Solo Cup Company Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Lake Forest, ILSeptember 8, 2017
Great Place to work for! too bad company moved! They were flexible, easy to work Great training provided before actual job was started. They also had great discounts on there products for employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COAugust 31, 2017
I enjoyed working at SOLO cup mfg.. They paid well and gave me good hours. I would recommend working there. It was too bad they closed down or else I would have stayed working there.
Pros
Good breaks and lunch breaks
Cons
conveyor belts broke
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours fast stressful work
Packer (Former Employee) –  Owings Mills, MDAugust 29, 2017
Long hours packing straws into boxes. Standing the whole time is long when you work a 12 hour shift. the lunch breaks were short. The management was stiff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start off your work career
Stacker/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Owings Mills, MDAugust 12, 2017
If anyone fresh out of High School was looking for immediate work, Solo Cup Company was a very good place to start your work history. Clean & safe work environment.
Pros
You got to meet a lot of new people
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Packer/Shipper (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 9, 2017
I was working at solo cups packing getting the orders ready for shipment.This was a temporary job I was working through paramount staffing.I was a temp.
Pros
No free lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production Inventory
Inventory Auditor (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDAugust 7, 2017
I worked at a steady pace when trucks came in to unload merchandise. Then I would mark all the counted inventory in which that was not difficult at all.
Pros
Working in a warehouse
Cons
extremely far from where i lived
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Prduction Line Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Owings Mills, MDAugust 7, 2017
Solo makes working on a daily basis with employees and managers feel like a family. Most of the people working here have been here for years which shows the amount of dedication and support they get from Solo. It's a great workplace which recognizes efforts and in turn provides rewards for a job well done
Pros
Great
Cons
Great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work except for job security
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GAAugust 1, 2017
Enjoyed working at Solo. Plenty of work to do, wanted to learn more. They have issues keeping people in the office. Not much room for advancement in the office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Northwest Market Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 18, 2017
Northwest Market Manager
• Managed sales in the WA & OR, grew sales from $2M to $5.5M.
• Developed and negotiated Taco Time proprietary cup business - $600K annually.
• Directed sales and marketing programs, sales growth and incentive programs resulting in double-digit growth for distributors, sales managers and assigned territory. Received Top Gun sales. growth award in 2003 and Ace award for highest % growth in 2002.
• Upon Solo Cup – Sweetheart Cup acquisition/merger position eliminated due to reduction in sales force.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but had it's flaws
Packer (Former Employee) –  Thomaston, GAJuly 11, 2017
I loved the job far as the work but the supervisor was very rude and looked down on fellow employees who were under him. He showed favoritism to certain employees and tried to over work me to make me quit because of my disability I have.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I stacked boxes by labels
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 28, 2017
The breaks were not that bad but it was a nice paced job i loved it there i wish i never had to leave .but i only left because of school i had to leave the city
Pros
Good work envirment
Cons
System bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed this job but the labor was a little intense for me
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Urbana, ILJune 27, 2017
This was a good job for the right person. I was not a fan of the 12 hour shifts and extreme heat in the factory, though. I liked the pay and the benefits package here.
Pros
The pay was good and the management was productive
Cons
The heat in the factory, the long 12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GAJune 16, 2017
I enjoyed working for Solocup in was a nice place to work, I spent most of my career at this company, the salary should have be more competitive. I would still be with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work
Payroll Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Lake Forest, ILJune 14, 2017
payroll was a very busy department i enjoyed all the employees and interacting with. Employees where very positive and we where all like family at SOLO.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ill love to work there
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  dallas txJune 12, 2017
i love the people i love the job i loved the hours close to home have a store inside light work good for temps a nice starter job u will love the work place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very hot place to work
Packer/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 8, 2017
This place was hot and messy with all the wax that went on the cups we packed. Learned how to work on machine . Management kept to the supervisors and not the rest of the employees. They had too many clicks in that work place. The heat was the hardest part of the job.
Pros
they did give away cups to employees
Cons
hot and messy place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, job is not to hard to learn it
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Twin Falls, IDJune 8, 2017
Good place to work, not to hard to learn to run those machines. people are friendly and you don't need to have any computer skills to working on the floor as machine operator.
Pros
Nice break room, clean and fresh
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant Tooling Inspector Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Highland Park, ILMay 30, 2017
Very fast paced yet given the feeling of a productive environment. Great team work which allowed for taking on various responsibilities. Enjoyed my days post when taking position of acting Team Leader.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Did not advance as quickly as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overworked deepening on the shift
Warehouse Worker/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Federalsburg, MDMay 26, 2017
I worked the second shift and we had to pick up the slack from the much older first shift who were usually sitting on the forklifts talking when we showed up for work. We had to kill ourselves to meet the quota for the night while the other 2 shifts barely did any work.
Pros
paid lunch
Cons
to many responsibilities for little pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an okay work experience
Packer (Former Employee) –  Ada, OKMay 3, 2017
I enjoyed my job, and the people I worked for treated me well. The environment could be made a little safer, but besides that everything else was okay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Solo Cup Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 220 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4