Somerset Community College Employee Reviews

Showing all 21 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easily my favorite job that I've ever had
THEATRE/DEAN ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Somerset, KYMay 9, 2017
I worked in the Theatre department and it was just one big family. I loved coming into work everyday because the atmosphere was so genuine, caring and fun! I learned so much from my supervisor about the workplace and about life in general. The hardest part of the job was selling production tickets because a lot of our patrons were elderly and hard of hearing. The most enjoyable part was literally everything else. I learned how to sew, how to transfer on multi-line telephones and how to have fun at work.
Pros
Work on school work during down time and access to the prop room!
Cons
It was a part-time student position so naturally the pay wasn't huge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Custodian/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  McCreary County, KYJanuary 20, 2017
Cleaned bathrooms, as well as Park and recreation areas, performed any light duty maintenance, trained new employees, cleaned and sanitized outdoor equipment and indoor equipment daily.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professor Penniless
Math Instructor (Former Employee) –  Somerset, KYNovember 5, 2015
I went to school for years and years to earn a Master's degree, and I was so excited to be teaching college! Then enrollment plummeted. So I ended up earning $11,000 a year until I was broke.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study, Maintained Facility
Work Study Student (Former Employee) –  London, KySeptember 19, 2015
It was a good job I had during college that helped me work around my busy class schedule. I also learned a lot of administrative properties while I was there, and learned a lot of new skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive place to work
Assistant/Receptionist (Current Employee) –  London kyMay 31, 2015
I loved my fellow coworkers, very nice environment. a typical day at work consist of making copies for instructors, answering phones and filing papers, I loved being able to help others with anything they needed.,
Pros
close to town
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Studio is very small and can accomidate 15 students.
Associate Professor of Art (Current Employee) –  Somerset KYMay 18, 2015
Small Community College located in a rural area. Good benefits, am a tenured faculty. Job culture is very conservative. The art community is quite provincial.
Pros
Autonimy
Cons
Small, provential art community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  London, KYMay 16, 2015
I really enjoyed working at somerset community, It was an easy goung job a with very nice employees. The work wasnt very hard or stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Provide Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Somerset, KYSeptember 15, 2014
My typical day began with creating report. I often arrived early to complete these reports which allowed me ample opportunity to assist students without the pressure of completing daily task. I also had the pleasure of performing the task of Testing Assistant. I developed my office skills at Somerset Community College which I continue to improve daily. The opportunity to work with some great people and help others was the greatest part of the position.
Pros
Learning environment and great people
Cons
Job Security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alton Blakley Honda
Mentor First Year Advising Center (Former Employee) –  Somerset, KYAugust 2, 2014
The Sales Manager seemed to favor other Sales Reps. He did not demonstrate good management skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of work, but a learning experience.
Federal Work Study Student (Former Employee) –  Liberty, KYFebruary 27, 2014
McDonald's was a typical fast food experience. You learn to accept people for how they are and how to work with others, and how to handle customer care/ support.

ACS was data entry with their own systms and their own work eithic ideas. The work was not hard, but there was more to it than just keying information. The hours could be long one week and normal the next day.
Pros
learning people
Cons
none really
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectful Enviroment
Part Time Adjunct/English Department (Former Employee) –  Whitley City, KYFebruary 26, 2014
Taught night classes part imte in the English department & scored portfolios at the Somerset Campus for advancement into English 101.
Pros
2 days per week
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Workforce Solutions Assistant (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Somerset, KYJanuary 30, 2014
Not only is this a great place to work, but the people I work with are amazing as well!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed instructing all students
instructor developmental reading and writing (Former Employee) –  London, KYJanuary 18, 2014
teaching these students was both rewarding and satisfying
Pros
pleasant working conditions
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
Maintenance Worker (Current Employee) –  Somerset, KYOctober 20, 2013
fun place to work with great oppertunity to meet new people. Plus they allow you to work and go to school which is a plus
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational, as well as rewarding
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Somerset, KYJuly 26, 2013
Educational as well as motivating me to further my educational needs.
Pros
on campus library
Cons
not enough hours in the day to help every one
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Department was a family not a job
IT Assistant (Former Employee) –  Somerset, KYJune 26, 2013
SCC had an amazing IT staff who made me feel welcome and open to any questions I might have had. I learned something new daily during my time with SCC.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive place to work at
Secretary Assistant (Former Employee) –  Somerset, KYJune 19, 2013
Most enjoyable part of the job was relating with the students.
Pros
all access to the college and good pay
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Professor (Current Employee) –  Somerset, KYJune 9, 2013
It is one of the Great Places to Work in Kentucky. Everyone is geared to student needs and values educating the people of this area and understands the goal is to mhelp students become productive member of society.
Pros
great leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Learning Consultant (Current Employee) –  Somerset, KYMarch 4, 2013
The position I have with SCC allows me to balance my work, school and home life.
Cons
drive to work is nearly 1 hour.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Admissions Frontline (Former Employee) –  Somerset, KYJuly 2, 2012
This company used to be amazing to work for however upper management has RUINED this place.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Somerset Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3

Somerset Community College Reviews by Location