Find companies:
Sodexo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,857 reviews

Sodexo Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going company
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Phoenixville, PAJune 3, 2014
I very much enjoyed my work with Sodexho. My position consisted of very simple busy work that made my shift fly by. My co-workers were friendly, management was friendly, I always smiled coming into work. The pay was not great, but the work also did not require much skill. The only thing I disliked about this company is that they would allow the part-time – more... employees to work the max amount of hours they possibly could with out having to offer them benefits and a full time position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy the people i work with and the student and the customer I have met.
Tournant, Catering, Cook II (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 2, 2014
Pros: the different culures we cook for
Cons: miss communcation among mangment and staff
I do enjoy the fact that everyday is a learning experience for me. I enjoy being able to be helpful where ever I am needed. But I really love that everyone from my co worker to the customer. See the passion that I have for what I do. That it is not just another job for me. By my life long Career in this industry,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospitality and Excellent Customer Service
Adminstrator Supervisor (Former Employee), Dearborn, MIJune 2, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: not having clear direction
15 minute report for GM
Count Cashier drawer
May drops from previous day sales
Change order
Print out soup of the day and specialty of the day
Document sales and summit
Input Account Payables and Recievables
Input money on students and staff meal cards
Talk to Vendors
Order Supllies etc.

Answering questions via phone , email, in person and worked in – more... catering when needed.
Halo system was fairly new to the company. I learned the system. I learned how to converse with clients about catering. Catering was high volume so I learned to set-up accounts quickly and sufficiently.

Management was challenging . We did not have a General Manager for a several months.

Co-workers were great. We worked at as a team. Even if it was out of the job title someone always step up.

Not having any clear direction

Enjoyed the learning process. The people were great. Co-worker as well as the clients – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a lot of fun and i loved it
Porter (Former Employee), Young Harris, GAMay 31, 2014
Pros: the experience
Cons: it was under the table.
I got to talk to people from all over the world as college students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun wokplace
Culinary Manager (Current Employee), BethesdaMay 31, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
Management is great laid back and knows his job. The most enjoyable part of job is getting off at 3:00 pm. All my co-workers get along.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, but horrible management
Cashier (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAMay 30, 2014
Pros: free meal
Cons: no benefits, treated unfairly, seasonal job
Every day was pretty much the same, helping to prepare for meal periods for students and faculty at a university. The management seemed to award/praise the same people over and over and I never seemed to be recognized for any of my work or efforts. The coworkers were sometimes okay, we had our good and bad days, but we all tried our best to make it – more... through. The hardest part of the job was trying to pick up slack for other people who were not doing their job. The only good part of the job was that we got free food so we never had to pack a lunch – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry level company
Supervisor (Current Employee), Omaha, NEMay 30, 2014
-learned how to manage others
-flexible hours
-central location
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sodexho
Customer Service (Former Employee), Rindge NHMay 29, 2014
Pros: free meals
I would work in the dishroom cleaning dishes. Then after a problem with management in the dishroom I got moved to fronts where I cleaned tables. I learned nothing on the job. The hardest part of the job was dealing with incompetent management. There was nothing enjoyable about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
irritating work place where you dont get breaks and is always understaffed
Barista (Current Employee), Ogden, UTMay 29, 2014
Pros: free lunches, free soda, free coffee
Cons: hardly ever get to take a break, understaffed always, no benefits to part time employees which is everyone
Working here most days you cant take your break because no one else is in your area. You get slammed with customers and there is no one there to help you. Management doesn't order the things you need and your constantly out of things. You aren't allowed to do the ordering yourself. I had great co workers but we were all stressed beyond belief. They – more... managers play favorites. The best part of the job is talking to the students and getting to see them everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with very collaborative team
Shift Leader (Former Employee), Davis, CAMay 29, 2014
Pros: free meals
Cons: work shifts usually only last about four hours.
Work is very fast paced. Strong team with a no nonsense attitude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my customers, wish I could say the same about the company
Cook II (Current Employee), OHMay 29, 2014
Pros: great hours, no nights or weekends at most locations
Cons: management, do not promote from within
I love most of my customers (there are always going to be a few difficult ones) but there is NO ADVANCEMENT unless you are HIRED IN as management. I have almost 15 years of management experience before coming to this company almost 10 years ago. I have posted for several positions and can't even get an interview. My GM is the meanest woman on the planet, – more... she gets a kick out of making you and your co-workers feel small.
Many of us have contacted HR about issues with her, all they did was give her a list of names and told her to talk with them....... nothing has changed.
Hours are great, pay is decent, but you are treated like a piece of trash.
On the plus side, this has given me the final push to go back to school and get out of food service all together (after 25 years of it) I am just here for the paycheck until we either lose the account or I graduate and get a much better job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the workplace
Cook 1 (Current Employee), Wichita, KSMay 28, 2014
Pros: very active with the employees
Cons: benefits
working at sodexo gave me a wide range of experience. for example: when the management gave me a chance to take on a lead position for a while I was sort of afraid because I never took on a lead position at that company so I didn't know what they would expect of me. after training and working this position for six weeks I had got a great review from – more... different food auditors. from working this position it help me to take on high positions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sodexo
EVS General Management Training (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYMay 28, 2014
Pros: i feel i can contribute to this companys growth.
Cons: i may have to leave sodexo
My Position has evolved primarily because of my efforts to create, share and teach Best Practices. I have mastered what I do and what to move up within the Company. My Primary focus is getting back to the Florida area where I currently live. I enjoy working for Sodexo, its a solid Company and would prefer to stay with the Company as long as i can back – more... to the Florida area.

I have Championed or been involved in many positive things during my 3 Year Tenure. I have also continued to add skill set; taking all the necessary classes for my CAPM and Training in EVS Management, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Barista (Current Employee), Henderson, TNMay 28, 2014
Pros: free food when at work
Cons: did not always get a break
I would go to work after my classes were over and work throughout the night. The students were wonderful and I overall love my job here. Co-workers were wonderful and friendly, the bosses were always understanding and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small cafe on college campus
Server (Former Employee), Ewing, NJMay 27, 2014
It was a small cafe on my college campus that allowed for students to make money while going to school. The environment was nothing but college students. The supervisors were a little annoying, but that's understandable when you work with a bunch of college kids
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
janitorial
Janitor (Former Employee), Norman, OKMay 26, 2014
I learn with sodexo how to be a good custodian and work in area with a lot of kids. Help me to improve my english cause i was working at school.Help me to know more chemicals and how to use them safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive work environment with customers
Cashier (Former Employee), Troy, ALMay 25, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: rude student customers
I serve as a cashier at a convenient store on Troy University Campus.
Sometimes you come across rude customers but most of the time
you see nicer student customers who will like to know about you and your culture. What I like about working at the store is when I get to advice them to take their studies serious after selling to them.

Most of my co-workers – more... are very good and hard working. I have learned that working hard pays off because my hard working attitude has made all my employers liked me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hazard working conditions
Cook (Current Employee), Houma, LAMay 24, 2014
Pros: insurance avaliable
Cons: no vacation, no sick leave
Conduct food service operations: On a Remote Off Shore Oil Rig in the Gulf of Mexico. During this time I work 12 to 14 hour shifts for two weeks, at such time I am off for two weeks unpaid.

The company provides transportation to the rigs by helicopter.

I prepare, cook and bake foods including but not limited to:
a wide variety of entrees, starches, – more... vegetables, and soups.
In addition I bake pies, cakes, cookies, breads, and rolls. Make sandwiches and salads.

I prepare approximately 900 meals daily.

I enjoy the work, although it is very taxing away from my family of small children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and cares for the students that we feed
Supervisor (Current Employee), Boiling Springs NCMay 24, 2014
I love the job but its the people that i work with that make it the best
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers
Kitchen Line (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMay 24, 2014
Pros: discounted lunch
Cons: some times no break
Had a really great crew to work with. Things ran very smoothly with us on the line. Hardest part of job was when the cookline slowed down.

About Sodexo

Sodexo is a global leader in integrated food and facilities management. Our North American operations leverage the diversity, – Read more