Sonic Drive-In Employee Reviews

Found 7,384 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a pretty good job.
Carhop (Former Employee) –  Russellville, KYAugust 13, 2017
loved working there , was really close with all of the employees, the manager was an excellent woman. It was perfect type paced job for me.I was really sad to leave there.
Pros
tips
Cons
messy job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Car Hop/Drive Thru (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 13, 2017
Sonic drive in was my first job.
It was how I learned to proactive and independent.
It taught me the values of working on my own and learning how to provide for myself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, fast paced
Part time (Former Employee) –  Pueblo, COAugust 13, 2017
Fast paced place to work, gotta be on you're feet all day. People are really nice there's a lot to do. Pretty good for experienced people. Is a good place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work for quick money.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXAugust 13, 2017
It was a good place to work as a teenager but you wouldn't want to stay there longer than 2 years without attempting to move into higher management or a partner position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A total hit or miss work day.
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  White House, TNAugust 13, 2017
Every day was either a fun collaboration of team effort, or favoritism, drama, and the constant picking up of others slack. Not a bad job for teens who are looking for something temporary, or working while in school.
Pros
Free meal every day, smoke breaks, laid back atmosphere
Cons
Relentless peak hours, very hot work space, constant drama
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick-paced, balanced workflow
Cook/Server (Former Employee) –  Foley, ALAugust 13, 2017
I worked as a cook and often a carhop whenever I was needed while I worked at Sonic. Not easy, but not a bad place to work either. I was only working there for the summer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need to be a better place
Swamp Cook (Former Employee) –  Poulsbo, WAAugust 13, 2017
Sonic was a terrible work place. they did pay very well the mangers first response to everything was yelling. The first few weeks i couldn't get my pay check until i threatened to report them.
Pros
none
Cons
all
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Car Hop/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, TXAugust 12, 2017
The reasoning behind my low ratings for this job is because I didn't enjoy working fast food at all. The job wasn't for me and i didn't feel as though the management was organized at all. There were a lot of things going on at the job that shouldn't be allowed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work, management is HORRIBLE
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Clovis, NMAugust 12, 2017
Sonic was a good job, the customers were great, half of the co-workers were great. The management is really horrible, they treat their employees like trash, with no respect and will slander you to your peers. Also you get 50% off on food you purchase while on shift!
Pros
Half priced food. awesome customers
Cons
Horrible management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rough experience
Associate Manager (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COAugust 12, 2017
I worked there for 3 years and was promoted twice but the market I was in just wasn't in a good spot so I don't think my experience is very accurate. Hardest part of the job would be happy hour or any seriously busy times. Most enjoyable would be you work with some kick butt people.
Pros
Long breaks, free food
Cons
Management, stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Eden, TXAugust 12, 2017
For a fast food place it does get pretty steady especially on the weekends. If your a carhop the tips can be pretty awesome. Sometimes I miss it but I'm glad I've moved on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNAugust 12, 2017
Good place for social interactions. Its a good environment to work in. Management is well. However the place I worked at people were belittled and taken advantage of
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced & service oriented company
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Clear Lake City, TXAugust 12, 2017
Overall company strives for better & faster customer service all the time, choice of store managers is questionable at best, focused on cleanliness & food quality
Pros
1 free meal per shift for management
Cons
store managers focus more on personal lives than professional duties
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About what you would expect for a fast food job.
Carhop/Crew Leader (Current Employee) –  Cypress, TXAugust 12, 2017
Not at all worth it unless you're working temporarily as a carhop at a high volume store with strong coworkers. Or if you're a highly capable individual interested in moving into upper management.
Pros
Good tips as a carhop under the right conditions.
Cons
Very stressful. Underpaid and overworked in any position other than carhop.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but worth it
Car-Hop, promoted to Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Natchitoches, LAAugust 12, 2017
Extremely high paced, stressful job but a great place for a young individual to gain valuable work experience. Good way to sharpen social skills and interacting with total strangers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Carhop (Former Employee) –  Brenham, TXAugust 12, 2017
This job was my first job but I kept it all through high school I enjoyed so much about it. I dont know were to begin the owner if overall great and the environment is great also.
Pros
free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I hoped for
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Meridian, IDAugust 12, 2017
The people I worked with were OK but management was ever revolving and very pigheaded. I did not see any advancement opportunity for myself there and always struggled to make things run more efficiently but couldn't with the managers
Pros
Close to my house
Cons
Long shifts, little compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and flexible work hours.
FOUNTAIN/SWITCH-BOARD (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMAugust 12, 2017
Sonic was a great experience for me as a student the work place was high speed and helped me work out time management skills, as well as communication and problem solving skills. It was a good learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun lively place to work
Carhop, Drive thru worker (Former Employee) –  Lowell, ARAugust 12, 2017
The staff and management were very hardworking individuals. Mostly everyone played their team part to reach our goals, and everything functioned in a very harmonious and organized order.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun co workers
Somebody (Former Employee) –  Demopolis, ALAugust 11, 2017
Lazy management. You can work your butt off every week and it goes unnoticed and unappreciated. The pay and benefits (if any) are NOT worth the stress
Pros
Smoke breaks
Cons
No benefits not good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sonic Drive-In. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 7,397 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

74%
2,834 ratings
Add your rating