Solaris Paper, Inc. Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive workplace always something to be taking care of and there are a lot of hours available to those who need it.
Machine operator (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, CAJuly 6, 2016
Mainly at the beginning of each shift the workplace needs to be set up for the production that will be packaged up throughout the day.
during a change over on the machines a different work order will have to be followed and the machines will have to be serviced depending on what the client ordered to change the amount and the size of the production that will be packaged up. the main thing to manage all the production flow you have to make sure the machines are cleaned out and everything is running in their original place so that will be no issues throughout the time that it is running. co workers sometimes have their own way of working and doing things so it may be difficult at times, but if every one is informed on how things work and shown the correct way to do things it will be easier for the production to go out on time if worked together as a team. i believe the hardest part of the job may have been when everything is not organized and out of place it makes it a lot harder to multi task and keep all the machines running smoothly with out problems.
the most enjoyable part of the job is when you understand everything about the machines and can take care of any issues with no questions asked.
Pros
There is always plenty of ice water to drink in the break room, and the supervisors are really nice and elaborately descriptive
Cons
there are really short breaks, and there is a lot of dust that you breathe in if you do not wear a dust mask
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place to work!
Account Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Buena Park, CADecember 17, 2015
I wouldn't recommend anyone to work for this company. The management team discusses your business with other employees. You have no type of employee confidentiality. The company doesn't give raises. There are employees that have been working there for 3+ years and haven't received any compensation. There's no room for growth. And the company is prejudice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldnt recommend it
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, CAMay 29, 2015
the co workers here are very easy to work with
no chance in moving up
Rare to get a raise and if you do its not much
i did learn from my coworkers how to do everything i know
only benefit here is good working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Machine Operator/Head Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, CAMarch 10, 2015
Only work here if your desperate or a drug addict. It is not a place to be satisfied or comfortable in life. I feel bad for the guys that have families that work here. Breathing up paper debris all day.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good job. fast past
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee) –  Buena Park, CANovember 25, 2014
loved this job. my day would go by real fast. it was a very fast past job. loved to use their fork lift
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work morale is low and a depressing enviornment.
Rewind Operator, Line Lead, Technical (Current Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, CAOctober 7, 2013
I've been with this company since it opened and it's a mess since I've been here we've gone through 7 plant managers in 6 years people in management come in with high expectations and after a few months they have a don't care attitude and it's very hard to get any answers from hr or management. I've been in numerous positions here working directly under the plant manager and they're hands are tied here to get anything done they have to get approval from 6 people who are in a different country. HORRIBLE! place to work everyone here from the top to the bottom is unhappy the only reason anyone is here is for a pay check and they change the schedule here every month you don't know what you will be working till the last minute makes it very hard to find a new job. The thing is now that the economy is getting better a lot of people are leaving key people so now it is getting worst every it feels like people are leaving every week. I don't recommend trying to work here.
Pros
none
Cons
too many to list.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work , no raises for 2 years at all
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Buena Park, CAApril 2, 2013
great team , energetic people to work with. leard to do alot of different task,
Pros
eazy job, even on the heaviest days
Cons
no raises at all after years for the company, management dont care for warehouse workers
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Machinist
Certified Journeyman Machinist (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, CAOctober 23, 2012
It was a good company to work would have been there longer but was laid off. I prefer maintenance machinist
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team effort and support is very high to ensure all department goals are accomplished for the month.
Inventory Control Analyst (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, CASeptember 7, 2012
Very friendly and professional employees come together for a common goal, to achieve high quality products and standards for customers buying their products.Upper management departments support their employees and communicate at a high level of interest.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Solaris Paper, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.4
Compensation/Benefits
1.9
Job Security/Advancement
1.9
Management
2.1
Culture
2.0

Solaris Paper, Inc. Reviews by Location