Find companies:
Sonic Drive-In
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,253 reviews

Sonic Drive-In Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
afun place to work
Cook/Server (Former Employee), Cameron, TXSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: not enough carhops
Cons: no health benefits
my day begin by getting ready to cook my mangers and co-workers would always be there to support m and get me started i enjoyed working at the meeting new people every
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
Carhop (Current Employee), Dothan, ALSeptember 18, 2014
This was my first job. I enjoyed it working and obtaining a tan at the same time! *Seasonal job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable fast pace job.
cashier (Former Employee), Fayetteville, NCSeptember 18, 2014
I took food drinks and desserts to customers, Eventually I learned how to take orders and make drinks, slushes, and ice cream. management wasn't to fun they were more of strict company. My co-workers were fun. the hardest part about the job was trying to get all the food out when there is only two carhops. I really enjoyed the fast pace because when – more... it got fast there was more communication so a bond was formed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun,Fast and Friendly service
Team Member (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: free drinks and slushed and the employee discounts and getting to listen to your music
Cons: barley any breaks and no healthcare
I will never ever work for this place again! I hated it! Asst. Managers don't even get paid nine dollars if you start off you are only getting around seven dollars They cut car hops pay to 3.15 because "OH THEY MAKE TIPS TO MAKE UP THERE MIN. wage!" NOT TRUE!! mostly in the winter time is that not true!! THE GMS never know what to do at there job yet – more... they are getting paid double what the asst. manager is getting paid, but make the asst. managers do the jobs they are suppose to be doing! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, but not to move up.
Carhop (Former Employee), O'Fallon, MOSeptember 17, 2014
Working at Sonic i had many good times. Lot of fun getting to know your workers. But on the flip side the management at the store was not the best, always off task and always late to make our time sheets. There was also so many people getting hired with no experience to become a manager. I always wondered why they wouldn't take a carhop and train them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work enviroment but unstable hours
Fry Cook (Current Employee), Fort Smith, ARSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: half off discount on one meal daily
Cons: multiple breaks and short hours
Sonic is a decent place to work at, the co-workers are great and
keep the atmosphere lively and as stress free as possible.
I've learned a lot from the managers. A typical day at work consists of keeping orders from going late by working quickly and also keeping check on stock to ensure that we don't run out of a particular item in case it happens to – more... be ordered. and keeping the work space clean and sanitary to ensure the safety of customers.

The hardest part of the job is most definitely the stress of sometimes being left alone in the kitchen whenever multiple customers pull in and order large orders. however the most enjoyable area of the job is just getting to work with great managers and co-workers.

