Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers Employee Reviews

Found 13 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Organization with outreach and networking opportunities
SHPE Jr. Representative (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJanuary 19, 2016
I loved this organization for what it was and is.Thanks to my involvement with SHPE I was able to give back to the community as a mentor and experience working with a team. Having weekly meetings and attending officer meetings really gave me a sense of professionalism and a way to act and behave outside the organization. Through SHPE I was exposed to exercising and honing several skills, management skills, organizational kills, time-management, and attention to detail just to name a few. The hardest part was keeping myself from devoting to it 110% because I enjoyed it so much.
Pros
Free meals, networking opportunities, great learning environment
Cons
Not enough time to do everything you want
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging atomosphere
Vice President (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 26, 2016
The leaders that were a part of this organization helped me grow exponentially. I learned how to communicate to get things done and how to organize task a bit easier.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Chair Position
Chair Position (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLFebruary 17, 2016
I assisted with offering opportunities for our member to gain community service hours.
I helped setup a SHPE Jr at Godby High School.
The hardest part of holding the chair position was communicating with the students at the school because they come from rough backgrounds along with getting people to actually show up to the Tutor program I setup to help the students there.
Pros
Rewarding experience to have an impact on the student's life at the school. Serving the community.
Cons
Not having enough people participate with the Tutor program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for professional development
(SHPE), lifetime member (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 3, 2015
This was a volunteering position with a great network that allowed me to interact with many students and professionals from different schools and companies, respectively.

The organization allowed the management of different events and groups, as well as participation in such events and groups.

The environment is very inclusive and proactive.
Pros
Travel within the USA, networking
Cons
Time demanding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good organization
National Society of Black Engineers secretary 2009 (Former Employee) –  San DiegoSeptember 17, 2012
good people, professional environment, very culturally proud,excellent mixers /business trips
Pros
discounted hotels/travel/fundraisers/meeting with future employers
Cons
volunteer work no pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious place to work
Accounts Payable Assistant (Former Employee) –  Industry, CAOctober 12, 2013
The accounting department is always busy and there's always a ton of work to be done. I learned many things in my short stay with the company because they were always happy to help me out. They showed me how to perfect my work and how by working harder on a project and making things easier to understand would help others along the way. The hardest part of the job is working very long hours and it's also fast paced. The most enjoyable part is that your working with good people and you feel that your making a difference.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great to meet people
Member (Current Employee) –  Penn StateOctober 5, 2014
This is a great society to be involved in because most people, like myself, are latin and this gives us a higher ground to relate. Also, it is a great place to network since they often host career fairs and networking meetings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
Vice President (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZOctober 23, 2014
Lots of people to meet and lots of possibilities to better your career.
Pros
FREE FOOD
Cons
LOT OF PEOPLE
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shpe
Retention (Former Employee) –  West Lafayette, INApril 9, 2013
Is a society of Hispanic professional engineers at Purdue University were you learn a lot, met new people, learn new culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treasurer
Treasurer (Current Employee) –  West Lafayette IndianaFebruary 10, 2015
• Responsible for managing $57,000 for over 100 members
• Collaborated with the President and Vice-President to enhance members’ experience by organizing various charitable events and workshops with different companies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun club
Active Member and Treasurer (Former Employee) –  BROWNSVILLE TEXASMay 16, 2013
Great club where you can meet new people and obtain great opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic experience
Membership Coordinator/Event Manager/Treasurer (Former Employee) –  Stony Brook UniversityJanuary 20, 2014
a terrific way to be involved while being a student at college.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
4.3
Culture
4.4