Solar Transport Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAAugust 15, 2017
Was kind of mislead on the pay. Also it seemed like the more you tried to help the company. They tried to keep you at bay. There advancement program was you had to sacrifice your self esteem to get a better position. There loyalty to the employee was far beneath the loyalty that they expected from the employee.
Pros
Fairly a good job at frist with opportunities avialable.
Cons
Really did'nt care about employee loyalty.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety First Culture
Employee (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IAAugust 5, 2017
Company cares about safety and willing to address issues. It is a fast pace company. Management is available to employees, truly cares about the employees and returns calls.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solar Transportation
Bulk Driver (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAJuly 16, 2017
Delivery of fuel to gas stations
Documentation of deliveries, work logs and faxing of info at end of shifts.
Poor work hours and days, unless prefer working 3rd shift and weekends
Good vacation time and benefits
Unfortunately, very unimpressive management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Standards - welcome to slavery!
Tanker Driver (Former Employee) –  Denver, COApril 22, 2017
This is what you can expect ... 12 to 14 hour work days, high pressure to finish constant loads (and always perfectly). Mistakes and faulty equipment are your fault. Management and staff will enjoy setting you up for failure. Your wages will be cheated, accuracy on their part, is not expected like it is for you. You have no time for lunch or will you be compensated for it, and funny thing, you have to buy lunch from the company store. This is a billion dollar business, and they will chew you up and spit YOU out!
Pros
slavery
Cons
slavery
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Driver (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 15, 2016
I'm a former driver , I have nothing bad to say about Solar, I had only 80.00 dollars on me and I had to drive to Iowa for orientation & instead of waiting for my check, they paid me for everything, the next day, you don't find that anymore again kudos to the company.
Pros
No pressure
Cons
Wasn't there long enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy driving for Solar Transport.
Bulk Petroleum Delivery Representative (Current Employee) –  Loveland, CONovember 18, 2016
I usually work about ten hours a day, 50 a week. 5 day work weeks, nights by choice bc the money is better and less stress. However you can go days once youve hit seniority. I do about 3-4 stops a day. The equipment is ok, ive had a few breakdowns in a year. Management is good, they stay off your back, and dispatch is ok they will work with you, and its NOT forced dispatch which is nice.
Pros
relaxed dispatch and management, flexible schedule and time off
Cons
Load pay is a little lower than industry avg
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Understanding
Fuel Transport Driver (Current Employee) –  Denver, COApril 13, 2016
Sure there are good and bad things about this job. You have good days and you have bad days, and so does the dispatcher. The plain fact of the matter is that I consistently have more good then bad days. Management listens and tries to accommodate you as a driver. Mostly steady work. I can pay all my bills and plan for the future. What more could I ask? Management is very understanding and is very fair especially when you make a mistake. Better then average benefits: health, dental, vision, life, std, ltd, 401k, CC, HSA, FSA etc etc etc
Pros
Money, Treatment, Management
Cons
Training, Allocations, Communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Branch (Denver) closed
Fleet Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, CO 80239March 11, 2016
I went through a long hiring process, won the job and within two (2) months the Branch closed. Couldn't believe it. What a horror story.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driver
driver (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, IADecember 22, 2015
Great company with great benefits and pay. Dispatchers do good work, know all drivers by name. Been driving awhile now,and No complaints here!
Pros
Pay, benefits, culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexable hours with decent benefits and pay
Payroll Specialist (Current Employee) –  West Des Moines, IASeptember 13, 2015
My typical day is to work in weekly driver payroll, answer incoming phone calls and emails.

I also help out in other areas is I have time available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Takes Care of Employees
Driver (Current Employee) –  IndySeptember 2, 2015
It is nice working for a company where you are appreciated. I think it helps that is is family owned. They are very straightforward in the hiring process, which is appreciated in this industry. You don't feel like just another number. I would recommend this company to anyone looking for a job in transportation. Also, being home daily is definitely a bonus.
Pros
Communication, Benefits, Genuine, Honest, Trustworthy
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home daily
Hazmat Driver (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJuly 8, 2015
Hauled gasoline to mostly local stations. Hauled gasoline for 3 years. steady work when others were complaining about not having enough loads.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 5, 2014
Company takes care of you but pay is terrible u can make more driving forklift
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place
Hualing fuel (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMay 28, 2013
If you have been driving truck for awhile. I would not applied for solar. Its a joke working there
Pros
great drivers that work there
Cons
Dispather And GM will make you want to quit
Was this review helpful?Yes 54No 22Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needed to be a little more organized otherwise very good
Driver (Former Employee) –  Commerce City, COApril 29, 2012
Could be a great job.more time needed for deleveries and more money per delevery.i enjoyed working for solar transport it was a great experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 50No 22Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Solar Transport. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3