Overall our managers are very well at their jobs and try their hardest
to keep everyone on top of the ball so late tickets will stay down. and also attempt to keep morale up so that everyone can work to thier fullest capability daily. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive place. Employees are great most the time. Everyone is very friendly.
Crew Leader (Current Employee), San Angelo, TXSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: meet knew people everyday. everybody's friendly. get to try knew things first.
Cons: no breaks. low pay for how hard you work and how much you work.
At work we are always doing specials and have happy hour everyday, so we are always preparing for when we get slammed with drink orders or food orders. Always stocking things making sure we are ready to go. It's a non-stop job where people are always coming, so it may slow down but people will still be coming. The management is pretty good for the most – more... part but there's some times some don't do to well. All the employees are friendly and easy to work with which makes the job more tolerable. Only reason I work there still is because how close we all are there and how flexible they are with the schedules. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A high paced work inviroment with alot of ups and downs.
Head Night Shift Carhop (Former Employee), Ruidoso, NMSeptember 16, 2014
Some of my duties consisted of opening, doing the prep work for the day stalking and just getting everything together for the day to be smooth and efficient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cook (Current Employee), Tupelo, MSSeptember 16, 2014
awesome for a first job the people are good people and the work isnt too stressful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work at.
Car Hop (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 16, 2014
My typical day consisted of taking orders and delivering food to customers. I did not learn too much other than making food and drinks and being able to work with a good manager and co-workers made the experience better. The hardest part of the job would be to work under pressure because sometimes i would get orders wrong and may not get the order out – more... in time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somewhere I'd be glad to always work.
Cook/Cashier (Current Employee), Rockwell, NCSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: great management/co-workers.
Cons: no free lunches
Even if I've had a bad day before I walk into work, once I've clocked in for the day, all of that goes away. That's the kind of positive environment it most always is at Sonic. I've learned so much in the almost 5 months I've worked here. My customer service skills have definitely improved past what I could have dreamed. We have an amazing management – more... team and my co-workers are all like family to me. The hardest part of the job, is honestly just how slow we can get at times. My favorite part is how there;s always something to do and keep you busy all day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough pay for expected work.
Crew Member (Former Employee), Monroe, NCSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, good environment
Cons: pay .
I honestly did like working here. Only downside is pay just wont cut it , even with extra hours. Work:Pay ratio just doesnt add up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Stockton, CASeptember 15, 2014
sonic will have a very fun work place, but as you learn more in the store you will be give almost no time to talk. sonic is one of the hardest places to work in the summer. you will see over thousand customer come through the store a day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work at
Cook (Former Employee), El Paso, TXSeptember 15, 2014
My job consisted of cooking, preparing order on time and provide customers with quality food. Being a cook is one of the things I like to do too. Working with other people while being under pressure sometimes can be frustrating, but that's how sometimes work is, I don't mind working under pressure, Actually challenge jobs are what I like. Hardest part – more... of job was when closing restaurant, all equipment nice and clean. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Head Cook / Assistant Shift Manager (Former Employee), Park City, KSSeptember 15, 2014
walmart is a great place to work. i did overnights which is hard to get your body use to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paste
Manager (Former Employee), Saint Charles, MOSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: human to human interaction, the enviornment, managers got free food.
Cons: long hours, no breaks and short staffed
My typical work day was I went in at 5:30am to begin prep for the store, bacon, onion rings and anything else that need to start the day. The most important lesson learned was never trust anyone but management with you're money, DO NOT let others take out your orders, if that happens make sure you keep track of the money they collected otherwise you – more... will come up short and have to pay out of your own money. For myself the hardest part of the job was always being short handed because labor was so high, we weren't bringing in as much money as we should of to balance out labor. What I enjoyed most about the job was getting to enjoy talking to a lot of different people. We had customers that came everyday(regulars). Just getting to meet people and making conversation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Skating Crew Leader
Skating Crew Leader (Former Employee), Kingfisher OklahomaSeptember 14, 2014
A good first job, liked to skate. Learned dependability and how to work in a fast paced environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job
Car Hop (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: 50% off food
Cons: worked with untrustworthy people
I was fourteen when I first started working at Sonic as a car hop. I'm glad I worked there for one reason: it gave me experience with working under hectic and stressful situations. While there I worked with untrustworthy individuals, I was harassed , and was talked down to by those I worked with. I took some time off during the end of my senior year – more... of high school to focus on my studies. When I called after graduation to say I could work again I was never scheduled or called in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy way to make it but not a good working environment.
Carhop (Former Employee), Vinita, OKSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: half off food, free drinks and the tips.
Cons: very short breaks, horrid management, broken ac most of the time.
I would like to say a there is no such thing as a typical day at Sonic, everyday is different. So if you have your head on straight you should go in knowing that something outrageous is usually going to happen. While employed at Sonic I quickly grown to know how to count change for large amounts of money. I also learned that I am really good at keeping – more... calm despite being yelled/ gripped at by customers. So I would like to think that I learned how to have great customer service.
The management was not management at all. Half of the managers who got the roll as managers only got it because they either played the racist role or some how managed to get a previous manager fired so they could take their place. So as far as management goes, in Sonic that mean you just get higher pay and to scream at everyone. To be honest if I was a manger there I would probably turn the place around in a week.
The hardest part of the job was doing everything then some and not getting told you are doing a good job. That and happy hour. I got moved from nights to days because I was really fast and good at my job and they needed my help.Usually there were around 20+ late orders. I got them out as fast as possible with also helping bag food, make drinks and telling the cooks what they where missing in the order.
The most enjoyable part of the job is when I got really great customers who liked to talk, actually treat me like a human and told me I was the best carhop they have had and they would like me to be there carhop again next time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carhop, cooking, ran all sides except management in this company.
Carhop & Cook. Duties I (Former Employee), Lone Jack, MOSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: it was close to home and this was when gas prices started going up
Cons: worked for a manager who also had her daughter and friends working under her.
I would typically start out cooking then switch to carhopping. I learned a lot about cooking I hadn't experienced in the fast food industry before. Management in this company had their favorites considering her daughter and all her friends worked for the company so it made it hard to work for the company. Once again the most enjoyable part was the customers.

About Sonic Drive-In

Sonic Corp. (Sonic) operates and franchises a chain of drive-in restaurants (Sonic Drive-Ins) in the United States. As of August – Read more