Sonoco Plastics Employee Reviews in United States

Found 18 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Company with a lot of upside, needs better people skills
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Hazelwood, MOApril 9, 2016
Overall I think Sonoco Plastics is a fantastic company to work for, the values of treating the employee's equally and fairly are very important. Safety are our number one objective and a lot of focus on safety. In general I think the current plant I work in has a lot of change to accept, ownership in employee's views and a solid plan to boost moral.
Pros
Safety cares for the employee's
Cons
Embracing Change
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome job
PACKER/MATERIAL HANDLER (Former Employee) –  New Albany, OHJanuary 26, 2016
Had a great 3 years there. Felt like family. Long 12 hour days but i knew when i had days off, overtime was offered. Made bath and body works bottles.
New Albany Ohio 43031
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good maintenance crew
Maintanence Mechanic and Tooling Tech (Former Employee) –  Waynesville, NCDecember 17, 2015
enjoyed working in the maintenance department enjoyed the shift work and the 12 hr shifts good safety and good manufactoring practices.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my day at work
/ FORKLIFT DRIVER/SERVICE TECH (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, MOMarch 13, 2015
i would fill barrels of materiel supervis make sure everyone and evry machine was working and running enter act with other supervisors overall good job
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sonoco Plastics
Line Operator (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 6, 2015
Sonoco is a great place to work. A lot of overtime available to employees. However the work is very strenuous. Pay is also good.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was hired through a temp service-job lasted 1 year
Production Scheduler/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hanover, PADecember 11, 2014
Did not have enough work to keep busy all the time,
I did learn a new computer program, Oracle EBS
I love to do data entry work and answer phones.

the hardest part of the job was finding enough work to keep me busy all the time.
Pros
could have time off when needed
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy place to work.
Human Resources Administrator (Former Employee) –  Waynesville, NCOctober 15, 2014
Everyday was different so there was no boredom. I learned a lot in my years there. Little to no advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Hot
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Waynesville, NCJuly 22, 2014
the employees were very friendly, It was a fast working job. I learned line operation skills
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical warehouse
Inspector/ Packer (Former Employee) –  Chillicothe, MOJune 9, 2014
It doesn't matter what you do here, all the jobs are basically the same unless you work maintenance. Everyone pretty much starts out as a packer/ inspector. Operators abuse their breaks and are rarely seen unless something is wrong with the extruders, there's a material change, or they're recording routine paperwork. The job is extremely simple though and it doesn't take any concentration to do the job after a couple of months. Don't expect to get hired on if you go through a temp agency... your best bet is to wait for them to attend a job fair and apply directly to the plant.
Pros
compensation was good for the work performed, simple job tasks
Cons
12 hour standing shifts, hot environment, little to no advancement possible
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
continued work at steady pace. helpful, flexible techniciaans
Material Inspector (Current Employee) –  Union, SCSeptember 19, 2013
Receive assigned work areas, How to work in a timed rotation while maintaining quality and quantity. First shift co-worker easy to get along willing always willing to help. Rotation being able to work different jobs, stops from being bored. Difficult co-workers
Pros
productions slows up, time off
Cons
constant seven day work weeks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
uncaring none promotional place
Shipper (Current Employee) –  Jefferson City, MOAugust 6, 2013
I would not recommend any one to work here they spend more time trying to find what an employ may have done wrong instead of working on things that should be important to the company's benefit example : New Supervisor did not last 2 months because of the fact they spent more time running her down for not writing teammates up for anything Instead of the Improvements that have been made. They do not have good benefits and could care less what's going on, The hard working employs they treat disrespectfully So they lose them and the bad ones they promote ...Confusing!
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement
Shipping/Receiving Clerk (Current Employee) –  Jefferson City, MOJuly 26, 2013
Sonoco isn't a bad place to work, I just feel like they don't show appreciation to hard work and dedication the employees give.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Custom molding for injection plastics
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Chatham, NYMay 12, 2013
An excellant starter company to learn and work in a custom molding enviroment. Products include, filtration, bio med, and food service sector.
Pros
heavy design and fabrication enviroment. skills groups in all major manufacturing concepts.
Cons
weak pay and benifits. chaotic work enviorment.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company.
Quality Assurance Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 28, 2013
Sonoco is a global company with alot of history and stability. It is a great company for someone looking for work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Packer (Current Employee) –  New Albany, OhioMarch 29, 2013
If you're not used to long days this job isn't for you. It is 12 hr days 2 on 2 off. Schedule is written a year in advance, you can have a good idea of when to plan personal events. They push safety and take pride in being a safe environment. Overtime whenever you like just show up and theyll let you have it. Good pay, and easy work, although sometimes boring.
Pros
pay, overtime
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very safe & stable job. Average pay & benefits. Too many hours & too much stress. No time for family.
Process Technician (Current Employee) –  Waynesville, NCJune 13, 2012
Work 8 to 14 hrs 5 to 6 days a week. On call on weekends. No training program for new hires or newly promoted people. Expected to take up slack for lack of personel and lack of training without letting my own job duties slip. Get one 15 to 30 min break per 8 to 14 hr shift which is illegal but if you cause an investigation you get paid then fired the first mistake you make. When off trying to spend time with family they will run your cell phone & pager battery dead daily! Everyone gets the same raise whether you do just enough to keep from getting fired or you are the hardest worker in the company.
Pros
6 miles from home, dependable steady paycheck
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an okay place to work.
Mold Tech 1 (Current Employee) –  Chatham, NYMay 16, 2012
The benefits are fair. They don't value their employees. They are definitely willing to train people to move up although sometimes they do hire from outside the company. I enjoy my coworkers, they're good people. They don't give pay raises based on evaluations, but in comparison to what others in the same position make. This means that people with no drive or a poor work ethic make as much money as those who are ambitious and take pride in their work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

See more Sonoco Plastics reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture