Find companies:
Somerset Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
47 reviews

Somerset Medical Center Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping patients and doctors to make a difference in someones health/life. Words can not explain.
Radiology Office clerk (Former Employee), Somerville, NJJune 10, 2013
Pros: a world wide range of education.
Cons: n/a
Somerset is a great place to work. it stands up to its values.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Emergency Room Technician (Former Employee), Somerville, NJMay 30, 2013
Pros: caring company
Cons: long hours sometimes
Management is fair, my co-workers were true team players. My job was ok, I just could not deal with people dying.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained valuable experience
Staff Technician (Former Employee), Somerville, NJFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: management doesn't keep you informed of the changes the hospital is going through
The ongoing difficulties with merging departments and cutting staff to help the hospital save money left you with uneasy feeling that no one is safe. The atmoshere has changed and you realize that no matter how hard you work and the sacrifices you make are enough to save your job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NEVER GOING BAD
sales executive (Former Employee), nyFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: left early
Cons: long wait
WORST EXPERIENCE EVER HAD. NASTIEST DOCTORS EVER.HATED IT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management heavy
Registered nurse (Former Employee), Somerville, NJJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: 6 week vacation
Cons: not enough time to complete job
When I started in 1873 through the 50's possibly the 90's it felt like family , afterward it was management generated
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Porter (Former Employee), Somerset, NJDecember 23, 2012
Boss are friendly co-workers friendly all the food you can eat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everybody is friendly
Student Radiologic Technologist (Former Employee), Somerville, NJNovember 8, 2012
Pros: patient care
Cons: no jobs available yet
Each day I looked forward to going to Somerset Medical Center. The working conditions and coworkers are excellent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very faced paced medical surgical floor
Nurses' Unit Coordinator (Former Employee), Somerville, NJNovember 8, 2012
enjoyed my head nurse, helped me to learn how to be very organized
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thriving community hospital
EVS Supervisor (Former Employee), Somerville, NJNovember 3, 2012
Still struggling to find the balance in today's fast changing health care field. Somerset is devoted to a culture of patient care, but is still striving to find balance between cost savings and service excellence. Many initiatives and ideas are in process to bring improvement in patient care, but unfortunately the most crucial departments have not yet embraced the change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love working with people, im fun to be with people, especially i love to help people in needs
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Somerville, NJOctober 25, 2012
Pros: free health insurance when you became full time
Cons: short breaks
working at somerset medical center are very comfortable, all employees and employer are warm,very nice and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Radiographer (Former Employee), Somerville njOctober 17, 2012
Pros: can't think of one
Cons: too many to list
The worst place I ever worked. The nurses in the E.R. and especially the O.R. were the nastiest ones I have ever worked with .Everything is rush, rush ,rush with no concern about patient care or safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close knit staff work ethics
Critical Care RN (Former Employee), Somerville, NJSeptember 21, 2012
Pros: great benefits and paid
Cons: extremely great expectations from management.
Cared for 2-3 critically ill patients with great coworkers support and assistants. Learn to manage emergencies effectively and timely. Severely ill patient population. Staff would work closey and in a caring manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I honestly disagree...
Nurses assistant (Former Employee), NjSeptember 3, 2012
Pros: good group of people
Cons: just about everything else
I worked at SMC and I'd have to say I disagree w/ all the other reviews. If you talk to anyone that works there 80% are not happy. This is one of those hospitals where theres to many chiefs and not enough Indians. The higher ups like to make there own policies and do not follow the ones that are in place. Patient ratios for nurses assistants as well as RN's can be atrocious on the floors it's just not a good work environment. Go ahead and ask one of the nurses about the magnet status. They'll laugh... Because well... It's laughable... Oh... And they pay the lowest I've seen anywhere in NJ! I met alot of good people there and thats all that I got out of my employment there, alot of awsome friends. I wouldn't work here again if it was the last hospital standing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Release of Information Specialist (Former Employee), Somerville NJAugust 29, 2012
Pros: flexable with work hours if needed. no weekends
Cons: non
Starte with opening mail and identifying what needed to be done with each peice of mail. Answered phones handled on the spot medical records request. Trained all new employees for the Release of Information Area. Co Workers were very pleasant to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
DPT II Clinical Internship (Former Employee), Somerville, NJAugust 18, 2012
Great hospital, good staff (doctors/nurses and rehab). Magnet hospital for nurses, so they are well trained and great at their jobs. This is the kind of hospital I would bring a family member to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Somerville, NJAugust 7, 2012
Pros: great people
Cons: not cons, but typical challenges of working in health care environment
Great group of people, fast-paced, challenging, large volume of patient interactions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work with
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Somerville, NJJuly 28, 2012
Nice environment with good co-workers.Met alot of guys from all over the world with different cultures and stuffs like that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship
Internship- Cardiology and EKG Technician (Former Employee), Somerville, NJJuly 20, 2012
Pros: very understanding people
Internship in the Cardiology department. Awesome people, understanding and patient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient Care Tech
Patient Care Tech (Current Employee), Somerville, NJJuly 9, 2012
A day at work is clocking in preparing my day to help the needs for patients, assisting nurses and Dr.'s. Taking patients to their test and assisting them with physical therpy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Registered Vascular Technologist (Former Employee), Somerville, NJJune 4, 2012
Quality health care served with compassion.

Co-workers very knowledgeable.

Enjoyed meeting with and talking to patients, and making them feel at ease.

Somerset Medical Center Salaries

Patient Care Technician
$20,000 per year