Solvay Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable place to work
Export Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Princeton, NJOctober 11, 2017
Stable place to work. Excellent benefits and competetive salary ranges.
Immediate management lacks a little finess and culture but overall a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is globally focused and industries that are not global are sold.
Process Risk Analysis Leader / PSM Engineer (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LASeptember 29, 2017
Solvay was very fair to their employees and took care of them financially.Their global focus required the elimination of business that did not fit into their global business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee) –  Piedmont, SCSeptember 27, 2017
Everybody work as a team, constant communication by two way radios we were aware of all situations and problems that happen on the line.Safety was always top priority.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Us against them
Industrial Electrician / Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHSeptember 6, 2017
Junior management was extremely jealous of bargaining unit employees. Senior management doesn't care about bargaining unit employees. It's all about cutting operations costs and increasing management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chemical Plant
Chemical Operator (Current Employee) –  Curtis Bay, MDAugust 7, 2017
When I first started the job, it was ran by a different manager, the morale was alot better and there was better team work. For the past year, we've had a new manager who is a bit cut throat imo, influences the supervisors to run things in ways they disagree with, and as result, lowered the morale of the plant. Since he's started, just seems as certain ppl are favorited, and certain ppl are targeted. The job itself isn't hard, pays very well and has great benefits. Only downside, aside from management, is the schedule rotation; you work 11pm-7am, then 3pm-11pm, then 7am-3pm, and it rotates every week, makes it hard to have a steady sleep schedule. With better management, the job overall would be atleast a 4 out of 5 for me.
Pros
Salary, Vacation, Benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They will use and discard you.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 27, 2017
You will have a huge workload and they expect you to work 12 hour days. Once you are burned out, they will discard you. This is not the same Solvay since the integration with Rhodia.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant change leads to opportunity
Site Supply Chain Planner (Former Employee) –  Alpharetta, GAJuly 27, 2017
Constant change leads to opportunities. Every manager that I had I still remain in contact with and will try to continue that throughout my career. Continuous improvement is key.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of diversity
Operator (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, TXJune 8, 2017
Lack of diversity. My location has only one female operator...not women friendly I do not enjoy working at my location. recently the gap between hourly and management has broaden.
Pros
Excellent benefits
Cons
Lack of diversity...
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and benefits, poor employee morale
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJune 4, 2017
Worked here at the Tulsa plant, good pay and benefits but employee morale was very low. HR was pretty much non-existent and the carpet walkers were oblivious to all the ongoing problems out on the floor. The safety coordinator was very unprofessional and most policies she enacted were pointless. Too much favortism, it wasn't about what you knew, but more of who you knew.
Pros
Pay and benefits
Cons
Too much favortism, lousy upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job at Solvay
Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCJune 2, 2017
I felt that I was mentally challenged at Solvay. My only regret was not going there sooner due to company budget cuts. Its a fantastic place to work. They say that I'm up for rehire and I hope that is the case. The pay for the amount of work required in my opinion was excellent. I found swinging shifts to be the most difficult thing this job requires.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best places
Chemical Operator (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCMay 12, 2017
Easy work once you get roiling.
Preparing final product blends, Package finished goods in confirmation to
plant quality standards, Running distillation reactions, Running high
temperature reactions, Shipping and receiving of packaged and bulk
materials, Conduction equipment set up and change overs, Computer
transactions, HAZMAT Technician training, Complete annual training as
outlined in plants' Training Matrix, Uphold and advance HSE policies and
standards, Other various duties associated with chemical manufacturing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Training, high school mentality, HR plays favorites
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Princeton, NJMay 10, 2017
This company is buys other companies.The company has a lot of click type employees that can be rude to new people.HR plays favorites.Training is poor.
Pros
lots of left over food from meetings
Cons
culture is clickish, people can be rude and management is poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Laborer/Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Winona, MNApril 25, 2017
Family oriented, clean, ergonomic/safety conscience. Communication between employees is strong. Production workers work on several different systems.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Union workers vs. office workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very clean Lab
Lab Chemist (Former Employee) –  La Porte, TXApril 22, 2017
I really enjoyed working at solvay chemicals. Lab was pretty clean and well organized documents. I learned lot of new instruments there. Followed proper safety protocols.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay and good equipment 2 work with
Materials Management (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCFebruary 8, 2017
ok job for 30 years....raised 2 kids with this .......loaded and loaded trucks with forklift.........I also have Waste Water Treatment Class B license and would be interested in a waste water job also
Pros
lunches.....pay....could always get help if I needed it
Cons
People I worked with
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great place to work at
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Whittier, CAJanuary 27, 2017
This company isn't a good company to work for. They don't hire anyone, and they don't give us any benefits. We do a lot of hard work with little pay. The management is also horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too big, lack customer care/ focus
Account Executive/ Regional Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  University Park, ILJanuary 11, 2017
Decent products & technology. Lack all customer care & focus. Take full advantage of any and all market situations. Lack supply chain fluidity for the size company they are. Challenging distribution model, disliked by customers and distributors alike
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive always kept busy
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, CADecember 6, 2016
Worked second shift and up to 10 hours (Saturday's were optional).
Worked with many types of different materials.
You either work alone, with a partner, or in a group of six.
Pros
We got three breaks, over time was offered.
Cons
The first and last break were short.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place with good benefits
Chemical Operator (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCNovember 24, 2016
This was a job was a good paying job with good benefits and good people to work for and be around. This job required long hours and sometimes undesirable working conditions.
Pros
Good pay, good benefits
Cons
Long hours, undesirable working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More tasks to do than time to get it done
MTL TECHNICAL LEAD (Current Employee) –  Anaheim, CANovember 19, 2016
Six sigma lean training and Green belt training, CPR, work out light training, conflict resolution training.

Quick meeting to discuss the day, failures, safety, action items, ...

Contact engineers, update a technical document, follow up with a vendor on an order,...
Pros
Good Benefits, job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Solvay. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 162 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7