Sony Mobile Employee Reviews

Found 27 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAJune 24, 2017
growing business
small teams, so a lot to do always
nice people
flexible hours
Sharing San Mateo building with Playstation, advantage for having a cool building with cafeteria and gym
good place to work at in general
Pros
wfh depending on your boss, nice building and cafeteria
Cons
it can be very stressful on launching months
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average work Eviroment
Change Management & Doc Control Analyst (Former Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NCApril 17, 2017
Moduslink was an average work environment. The management was not open minded and seem to be more interested in self achievement and not it employees. The starting salary range was good however no real path to succeed in compensation for work well done.
Pros
Good starting salary
Cons
No compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands-on learning experience
Senior Network Engineer Consultant (Former Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NCMarch 24, 2017
Great job to get me back on top of the industry. Working as an individual contributor and doing the day to day chores of managing a live network of 5000+ end users.
Pros
Training
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work multicultural environment and very productive
Logistics/ Global Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 8, 2017
Great company to work for excellent for developing your professional background. Friendly and multi-cultural environment.
Co-workers willing to help you out and hard workers. The company has great benefits.
Pros
Free cell phone and fresh fruit on Fridays
Cons
Constant re-structure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative envirornment
Paralegal/Legal Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 22, 2016
Extensive interaction with senior executives and managers on a daily basis
Coordinated travel arrangements, prepared expense reports and handle basic administrative tasks such as telecommunication Facilitate and distribution of departmental communication and tasks daily with Human Resources, Finance, Sales & Marketing, Public Relations and Customer Service
Pros
Amazing employees
Cons
limited room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Senior Engineer, Systems (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAApril 12, 2016
I really enjoyed working with Sony Mobile, its fun place to work, and nice location in Bay area. Team is good, and management was very supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work culture, dedicated and innovative employees
Engineering Manager (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAMarch 19, 2016
Employees are treated with respect. The employees are among the smartest and most innovative I have worked with. This is a team culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow Moving
Middle Management (Current Employee) –  Silicon Valley, CAFebruary 14, 2016
Death by a thousand cuts, slow moving company and management decision-making. Quite a lot of talented people, limited by the conservative approach to the market and product evolution
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stable large group
Senior System Engineer (Former Employee) –  JPCJanuary 12, 2016
I worked many years and but its Hard to get good salary, if you are ok in this than its good place to work. Overall its large group and have lots of project
Pros
Na
Cons
not good in pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work but unstable these days
Senior System Engineer / Team Lead (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CAJanuary 12, 2016
I worked 9+ years in sony mobile, Mix Culture good benefits and it was good overall till 2014. because of strong challenges in mobile business from Apple, Samsung and other running with lots of restructuring and cost cutting. too much running on paper these days :(
Pros
Relax Way of working
Cons
Unable to fix internal problems
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Strategic Sourcing (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CAOctober 12, 2015
The work atmosphere is great and the team I support is fabulous! Everyone is very friendly and helpful. The support I receive from my managers has been the best ever. They are easy to communicate with and always supportive and flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Our Department was great place to create new ideas
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAAugust 7, 2015
Apps and Services department was a R&D "startup" department in a large corporation so we were able to explore many new technologies and processes.

I learned Agile development, Dev Ops, MEAN stack and AWS.

Management was great in our department. Our manager did a great job of staying out of the way while providing us everything to do our jobs.

Coworkers were the best part. Very bright dedicated people.

Upper management and their lack of vision and willingness to change was the hardest part of the job.

Again, coworkers were the most enjoyable part of the job and learning.
Pros
short commute, great healthcare
Cons
lack of progressiveness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
culture
Sr. Manager of Workplace Solutions|Americas (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 11, 2015
work culture was very current with a deliverable versus hours worked mentality which was deteriorating as business climate got grim
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teams, multi-national corporation challenges
Business Development, Games (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CAApril 26, 2015
Excellent teams and products in an extremely competitive industry. Comm, org, and political issues you would find at any global large-scale business. Though generally light on the political stuff.
Pros
Work/life balance, business latitude
Cons
Global coordination, legacy infrastructures
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Systems Development and Field Team Support (Current Employee) –  AtlantaFebruary 11, 2015
The industry is fast paced and the office environment allow collaboration. Great to work, learned a lot from the different departments.
Pros
travel
Cons
office closing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good technical challenges
Member of MIB (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CAJanuary 15, 2015
A good place to work in terms for technical content. Support phone launches in US operators. Environment is good, smart people to work with. Current business environment is not great specially in US.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, fantastic Company
HR Generalist (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GeorgiaDecember 29, 2014
Sony Mobile in US, has a terrific work/life balance with flexibility in work hours, tremendous benefits package, and excellent career advancement opportunities. A wonderful creative environment to be a part of.
Pros
Fresh Fruit Fridays, Bagel Tuesday, Generous PTO
Cons
Closing the doors in Atlanta and moving to California
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and friendly environment
Executve Administrative Assistant/Office Manager (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CASeptember 8, 2014
My 6 1/2 years with Sony Mobile has given me the pleasure to work in building strong relationships and to be a part of great team. Fun, love my parties, and to be there to assist their needs with confidence, and a smile to say " It's done". My overall review, is that I will miss them, and I hope to find another great company like Sony Mobile.
Pros
Everyone is friendly
Cons
Not enough time in the day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Senior Manager (Current Employee) –  Foster City, CADecember 2, 2013
The management is really skilled below average, no career growth
low salary compare to other companies
Pros
Gym
Cons
Xx
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best First Job
Corporate Liason (Former Employee) –  Margate, FLOctober 18, 2013
I was able to work a long side corporate and legal departments. I was able to help advance technical writing for technical and customer service departments. I was able to work with other cultures due to my ability to communicate connect clearly.
Pros
Flexible work schedule
Cons
Not much room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sony Mobile. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 113 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8

CEO Approval

72%
36 ratings
Add your rating