Find companies:
Solstice Sunglass Boutique
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Solstice Sunglass Boutique Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great position in sales, always felt great to make the customer's day.
Key Holder (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMay 12, 2014
While at Solstice Sunglass Boutique, I was able to work with each customer on an individual basis. It was great to have the time to take a customer from not knowing what they want, to finding the perfect pair of sunglasses. My manager was great to work with, she was able to coach me to be a better sales person and employee.

The most difficult part – more... of the job was that I did not really have much of an opportunity to grow within the company. I was somewhat stuck in the position I held and I want to progress in my career.

The most enjoyable part was being able to make the customer's day. The best feeling is knowing that people are leaving my store happier than when they walked in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This may not be a good fit.
Key Holder (Former Employee), Santa Barbara, CAMarch 12, 2014
Pros: could be very fun at times.
Cons: no advancment or recognition for sucsess.
I found this work environment difficult. The corporate management was terrible, unresponsive, overly critical, with little to no praise....ever. I worked for the co. two times. I preformed well over my total time, close to $400,000.00 I never received a substantial raise, even with high praise at review. That being said, the Health benefits are fantastic – more... for full time employees. The "on site" management was fantastic in all stores I worked in. The day to day environment could be very fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be great depending on management
Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Orlando, FLDecember 5, 2013
Pros: bonuses, perks, giftcards, contests
Cons: hours based on sales, bad management, small company
This job can be considered easy if you're in the right location - all you have to do is sell sunglasses. However, your entire experience can be altered with management. Make sure you READ the entire handbook just in case one of the managers end up violating one of the clauses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
Key Holder (Current Employee), Paramus, NJAugust 5, 2013
Excellent job while in college, they are very flexible and schedule you according to your school schedule. The best retail company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, amazing co-workers.
Stock Associate (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 31, 2013
A typical day at work would consist of checking if any shipment arrived or needs to be sent out. If not, a walk through of the sales floor to ensure everything is tidy. I learned a lot about shipment, the whole aspect & foundation of how to work a stock position. Co-workers were very friendly, enjoyed them all. The hardest part of the job was probably – more... the number of hours spent standing, almost entire 8 hr shifts. The most enjoyable would have to be the job itself, it was very easy to learn & even easier to apply. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for work experience, not so great life experience.
Keyholder (Former Employee), Chino Hills, CAJuly 21, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: management
Starting out at Solstice was more than I could have asked for. I learned and gained all the skills and experience a key holder at any retail location would need. POS systems, checking/ receiving shipments, learning brand and product knowledge, keeping up with Loss Prevention standards, cash handling and deposits. Management however was the hardest part – more... of my job. It got to the point of harassment on personal levels and my job was no longer worth the 30 to 40 minute commute. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work experience not conducive for advancment
Store Manager (Current Employee), Metairie, LAApril 19, 2013
I've learned to think outside of the box to create innovative ways to drive sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Key Holder (Former Employee), Glendale, CAMarch 12, 2013
i was able to learn allot as well as use my previous management experience and love of fashion at this job ..excelled in sales..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first management job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Buford, GADecember 6, 2012
Pros: benefits, discounts, great team.
After serving tables for 5 years, I decided it was time for a change, and based on my experience, I got hired as assistant manager for Solstice. I'd arrive to work with poise, tact, and with a positive attitude. I'd interact with customers and explain key features and benefits of the product. I'd use my product knowledge to explain these things in order – more... to successfully run the business and sell the product. I also had the task of training the new store manager when she came on board the company. I provided coaching to sales associates on their performance on a daily basis, and provide them with ideas about how to better themselves within the company or to simply give them feedback. I was also in charge of bi-weekly payroll and in charge of handing deposits to the back every morning, while also opening and closing the store by myself. Processing shipments and stock were also a daily task.
Management was awesome. The store manager and I got along great and we made a great team as well as everyone else in the store. It was all about teamwork and working together to get the job done which is what I liked most about the company. The hardest part of the job was product knowledge which naturally took a few weeks to fully learn but with time, and my ability to soak up information quickly, I quickly gained the knowledge through training. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for, benefits for all employees.
Key Holder (Current Employee), Scottsdale, AZAugust 23, 2012
Week days are a little slow during the summer but pick up on the weekends. Typical day would include assisting and suggesting frames for customers. Cleaning frames and keeping the store tidy. Shipment ever couple of days, and minor inventory for opening and closing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very personal with customers.
Key Holder (Current Employee), Dearborn, MIJuly 17, 2012
Pros: 35 minute breaks. 1 store visit a month.
Cons: no benefits for key holders
I love the fact that you can build that customer/associate relationship with different customers. I learned how to become more professional as a manager and how to develop skills to become more alert when it comes to loss prevention. The hardest part of the job would be changing the lights. The ceiling is way too high and you get very nervous on the – more... ladder. The most enjoyable part of the job is the customers that you can talk and have fun with. I love being able to talk to customers and laugh and still be able to do my job at the same time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work! STore can be maintained and ran by only a 1-3 employees per shift
Keyholder (Former Employee), Mercedes, TXJune 5, 2012
Pros: great discount, great compensation (even at new hire status)
Cons: 30 minute lunches, but really not a big deal
Learning about sunglasses was made simple, even for someone who was not familiar with materials, specs and eyewear fashion

Learned how to work with scheduling, take conference calls and coach/train new hires (stood in as acting store manager for my supervisors maternity leave)

My co workers were goal oriented, always did their part and my store manager – more... was an amazing and most importantly understanding supervisor!

Great part of my day was helping someone find a perfect pair of shades, when they had no clue what looked good on them to begin with – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, awesome staff, customer service/framework training is not only helpful, but life changing.
Supervisor (Current Employee), Vacaville, CaMarch 1, 2012
One of the best companies I was fortunate to be a part of. The staff is great and so is the management team. Everyone in the company is very helpful and on hand when it comes to questions others are unable to answer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and interesting work enviroment
Co Manager (Current Employee), Orlando FloridaFebruary 15, 2012
Pros: benefits and bonuses
Cons: growth apportunities
love the one on one interaction customer service base. you build your own clientel. work pace is slow at times but the customer make it worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to learn everyday operations in the retail business
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Clearwater, FloridaJanuary 10, 2012
Pros: great learning experience
Cons: not enough growth opportunities
Overall it was great working for this company as the people I worked with were very nice and cared about the customers needs and wants.