Somerset Hospital Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Monitor Technician (Former Employee) –  Somerset, PASeptember 25, 2017
It was a good job. I was able to cross train in different areas. I also had the opportunity to get a raise. The pay was good. I liked my supervisor and my coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Monitor Technician (Former Employee) –  Somerset, PAAugust 13, 2017
I enjoyed my time at somerset community hospital. The coworkers are the best I have ever worked with. It is a good place to be. Smerset hospital has its problems but all facilities do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Benefits
ER Registrar (Current Employee) –  Somerset, PAJuly 9, 2017
The hospital offers nice benefits as far as services provided at low or no cost to employees and family who participate in the employer sponsored health plans.
Pros
All the overtime you want.
Cons
Staffing is an issue.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to work.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Somerset, PAFebruary 9, 2017
As a team member on the telemetry floor (3A) is was hard work.
I was in charge of 5-6 assessments and charting them. The LPN would pass the PO meds and I would give IVP and antibotic meds. My supervisor was great. She was kind but when needed guidence
she was there. Again I did like working with my patients and helping
with their care.
Pros
A room to eat, friendly co-workers, and supervisor.
Cons
No Christmas bonus.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor medical facility
Registrar (Former Employee) –  Somerset, PAAugust 22, 2016
I worked in the ER. It was terrible. Staff made fun of patients. One patient had chest pain and diarrhea. The nurse was very unprofessional when emptying the bedpan. Registrars would talk about patients who repeatedly came to ER. Nurses slept on nightshift. Staff consistently used cell phones for personal use. No lunch breaks were given. Management had no control of staff. After working here I will choose another ER for my personal use.
Pros
Cannot think of any
Cons
Unprofessional staff and no lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work is hard and fast paced sometimes but very rewarding
LPN Detox Nurse (Current Employee) –  Somerset, PANovember 15, 2014
My work day is fast paced. We have so much to do in a very short time. I learned how to manage my time better and how to communicate with addicts. Management does the best they can for the workers. Co-workers are pleasant and caring. The hardest part of the job is reading the Doctors writing. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the patients.
Pros
free lunch, nice work environment, rewarding
Cons
no time for lunch or breaks, the pay is not comparable to other jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere, poor management
Previous employee (Former Employee) –  Somerset,PAAugust 18, 2014
wonderful employees , friendly atmosphere , good physicians. Management is poor. People are not rewarded for their efforts, people are placed in positions due to who they are, and who they know .
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could have been more hours offered
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Somerset, PAJanuary 18, 2014
They were flexible and easy to work for. I like working with people so this would definitely be the place for that!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace in turning over rooms fr next patient
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  PAOctober 10, 2013
Being always on the go throughout the hospital.
To make sure a room is sterile and free from communable deseases.
Out going and quick to solve a challenge.
Team work and very sociable.
Having the beeper and being called for something else when you could be in the OR preparing the room for next surgery.
Being heard and understood when a problem rose.Feeling that we, all staff are equel and not singled out in rank.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Sometimes being short staffed when there are 6 floors you are responsible for
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice community base hospital.
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee) –  Somerset, PAOctober 7, 2013
The small hospital setting gave patients the feeling of intimacy working toward recovery.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laboratory setting
Third shift laboratory supervisory duties (Former Employee) –  Somerset, PASeptember 4, 2013
• Inpatient / Outpatient phlebotomy
• Specimen processing and test performance
• Third shift laboratory supervisory duties
• Maintenance, quality control, and troubleshooting
• Utilizing computer skills to report test results
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In the many years I worked for Somerset Hospital, the independent contracted transcriptionist were only ever given one raise in compensation.
MEDICAL TRANSCRIPTIONIST (Former Employee) –  Somerset, PAMarch 10, 2013
Management really needs to have more control over the whole independent contractor medical transcription program, i.e. equally sharing the work load and level of difficulty of physicians.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
patient (Former Employee) –  somerset, paSeptember 14, 2012
excellent doctors. Take care of patients. Had lots of information.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somerset Hospital
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJAugust 30, 2012
Nice atmosphere, and nice nurses and doctors willing to help the patients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My position worked well for me as far as flexibility. However, being an independent contractor, there was never any guarantee of available work.
At home office. (Former Employee) –  Medical TranscriptionistNovember 10, 2011
I enjoyed the flexibility of my position of medical transcriptionist with Somerset Hospital. However, since there was no guarantee of available work as an independent contractor, and since I was paid only for completed transcription, I never felt secure with my income.
Pros
flexibility in working hours.
Cons
lack of consistent income.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report

See more Somerset Hospital reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Somerset Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 18 reviews
53
47
33
24
11

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.5Culture

Somerset Hospital Reviews by Location