Find companies:
SONY MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
51 reviews

SONY MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Intern
Design Administration Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 11, 2014
The atmosphere as an intern was lax and not stressful. Everybody was friendly and helpful in aiding me to learn whenever I made a mistake or was unsure about something.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative, fast-paced environment working with exceptional artists and colleagues.
NY - Executive Administrator (Former Employee), NYNovember 3, 2014
Pros: opportunity to work with up-and-coming artists, concerts and industry functions, satisfaction of successfully coordinating intricate logistics, great compensation, car service.
Cons: long hours and week-ends (although enjoyable nonetheless).
Typical day at work was fast-paced and jam packed. Working with highly successful recording artists and senior level executives. Advanced from Executive Administrator to President of Urban Music for Columbia Records to Manager of Tour Marketing. Enjoyed the opportunity of learning a side of the business that I had previously not been acquainted with first-hand. Wonderful learning experience and growth opportunity. Immensely enjoyed my time at Sony.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as great as it used to be
Senior Vice President (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 18, 2014
A bit stuck in the olden days of music. The digital and new business side of the company is exciting, but the rest of the operations and sales areas are demoralizing for most.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Lyndhurst, NJJuly 28, 2014
Not much culture and a lot of people were getting laid off because of the downfall of the music industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Release Planning Intern
Columbia Records Release Planning Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 9, 2014
• Assistant to the Senior Vice President, answering phones, copying, faxing, etc.
• Assisted in creation of demo CD’s, distribute releases to the National Department Heads and executives, maintenance of all master CD’s, stuffing artwork into early releases
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Public Relations Intern (Former Employee), new york, nyJune 7, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: n.a
great work place learned a lot and gained a lot while working for this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Sales Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 29, 2014
One of the greatest companies to work for within the music industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern for 4 months
National Sales & Marketing Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 10, 2014
Sony was a great place to intern at. Unfortunately, the room for growth does not seem to be available in all departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Vice President, Finance and Administration (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 8, 2014
Pros: los of responsibility
Cons: smalloperation
Head of Finance, Administration, A&R Administration,
Accounts receivable and payable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful
Receptionist (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 22, 2014
Pros: meeting interesting people
great place to work, friendly workers, great for music lovers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
IT (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 21, 2014
Fun place to work but you don't have much time for a personal life. Long hours are rewarded with other perks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Royalty Analyst (Former Employee), lyndhurst, njMarch 18, 2014
Worked with management in providing international royalty accounting assistance using Pivot Tables and Vlookup in Excel
Processed, analyzed and reviewed artist royalty and third party payments
Reviewed and analyzed Quality Control reports and error tracking reports
Prepared agendas for monthly meetings and compliance calls

Processed daily sales invoices, reconciling and auditing using SAP
Invoice coding & batching using look up tables, reconciling invoices with PO
Created miscellaneous, distribution and pass through invoices
Vendor maintenance-create new vendor, vendor change
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company - Music Industry
Copyright Coordinator (Current Employee), Manhattan, NYMarch 10, 2014
Great people of all walks of life work here. Common denominator between everyone is their love for music.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and very personable
Radio Promotion Department Intern (Former Employee), Nashville, TNFebruary 24, 2014
Love working here! Everyone is very supportive. There is always something new happening.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 18, 2014
I gained my first hands on HR experience from Sony Music. I worked with a great staff of HR professionals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
EA to EVP of Corp. Communications (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 3, 2013
Pros: great benefits, compensation was competitive
Cons: none come to mind.
I enjoyed having a bird's eye view of the music business, was an interesting pairing with my involvement in it as a semi-pro sideman in the trenches as it were.

Co-workers were professional and friendly.

The most enjoyable part of the job was being relatively close to the flame of the music business - as opposed to working in a bank - and working closely with the comms team helping them edit their documents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Proofreading, editing (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 8, 2013
Sony requires my undivided attention. I love meeting deadlines and it gives me an opportunity to continuously hone my skills in copy editing, writing and proofreading. My co-workers are happy, helpful individuals and make the hardest part of my job--facing Monday mornings--enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging place to work
Executive Vice President, Sales (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 27, 2013
Recommended to those who are interested in working for a major label in the music industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Accounts Receivables Coordinator (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 7, 2013
Great management..
Great work environment
Workable, adjustable hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
Intern (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 20, 2013
Pros: met some artists and got to see them perform
I have had a great time interning for Sony Music. I have researched potential talent and talked with the SVP of Product Development. I have learned 3 new programs: CDS,GRPS, and SAP.

I have met great people who are striving to help me with a future job with Sony Music and I am grateful for that. Music has been my passion since I was little and I will do anything for a career in it.

1 2 3

About SONY MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT

Sony Music Entertainment is a global recorded music company with a current roster that includes a broad array of both local artists – Read more

SONY MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT Photos