Sony Music Entertainment

Sony Music Entertainment Employee Reviews

Found 144 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Legal with creative edge
Legal Secretary - Short Term Assignment (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 11, 2015
Perfection there!

Learned you can go home and arrange it like this environment

Coworkers like high school friends

Hardest part - when the owner of that position came back

The most enjoyable the day I started this job
Pros
FREE GYM, MUSICAL PERKS, MOVIES, GET TO SEE YOUR FAVORITE CELEBRITIES
Cons
A REPLACEMENT SPOT
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fun but fast paced environments filled with different talented creatives.
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, CASeptember 9, 2015
Overall a great experience to work a highly collaborative and energetic group of co-workers. I had the opportunity to learn about the day to day inner-workings of running and contributing to a social brand through content creation.
Pros
Fun and youthful staff, free weekly lunches, and very open work space.
Cons
Contract/temporary position only
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job working remote
Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 8, 2015
I enjoyed this internship even though the job opportunities that come from it are close to none. I still had the opportunity to see alot of inside trade information on the music industry and rubbed elbows with some heavy hitters in the industry.
Pros
Insider knowledge, networking
Cons
No job opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recording Engineer
Assistant Engineer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 11, 2015
A typical day at work started with the day to day operations log. Knowing what was still running from the night before, what was coming in the current day. I learned about politics of the music business. I learned how to make records sound radio ready. from the idea, to writing, to recording to mixing. I was involved hands on from beginning to end. hardest part was not sleeping, most enjoyable was mixing and mastering the album and then buying it seeing it on th shelf with your name in it. what a huge accomplishment from the time a set my eyes on this career.
Pros
Everything
Cons
5.00 p hr to learn and chase a dream
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant work environment
Administrative Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 30, 2015
Very warm office environment to work at. Amazing respectful and caring coworkers. Decent amount of workload. Extremely flexible and reasonable schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for.
A&R Manager, RCA/SONY (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 21, 2015
I did many fun things over my time at Sony. It is a very relaxed place to work at with a lot of additional activities to do outside of work. It is however, the sort of job that you will be required to work long into the evening. So if you want a 9-5, this job will not be for you.
Pros
Lots of free stuff.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No where to move up
Database Analyst / Application Support (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJune 3, 2015
No room for advancement here. Co-workers are either friendly, or hard to get along with - no happy medium, and people push their work onto others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great place to work
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Pitman, NJJune 2, 2015
my typical work day was to enjoy making the complete music CD and shipping out the finished product. the co-worker were great and fun to work with always willing to work when ever they needed me too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for sony
Executive Assistant/ PR Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 26, 2015
I only had an opportunity to intern for Sony, but as an intern I did enjoy myself. I was given the opportunity to write, edit, and assist with events. Great people at Varity Records.
Pros
free lunch, free cd's
Cons
they didnt hire new ppl
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Senior Integrated Project Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 12, 2015
The people were very smart and collaborative which made for an awesome work environment. Learned a lot during my time as a freelancer
Pros
free music
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sr. Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Lyndhurst, NJMay 7, 2015
Good place to learn
friendly management,
challenging job,
good perks,helping to co-workers,
The most enjoyble part of the job
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Security Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 18, 2015
Typical day would be to come in and go over the daily reports. Rewind cameras and look for abnormalities in and out of the building. My coworkers were all awesome because the main goal was always to get the job done. Our Vice President of Operations gave us complete autonomy to get the job done and not once did we let him down.
Pros
everything
Cons
not to many cons/ building shut operations down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an intyernship.
Marketing Assistant Intern (Former Employee) –  Beltsville, MDApril 2, 2015
It was a great internship. It no longer is an existence in Beltsville, MD. To get this position now you have to go to New York.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment.
Telecommunications Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 26, 2015
Worked on large projects, 200-1000 phone moves, and programming.

Pulled cables anywhere from the 35th floor down to 3rd floor computer room, also ran cables on individual floors from 50ft to 200ft distances.

Overall NY was a very enjoyable place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, both technically and personally
General Assistant/Assistant Engineer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 4, 2015
A great stepping stone for anyone interested in pursuing a career as a recording/mixing engineer.

Biggest challenge was trying to satisfy both clients and higher-ups in the studio; high stress environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning experience
Label Manager (Former Employee) –  Coconut Grove, FLMarch 2, 2015
I worked 4 years for Sony Music as a label manager and learned everything I needed to learn in order to launch my own business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love this job coming up in highscool
Fork Lift Operator (Former Employee) –  Carrollton, GAFebruary 23, 2015
I actually worked for more than one organaztion for this company but the enviorment was really nice and I had to pleasure to work up under several poeople who shared my same compassion for helping others
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Financial Intern (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 8, 2015
The culture is great and colleagues are truly want to help you.
Great learning experience.
Highly recommend for recent graduates.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my time with Sony. I have learned many things, dealing with customers, computer experience and management experience
customer service, credit and collections (Former Employee) –  Lyndhurst, NJJanuary 18, 2015
I have held many job duties in my 23 years with Sony. I started in customer service, answering the phone, taking orders from customers and sales reps. I also did filing, office mailings to customers and sales reps. My second year with the company I became a credit coordinator. I adjusted customers for pricing claims, misships, shortages and non-delivery of their orders.
Pros
we had free concerts, free lunches, free dinners and free cds
Cons
you did the work of 3 people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great job.
Group Leader/ Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Pitman, NJJanuary 12, 2015
Was able to add a lot of different skill under my job experiences.
All positions was great and paid good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 208 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

Sony Music Entertainment Reviews by Location