Find companies:
SoftRock
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
70 reviews

SoftRock Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SCAM
Verification Specialist (Former Employee), Orlando FLNovember 13, 2012
Pros: work at home
Cons: scam, false advertising, low pay
This company is a scam. You are hired too easily, meaning they'll take anyone. The pay is not as advertised, it is basically $8 an hour to start and if you can't convince desperate job seekers to go back to school, they let you go and in an unprofessional way.

I worked there for 8 months and was an at home CSR. There were days where I'd never get calls – more... and when they came in, 90% of the time they were from people looking to work in a warehouse. They were basically uneducated and not interested in school, hence no way you could get a sale. My pay was based on how many people qualified for education and then it was $15 earned per hit. There are no benefits and when I was let go, mgmt merely cut off my access to the call system without the decency of calling me.

Since I was let go, many of my co-workers got the boot as well....even the high performers!!

Avoid this company!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment, lots of opportunities for advancement, can sometimes be repetitive and boring
Copywriter (Current Employee), Orlando, FLNovember 8, 2012
Pros: sports, events, contests, food, fun, monitor your own breaks
Cons: low pay, repetitive job duties
I think this is a great company to work for. They treat their employees really well and try to offer a lot of events and activities in and out of the office. The job itself is kind of boring and gets repetitive quickly, but what job isn't boring in some way? They definitely do the best they can to make the environment pleasant. If you're really dedicated – more... and show initiative, they promote you quickly. They don't hold people back from advancement (who deserve it) at all. Pay is a little low for all positions, but there is room for negotiation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good times working here
Media Department (Current Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 31, 2012
Pros: the ability to grow
Cons: communication due to rapid growth
I have been at this company for a long time and i have seen us grow a lot. This company gives you the ability to advance and move up as long as you earn it. Its nice to have a company that is concerned with culture and making sure that we have fun when possible. I appreciate my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away From This Company!
Verification Specialist (Former Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 21, 2012
Cons: bogus scam, low pay
Softrock is a scam. It's marketed as a company providing career opportunities, but entry level employees start in a crowded, noisy and blistering hot sweatshop of a call center at minimum wage. Unemployed "victims" create profiles online on numerous job sites and call to have their information "verified", when in reality they're convinced to go back – more... to school. If you can't meet their sales goals, you get fired on the spot. Not a job for scrupulous people, and the CEO has a prison record! Google the company name, and you'll see it's been under investigation by the State and featured on the local news as a scam operation. Stay away! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with rewards for success
Team Manager (Current Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 9, 2012
Pros: pay, opportunity, culture
Cons: parking
l admit that the Manager in Training program is hard, but it's completely worth it in the end. This is a company that gives people the chance to PROVE themselves rather than just write them off based on a resume. After a hundred resumes I got a call for Softrock and have been given opportunity after opportunity to succeed. So long as you're willing – more... to put in the effort you WILL succeed. In addition it's a really fun atmosphere with tons of activities both during work and after to keep things interesting. This is the dream job I didn't know I wanted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard play hard
Team Manager (Current Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 5, 2012
Pros: stability, great pay, fun company stuff
Cons: sometimes can be stressful, changing often, long hours, pushed to the limit
I hear all these people talk about how it's so difficult to work here. It's not really. With every job, there are some people that excel and some that are just happy with collecting a paycheck. I will tell you that I have given my total commitment to SoftRock and it has paid off. I started as an Employment Specialist and now I am a Team Manager. The – more... people who put bad things on here just are negative people or just want their paychecks and nothing else.

I have no complaints about our company because I don't know any other job in Orlando where you can make as much as I do and have the security and ability to advance. Most companies around here are laying people off but not my company. If you want a job where you can make friends, have fun, and bust your tail with great rewards then I ask you to seek out one of our employees and talk to us about it. We'll tell you what it's really like to work here first hand. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BIGGEST JOB SCAM THERE IS
HR Assistant (Former Employee), Orlando, FloridaOctober 3, 2012
Cons: salary-nonextistent, lies from management.
They have you come in for 1st interview. This turns out to be just filling out the paperwork. Then the second one is a group interview for a verification specialist. I was told I would be interviewing for a Human Resources Assistant position. I can't believe the Labor Board hasn't shut them down yet. The money they claim you will make is a lie! The – more... only ones that make money here are the owners of the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
softrock is not all its said to be
verification specialist (Former Employee), orlando flSeptember 28, 2012
Pros: work from home
Cons: majority do not want to go to school with 1-2 months
the concept of work as a verification specialist is to make individuals feel they are calling in about a job when really you are trying to make them say their interested in starting school, management doesnt care about you as a person thats why its a at home position, all they want is you to make the people say they are interested in school so you can – more... transfer them to the education advisor and see if they qualify and if they do you and the manager they chose for you gets paid a percentage!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive experience working independently
Verification Representative (Former Employee), Orlando, FLSeptember 16, 2012
Pros: the ability to rely on myself and set my own hours.
Cons: commission work...very unpredictable workday.
I was an independent contractor at SoftRock. This position taught me time management skills as well as goal-setting. I enjoyed it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
...cough cough,BULL FECAL,
Verification Specialist (Former Employee), OrlandoAugust 31, 2012
Pros: plenty cofee...
I moved to orlando in may,and i applied to this company...it was awesome how i got prompted to an instant interview....got thru my 1st 2 initial interviews...and began training...you know it was pretty awesome on the potiential income that you could make here...but as i began taking calls,i felt bad...because i was trying to trick people into going – more... back to school,just so i could get paid...but the thing is,EVERYONE DOESNT WANT TO GO BACK TO SCHOOL...and its not even that people dont want to,they just cant afford it or doesnt have time....people call to speak to someone about there application but come to find out...they dont care if you get a job,they just want their money...and thats sad,but...they let me go 5 days into my training because i didnt meet their "bribing" quota....oh well,im too honest for that... – less

