Sonoco Employee Reviews

Found 77 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, good company, boring job
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Berthoud, COApril 6, 2015
I worked in the tube and core industry as part of Sonoco. I was hired as a temp and just worked for the summers. The people I worked with were great and the production manager was a great guy. It was just another factory job though. Boring work, long days. The pay was pretty good for still being in school. The retention rate of employees was pretty good. Most of the workers had been there over 10 years. Not a bad temporary position. Definitely don't want to get stuck in factory work for the rest of my life though.
Pros
Good workers, good pay
Cons
Short breaks, corporate, lots of safety rules
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked here very long
Lead person (Current Employee) –  hayward,caMarch 23, 2015
Very fast paced work place, great co workers, mon-friday schedule is awesome, paid holiday and vacations is nice also.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Line Assembler (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCMarch 20, 2015
not the best place no one looks out for anything it a warehouse look be for you move never would work there anymore and the boss is always late
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an okay place to work
Assembly Line Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Rural Hall, NCFebruary 12, 2015
the work is not steady and there are times where they will only let you work 1 day a week. there are no benifits and no way to move up
Pros
its a good job if you are in school because you are not penalized for absence at work
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Materal Handler / Assistant Operator
Material Handler/Shipping (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GAFebruary 3, 2015
Sonoco as a company has made vast improvements from the companies former name. Safety is the #1 Priority. Management made it Top Priority to address the concerns of the employees and developed win / win solutions that made the company a better place to be employed.
Pros
employee morale improved 100%
Cons
the time it may take a temp to be hired full time with the company
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tv intertainment
Steward (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAJanuary 8, 2015
Good company to work for at first but went down hill.
Would drive 338 miles some times just to work one week.
Dispatch would be dishonest about time on jobs just to get us to go out.
Pros
quarterly saftey bounuses
Cons
health insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job and great management.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Douglas, GADecember 8, 2014
Drove the forklift loved to drive the forklift unloaded trucks and loaded them. Also built door racks for the plant and took them to the door plant where they made the doors so they could load the doors in the racks.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are just a number
Operator (Former Employee) –  Sandston, VADecember 1, 2014
you do not matter to the company in any way. you are a number and the ones that mess around get more credit than the ones that try hard.
Pros
nada
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an exceptional company to work for
Maintainer (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLNovember 9, 2014
employees at Sonoco are very hardworking dedicated and most of all professionals in their fields of work. The employers and trainers at Sonoco, take time, pride and great effort in teaching their trainees of all that is required of them to do in their field of work. I work at Sonoco for just a week through a Temp Agency and during my time with them, they welcomed me as one of their own and worked with me throughout my time there, a company I will gladly return to work for as a full time employee if such an opportunity is granted to me.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Rural Hall, NCOctober 21, 2014
Good company, Employees worked as a team to finish the job, great hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Want to know more about Sonoco?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Offered Job growth and training
Machine Operator I-III (Former Employee) –  Sandston, VAOctober 10, 2014
While working for Sonoco, production was busy and there was always room for advancement. Management was a little unbalanced but people were able to get a fair chance. I was able to learn the importance of having strong communication skills and working together as a team. The hardest part of the job at first, was dealing with unprofessional leadership. The most enjoyable part of the job was the activities that we would do to promote things such as, safety, or PPE.
Pros
fun activities
Cons
unprofessional leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Software QA Consultant (Former Employee) –  Hartsville, SCSeptember 12, 2014
Great Work Environment. Fast Paced. Enjoyed. Learned new concepts.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Assistant Can Line Operator (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 4, 2014
i would rather explain in person. the job was enjoyable. management did not perform as professional as they should have.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all the hours u can work ,,and more
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh, INJuly 20, 2014
working 80hrs a week is pretty normal ,, there is no lack of overtime forced upon u here ,, pay is average.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe
Packer/Inspector (Former Employee) –  New Albany, OHJune 19, 2014
packing boxes and quality control i liked the pay and the people but way to much about safety not enfugh about quality in product.
Pros
pay, incentives
Cons
lacking in qualtiy care
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Canton, NCJune 17, 2014
meeting new people
how to order things for the store
great
they where great to work with
when someone needed something and your store was out
learning new things about computers and office work
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assembly line
Assembly Line Worker/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Sandston, VAApril 27, 2014
Didn't work here very long but good work experience.. putting ink in designated areas on assembly line...
Pros
management, pay and co. workers
Cons
standing in one spot for hours hurts your back
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Sandston, VAMarch 20, 2014
I worked as a lead machine operator. The co-workers, supervsiors, and managers were great. There was always opportunity to grow thru the company. The hardest part of my job was trying to work daily to make sure bad products wont sent out of the building. I enjoyed meeting the goal daily in competition with other lines in the building as to who made produced the most.
Pros
always opportunity to move up in positions
Cons
not a good environment to work for while building a family
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time with this company.
Utility and Galley Hand (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAMarch 18, 2014
I loved working offshore, but did not like all the time away from my family.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fork Lift Operator
Forklift Operator, Set Up Attendant, Packer (Current Employee) –  Elon, NCFebruary 25, 2014
Load product, create bill of lading for outgoing product, move material to production.
Pros
benefits
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 106 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture