Sonoco Employee Reviews

Found 112 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hated It
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Rural Hall, NCMay 24, 2017
The job is super simple. The only thing is their work conditions and sometimes you may not have work at all but you wouldn't find out till you go up there cause they don't not make calls to fore warn you so you wouldn't waste gas.
Cons
hot work condition, unpromised work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Palletizing Operator (Former Employee) –  New Albany, INMay 19, 2017
Best job around no doubt about it. The highest pay in the area and great benefits. The worst part was working a swing shift but you get use to it and the pay made it worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring, overly-strict, stressful environment to work for.
Operator Assistant/ Shipper (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNMay 17, 2017
A typical day at work was fairly easy but boring, standing on a line packing parts into a tote for about two hours a piece in an eight hour shift. Occasionally a supervisor might come up and point out something wrong.
Pros
Break every two hours (20, 30, 20). Insurance benefits/401k
Cons
Management, weather.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Quality Lead (Former Employee) –  Owosso, MIMay 12, 2017
Busy.
New Molding Process Observed and worked with.
Management was ok.
Floor People had good attitudes.
Hardest Part - Extremely Hot environment.
Working with the employees.
Pros
Good Safty Program
Cons
Very Hot Conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great convenient work when you need a weekly paycheck
line worker/assembler (Current Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCMay 9, 2017
Weekly pay is what i like easy to catch on to the various products and how to pack them. 3rd shift flies by and its only Sunday through Monday. No direct deposit you just pick up your check pn Fridays
Cons
If its slow then no work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical production routine
Operator (machine) (Former Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAMay 4, 2017
Setup and run production machinery.
Quality control check often.
Maintain equipment and repair as needed.
Small group of employees. Very good atmosphere.
Pros
it was work
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun environment work place
SAP Consultant (Current Employee) –  IllinoisApril 10, 2017
fast pace order entry through out the day. Have to make sure we have tools that should be getting shipped that day. make sure concepts and samples are on time as scheduled.
Pros
great co works
Cons
lunch not payed
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Porductive Workforce
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCMarch 20, 2017
Sonoco Is an display factory and printing distribution and has a good management system, safety codes ,and good conduct policy.Sonoco will always value it's employees top priority.
Pros
Long Breaks/Overtime hours if need.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and welcoming business with room for growth
Assembly (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, TNMarch 7, 2017
It is a very welcoming and family-like atmosphere with the employers and the fellow employees at Sonoco. Any confusion or difficulty with tasks were adhered to promptly by the staff.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
pulper opeator (Former Employee) –  Hartsville, SCFebruary 28, 2017
making different grades of paper, this is a swing shift operation,
Management was pretty fair with everyone, Going home safe every day
Pros
safety awards
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A steady and stable work place with positive vibes.
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GAFebruary 27, 2017
When I first come to work, there is a planned schedule. I understand that work may have obstacles but that's fine because i like solving problems. Everywhere I work is organized and sanitized. The day goes by smooth with work done.
Pros
productivity and learning responsibilty
Cons
bad vibes
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a decent workplace, overtime was crushing.
FORKLIFT OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, INFebruary 23, 2017
I worked 12 hours 5 days a week, and 8 hours 2 days a week for 6 months without a day off. The work wasn't too difficult, and things stayed interesting. Excellent Benefits package.
Pros
Benefits, Management felt like they cared.
Cons
Crushing overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Operation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 22, 2017
One makes about 20 an hour there but everything is repetitive and there is no work to be done other than management that one would use their brain. I would return if I ever thought to
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Crystal Report
Business Objects Developer (Former Employee) –  Hartsville, SCJanuary 18, 2017
It is good place to work with new technology like Crystal report. Learn a lot in the company. Environment is friendly. Team is helping a lot to each other. And hour are flexible for all.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Maintenance Manager (Current Employee) –  Henderson, KYJanuary 16, 2017
Sonoco is a great company to work for. Since being there I have been afforded many opportunities. Sonoco challenges you to reach your fullest potential. Good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Spiral Technician (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, ME 04967January 14, 2017
Had a great time of 26 yrs and great co-workers to work with and super plant manager. Leaned to work with .good benefits , a lot of cross training on different job's , helping each other out on jobs.Having great Christmas parties, employee appreciation day's ,
Pros
Co- worker vacation
Cons
Health care
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was horrible
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJanuary 10, 2017
I was hired along with 2 other employees and was the first to complete training. I was promised to have first choice of what schedule to work since I completed training first. I chose second shift. Upon the last mandatory training day of 1st shift, the maintenance technician told me that the I start 3rd shift on Sunday night. I was highly upset. I tried to approach the operations manager about why was I appointed to 3rd shift even after being told I would start 2nd shift on Monday. The operations Manager kept avoiding me for the next 2 months in which I quit because I was offered a better position elsewhere. Low level employees had good work ethic and were honest. Management however, back stabbed many employees so they wouldn't get in trouble themselves.
Pros
How overtime was scheuled
Cons
Too hot inside
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a good place to get into
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  York, PAJanuary 2, 2017
Machine operator experience would be useful. Communication is good between employees and boses.8 hour shift with 2 paid 7 minute breaks and 1 18 minute lunch.
Pros
Atmosphere
Cons
Machine break downs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full time productive easy and great people
Quality control (Former Employee) –  Munroe Falls, OHNovember 29, 2016
Great place to work. Fun atmosphere, great starting pay and benefits. Good hardworking people who are always willing to help.
Pros
Overtime, great job security, Good starting pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Learning experience
Forklift Operator(Shipping) (Former Employee) –  Rural Hall, NC 27045November 23, 2016
Its was either really cold or really hot. We got a measly two twenty minute breaks on a ten hour day. Besides that the work was straight forward, got a few extra skills on paper work in a shipping distributor deportment. A lot of friendly faces there, not much honesty. Hardest part of the job would have to be having the floor to yourself or back tracking a label on a pallet. Eating lunch was fun.
Pros
Hours
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sonoco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 156 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6