NotforHire – November 27, 2012

I am glad i chose to read all of the testimonials before going into my second interview. They have the job titled listed as Customer Service Rep and it seems to me to be a sells position! AND IM NO SALESMAN. nor am i interested in trying to persuade people into things they initially did not sign up for. The only way i would be able to perform the functions of this job is if it was something i am passionate about. Obviously they need to hire a new Management personnel team because the woman i did my 1st interview with did not do a good job selling the job to me. Which is why i am here now Searching and seeking information on the company. When i asked to inquire information about the position, she said that any/all information in regards of the position could not be disclosed until the second interview! that's when the RED FLAG*** went up! BULL!! i am not wasting my time/ gas/ effort/ nor will i soil another one of my elaborate business ensembles to do another interview there.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company; management wants to see you succeed
Verification Representative (Current Employee), Orlando, FLAugust 13, 2012
Pros: great opportunity for entry level and experienced people
Cons: must be goal-oriented to do exceptionally well
I enjoy my job so much that I wanted to let people who were potentially interested in joining the SoftRock team know what they have to look forward to. The company has a lot of fun activities that employees can participate in: tennis tournaments, flag football, and company picnics to name a few.

As someone who is goal-oriented and talkative, I enjoy – more... the actual "work" part of my job, too. I love talking to different people from across the country and helping people. If you want to gain valuable job experience, this is a great place to start. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough but rewarding
Education Specialist (Current Employee), Orlando, flAugust 10, 2012
Pros: free coffee and snacks, lots of company outings.
They expect a lot from their employees but they reward us in the same manner. Held to high standards in my job but I get tons of support. Managers are all really accessible and the benefits are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun company to work for
Product Advisor (Current Employee), Orlando, FLAugust 10, 2012
Pros: free cereal for breakfast! nicely decorated offices!
Cons: not enough parking!!
I really enjoy coming to work every day and working with some of the most hard working people that I know. There is a really great vibe about this place that I really appreciate :)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company!!
Sales (Current Employee), OrlandoAugust 10, 2012
Pros: parking is the only issue but i think they are working on it.
I have worked for Softrock for over 3 years and smile coming to work everyday. It is an atmosphere that is warm and welcoming and that is hard to find. I was hired as a verification specialist and have had the chance to move up into several other positions. I have grown and learned so much in 3 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Culture with tons of room to grow
Admin Assistant (Current Employee), Orlando, flAugust 10, 2012
Pros: lots of company events, food trucks, contests, casual dress
Cons: parking can be a pain
The people that work here are great and we have so much fun. I love that most of the managers worked their way up- makes me feel like I have a real future here.

Everyone is super friendly and you can tell that we genuinely like each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work form home
Verification Specialist (Current Employee), Orlando, FLAugust 7, 2012
Pros: 1099 contact employee
Cons: no healthcare work form home.
Self-employed! Would be nice to work around people. Miss inter-action. But, working with applicants I feel it is a joy to help others to refer them to a good school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for Advancement
Manager in Training (Current Employee), OrlandoJuly 24, 2012
Pros: lunch breaks, company events/parties
Applied for MIT several weeks ago and I love the program. The company culture is great, your duties and opportunities are well-defined, outlined and there's definitely room for advancement.

On top of that, the company culture is great! There's always fun events to participate in, and there's something for everyone every month. It's just a really great – more... company to work for if you can dedicate yourself to following the program. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager in Training
Manager in Training (Current Employee), Orlando, FLJune 26, 2012
Pros: afterwork activities, clear communication, advancement-minded goals
Applied for the Manager in Training position and was given a thorough description regarding duties and advancement - it's a great program with lots of room for advancement and I'm glad for the steady employment at a great company.

I was really impressed at what a great job they did at showing you exactly how to advance further and my direct supervisor – more... is great at communication. The culture is great and there's always something new going on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not waste your Time!!!!!
MIT program (Former Employee), orlando flJune 22, 2012
This company is the biggest scam I have ever seen what they do is sell education for online universities such as Phoenix. People call you thinking they are calling for a job and you read a script and then you try to get them to go to school if you do not make enough money for the company they will let you go asap its all commision pay even the training – more... because if you not making any money they will let you go they are scaming people who really needs jobs just to make a buck they have many job boards that direct them to call there number and there is no MIT program that is a trick to get you in the door they are only looking for phone represenatives to try and sell education google Softrock Scam and see what you get – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sham
Former Employee (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJune 19, 2012
Pros: free coffee, cereal in the break room
Cons: pay structure, inexperienced management, poor communication
The pay is minimum wage unless you can make your quotas in the call center. They only promote from within, so EVERYONE has to start in an entry level position (on the phones) until you have the ability to be promoted. The training processes turned over daily while I was there, so the organizational structure was not very solid for new recruits; but – more... it was very easy for the salaried to comment on the hourly when they went home with a REAL pay check every week. If you like to work for minimum wage on the phones and told of unseen potential, then this is the place for you! – less

About SoftRock

SoftRock is a media company that creates software that rocks! It is SoftRock’s unique blend of the right team and the right – Read more