Sofo Foods Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sofo foods
order selector (Current Employee) –  Toledo, OHJune 16, 2017
This job like any other job has its ups and downs. i work second shift in the freezer so what i like about working in there is that i can work by myself or with someone else if i need to.
Pros
pay rate
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work.
Programmer/Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHMay 9, 2017
Good People - You work hard but you get treated well . Only reason I left was it just became to long of a drive from my home. I would recommend working there to anyone.
Pros
People/Management
Cons
Could Train People better
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Product Selector (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHMay 8, 2017
Be ready to work. Freezer is the best area. Get a 15 minute break ever 2 hours. Time goes by quickly if you just do your job. Management is good. Helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very difficult place to work
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Suwanee, GAJanuary 20, 2017
This is a decent place to work .The workers are sometimes treated very unfairly though.Also there are not many breaks for the many hours required to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours
Deli Worker (Current Employee) –  Toledo, OHJanuary 19, 2017
The hours were said to be 25-30 when I was hired. However, this is not true. Owner is very nice and the other workers are very friendly and overall it is a great company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thieves
Priduce Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 6, 2016
This company is great if you DO NOT have a moral compass. They lie, cheat and steal. Treat their employees like disposable items instead of people. They think that labor laws are not applicable to them. Want employees to work for free. DO not want to pay for overtime.
I recommend UNEMPLOYMENT over SOFO FOODS
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has strength in numbers
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHJune 29, 2016
Sofo Foods was one of my favorite jobs to work .It keeps you busy I really would have liked to be certified on fork lifts before I was let go there wasnt any room for error ,but I look to better myself from the experience and become better for a future employer.
Pros
banquets
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best Kept Secret in Toledo!
Office (Current Employee) –  Toledo, OHMay 10, 2016
Growth oriented company that started out small. Always looking for ways to improve customer service and rewarding employees. Caring environment by supervisors.
Pros
Excellent Benefits!
Cons
Not a good place to be on a diet!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work
Inside Sales (Former Employee) –  New Albany, INApril 18, 2016
My typical day started at 8 am - 5pm. I was Customer Service in charge of calling on a list of clients daily that needed food orders for the next day or week. The training was great, even had the opportunity to travel to their main office/ warehouse in Toledo for more hands on training and get to understand and know the company and the people I talk to daily on the phone much better. My co-workers were very easy to work with and outgoing. For the most part, my job was pretty easy and enjoyable.
Pros
First Shift Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not driver friendly to a driver
delivery driver (Former Employee) –  Suwanee, GADecember 2, 2015
the company is all about there revenue/and customers/no regard for the drivers/back equipment/poor management/terrible route planning and dispatching/hence BOTTOM LINE HIGH TURNOVER RATE if your a driver with experience already and thinking about this company DON'T DO IT if your looking to gain experience and offered a position unless you really need the work DON'T DO IT


PS. they give bad reference to even there good employees looking for work somewhere else/so if you ever work for them whether you left on good terms or your still employed there looking for work somewhere else they will give you a bad reference
Pros
its a job
Cons
long hours, no respect, no regard for employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 56No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible work place
driver (Current Employee) –  swuannee, gaJune 23, 2015
Days are too long - 4 AM to 7 PM
drivers dont get paid enough.
Half of the time you leave late due to warehouse workers.
drive illegal hours
Management calls every 5 minutes with threats
Trucks are never in correct working order
Pros
N/a
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 54No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 17, 2015
Sofo Foods is a great place to begin a career in warhousing.I learned a lot while employed with Sofo Foods.Nice and safe work enviroment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does a nice job in the pizza business.
Sales manager (Current Employee) –  New Albany, INMarch 31, 2015
Good Italian food distributor. Has great product and super sales reps. that are very customer service oriented and knowledgeable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 23Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and Fulfilling
Vice President of Operations (Former Employee) –  New Albany, INJanuary 10, 2014
8 - 10 Hrs
Trucks loaded and departed on time
Outs and shorts list reviewed and customers made aware
Warehouse inventory, Cleanliness, Safety
Daily sales - Customer service
Grounds and equipment maintainance
Importance of communication
Helpful
Pleasant, always willing to lend a hand
Termination of an employee
Seeing the smiling faces of employees
Pros
Xmas party & bonuses and monthly free lunches for employees
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 27Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Selector (Former Employee) –  Suwanee, GAApril 18, 2013
I enjoyed this job quite a bit. Time passed quickly. I was always busy filling orders, stacking trucks or just helping out a team that needed it. I thought there was good potential for advancement.

The pay was a little low for a distribution center. A lot of temps and pretty low morale on the docks.

Would have liked to have stayed longer.
Pros
benefits, overtime, fast pace
Cons
not a great attitude among the crew, irregular shift lengths
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at Sofo's is long and hard
CDL Driver and Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHFebruary 4, 2013
~Go in get your paperwork
~Check your truck before you leave
~Make deliveries in a timely fashion
~Do pick ups if you have any
~Go back to Sofo's turn in truck and paperwork
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 30Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a better place to work
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Suwanee, GANovember 12, 2012
A typical day would consist of floor loading pallets and loading them onto the trucks. It could be anywhere from 100 pieces to 1000 pieces depending on the day and how staffed we are.

What I learned is how to use a pallet-jack. The company trained and certified me to able to do so.

Management could have been a little more reasonable and flexible with the workers who showed up being that there were a lot of call-offs and quitting frequently.

Most co-workers were easy to get along with while others mostly stayed to themselves.

The hardest part of the job was just being under-staffed making the work unbearable to get done.

The most enjoyable part of the job was having good co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 18Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sofo Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4