in a good way)
Vice President (Current Employee), Jersey City, NJMarch 5, 2013
Pros: good mangagers
Cons: it system limitations
Restructuring, job outsourcing, new projects cause manageable chaos
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sr. Analyst
Sr. Analyst Fixed Income and IR Derivatives (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Excellent working place
Immense learning experience
Fixed income and IRD specific experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, poor management
Programmer Analyst/Business Analyst (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 1, 2013
This job was rewarding in that I was able to work closely with the Front Office to solve complex issues and became the go-to person for any development request. However, from a technology perspective, the management was dis-jointed and lost focus on what the core importance of our function was in the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International Investment Banking Firm
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 21, 2012
Pros: opportunity to work with people from another country/culture, flexibility with hours as there was no set lunch time and you were able to take breaks when needed
Cons: salaries are not that competitive with other companies in the same industry.
SG overall was a good company. As with all companies it has it benefits and areas that need improvement. With my position I had set hours and was able to work with my manager to make adjustments for my personal life if need be. Please note in this review I can only speak to the manager I had while working there and not all the other ones. I had an exceptional manager and was very fortunate to have the opportunity to work with them. Due to that my experience was a good one. They were always there to walk me through things I may not understand, but also trusted me with my daily tasks that would range from answering calls to doing expense reports to creating and editing presentations. Because I am personable there were very few if any co-workers/peers that I did not get along with. I am not sure there was a real hard part of my job and I enjoyed most of it because of the people I was able to be working along side.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fast paced environment that that encourages innovation and high productivity
VP, Analyses & Tactical Development (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 13, 2012
A very fast paced environment that that encourages innovation and high productivity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great exposure and learning experience
Assistant Vice President (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 27, 2012
Exposure to Cash management and Sales. Traveled to Western Europe and North Africa to leverage the international and cultural depth of SocGen to sell Cash clearing and Trade solutions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
generous for giving bonuses and salary increase
Operations /OFAC Specialist (Current Employee), Jersey City, NJJuly 25, 2012
Pros: good bonus
Cons: stay late
Not a lot of work. no stress.
working together. there is no hard part in the job.
group lunch is really fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shooting own goals
credit (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 13, 2012
Pros: easy hours
Cons: clueless management, especially in risk
I've been with the bank for over 10 years and it has survived a number of close calls. Energy blow up, Kerviel, Greece. Unfortunately, the bank is its own worst enemy. Recent management changes, especially in risk where I work, have left many of us scratching our heads. The people Paris has put in charge over here have lost the confidence of the line. We had high hopes that with an American CEO from a bulge bracket firm, things would change, but they've just gotten worse. Moving across town to an office space where senior credit officers will loose their desks and their privacy is not helping morale. On the bright side, no one works much past 5:30 or 6 and no weekends.

About Societe Generale

Société Générale wants to be top brass in the French banking industry. The bank (more familiarly known as SocGen) commands a three-pronged – Read more