Somerset Medical Center Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working the floors in the hospital
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Somerville, NJNovember 14, 2014
Being at Somerset Medical Center for the years I was there, I may not have known everyone's name but I certainly knew everyone's face and it was a pleasure working there
Pros
supervisors, patients and hospital employees along with great benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to work, people are accomodating, staffs are very helpful
Clinical Care Tech (Former Employee) –  Somerville, NJJuly 16, 2014
Nice place to work, Staff were good, they take good care the patients needs.
Pros
Good place.
Cons
People are great to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging enviornment to work in.
ICU/CCU Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Somerville, NJJuly 2, 2014
I have worked in the critical care pavillion, rotating between ICU/CCU and IMCU units. This rotation allows for constant versatility and challenges. As noted on my resume, I have assumed the position of preceptor, charge nurse, and chairman of the critical care unit council committee.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very lenient, fun work place.. Family oriented
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Somerset, NJJune 15, 2014
Loved working at smc. I was a patient care tech there for four years. Everyone was nice. A lot if lazy nurses but everyone was nice.
Pros
Fun environment, lenient management
Cons
Lazy nurses, sometimes un organized
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start off
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Somerville, NJJune 7, 2014
- see lots of interesting cases
- good workflow dynamics with coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice organization
Employee (Current Employee) –  Care ManagementMay 26, 2014
Director level management is not consistent nor supports lower management in day to day operations. Care Management, I would not recommend until a knowledgeable individual with clinical expertise at the director level is operating at the Director's level. The staff there is horrible and borderline a discrimatory behavior towards certain individuals.
Cons
The staff in Care Management is horrible. Borderlines discrimatory behaviors to certain individuals
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many managers
Food Service Worker/ grill cook (Former Employee) –  Somerville, NJMarch 19, 2014
Worked there for a little over 18 months, in that time I've had 4 different managers! They all have they favorites.. Get in good with managers you are guaranteed to get hours if you don't then you're out of luck!
Pros
Easy to get to
Cons
Short breaks bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to learn new things
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Somerset, NJJanuary 20, 2014
I learned many different things while working on a Med/Surg unit in the hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hospial To Work At! Their suggestion to me to go to Medical Assistant School was very very motivating.
Housekeeping ER (Former Employee) –  Somerville, NJJanuary 2, 2014
Worked a daily shift of 5:30am to 3:00pm, every other weekend. By watching the nurese and doctors,I was inspired to enter the medical field. The management and my co-workers were wonderful. Very helpful and cooperative.
Pros
Great benifits! and very helpful when I asked alot of medical questions. Totally inspired me.
Cons
Some times ran very low on cleaning supplies
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, not my field
Telecommunication Operator (Former Employee) –  Somerville, NJDecember 29, 2013
This was a good job to have during my time in school. I had this job since I was in undergraduate, and I kept it until I graduated from my law school. I am looking for something in my field now, but this job gave me amazing communication skills, and the ability to speak to professionals such as doctors and nurses.
Pros
Customer service skills, communication skills
Cons
Not my field
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good work place where chances to grow your career are high
Medical Technologist (Current Employee) –  Somerville, NJDecember 17, 2013
Somerset Medical Center is a very good Hospital and a very good place to work.I enjoy team work here and continuous feed back from seniors and supervisors that help to perform our duties without errors.Its a good place where we learn something on daily basis.I really feel thet here we have excellent opportuinties to advace your education and creer too.
Pros
Free lunches for Employee recognition in certain events like blood drive
Cons
No Benefits because am Per Diem Employee
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working place!
Ultrasound Technologist (Current Employee) –  Somerville, NJNovember 7, 2013
Performing general ultrasound .Assisting radiologist in procedures.
Reviewing cases with radiologist.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee) –  Somerville, NJOctober 28, 2013
Friendly co workers in a fast paced environment. Made learning the job duties easy in an extensive training program. Would recommend this company to fellow job seekers.
Cons
no breaks on my particular floor on 3rd shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nosy Co-Workers - Dyfunctional Department - Communications Operator
Switchboard Operator (Former Employee) –  Somerville, NJOctober 8, 2013
The people were very nosy and intrusive - The communications department is worse than middle school - maybe other departments were wonderful - but working as a switchboard operator was equal to working as a porter - Horrible enviroment
Pros
None
Cons
Co Workers -
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent hospital and team
Speech-Language Pathologist - Per Diem (Current Employee) –  Somerville, NJOctober 6, 2013
Flexible schedule, excellent management and supervision, great medical team approach for patient care, opportunity for educational growth and development
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was a great physician to work for
UNIT SECRETARY (Former Employee) –  Somerville, NJAugust 17, 2013
This office had a wonderful staff. The doctor was one of the best, cared greatly for his patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work, not stability, not safe
Patient Care Technician & CNA (Former Employee) –  Somerville, NJJuly 11, 2013
I worked there for 8 years, in two differents positions, i went to school because I wanted to move forward as a Patient Care Tech,
Well, first it was a nightmare to transfer to a different Department, then because I started full time and had to change to part time because I couldn't take my class, forget it.... Never back to my old shift, I had to accept working nights. For two years.
I just going to put my review to the Director, Managers, that they NOT TREAT GOOD THEIR EMPLOYEES.
Aftet all these years working, and I had to go for a surgery, well guess what? they lay off me, because I didn't back to work the follow two weeks after my operation, full duties, even with a note from my doctor. So, now you have one idea what awaits you.
Try to back to work there? Forget it. NEVER AGAIN.
I think is time to CLEAN that place, because the Management that is now is workless.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Poor Management, not job security, terrible environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping patients and doctors to make a difference in someones health/life. Words can not explain.
Radiology Office clerk (Former Employee) –  Somerville, NJJune 10, 2013
Somerset is a great place to work. it stands up to its values.
Pros
A world wide range of education.
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Emergency Room Technician (Former Employee) –  Somerville, NJMay 30, 2013
Management is fair, my co-workers were true team players. My job was ok, I just could not deal with people dying.
Pros
caring company
Cons
Long hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained valuable experience
Staff Technician (Former Employee) –  Somerville, NJFebruary 26, 2013
The ongoing difficulties with merging departments and cutting staff to help the hospital save money left you with uneasy feeling that no one is safe. The atmoshere has changed and you realize that no matter how hard you work and the sacrifices you make are enough to save your job.
Pros
great co-workers
Cons
management doesn't keep you informed of the changes the hospital is going through
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Somerset Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 65 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.5
Culture
3.9

Somerset Medical Center Reviews by Location