Sotera Defense Solutions Employee Reviews

Showing all 36 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treated me very well
Worker Bee (Current Employee) –  Sierra Vista, AZMay 31, 2017
Nothing but good things to say about Sotera. PTO policy is very liberal, benefits package is as good as anywhere I have been, and their pay was reasonable. Given where we work, you really cant ask for more than that.
Pros
Reasonable Pay, Great Benefits Package, Very flexible with PTO
Cons
I really dont have any "Cons"
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sotera - good enough if you can get it.
Help Desk Analyst II (Former Employee) –  Springdale, ARApril 13, 2017
Job life was great - management was somewhat goofy and ill prepared for the contract. Beyond that you are subject to the whim of the local USDA office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Intelligence Analyst (Former Employee) –  VirginiaMarch 17, 2017
worked on several computers systems.
Great case load.
Great experience
Diverse culture
Learned that being detail oriented is extremely important in this field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
DCGS-A Systems Engineer (CTR) (Current Employee) –  Fort Gordon, GAFebruary 4, 2017
Sotera Defense Solutions is a great company to work for. They do not short change employees during salary negotiations. I would recommend Sotera to anyone.
Pros
Pay, benefits, opportunity.
Cons
Shift Work on my specific contract
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people in the company and great management.
Systems Administrator (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VAJanuary 25, 2017
I enjoyed my time working for this company. The people I worked with where friendly and outgoing. My managers where very understanding and did what what they could to help their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VASeptember 30, 2016
This was a good place to work before budget cuts and sequestration affected jobs. Mid sized government contractors all suffered and Sotera was no exception.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VAMay 24, 2016
Sotera is a good company to work for and is winning a lot of good Govt contracts. Professional environment and great co workers. I highly recommend Sotera.
Pros
Very professional, good management and good people working there
Cons
Mid size company so career growth can be slower than at other companies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Growth over Employee Growth and Professional Development
Pr. Information Systems Security Engineer (ISSE) (Former Employee) –  Annapolis Junction, MDJune 14, 2015
The story of a job placement company trying to be a defense contractor. All staff meetings were to tell employees about acquisitions and plans for company revenue growth. Only discussion of employee success was due to a project team's efforts prior to their previous company being acquired.
Pros
Great salary (due to customer rate)
Cons
Extremely poor advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an enjoyable place to work
Corporate (Current Employee) –  VA, Columbia areaMay 26, 2015
There appears to be some financial issues since everything discussed centers around money and how the company can make more, or at least enough to meet debt obligations.

There is not any job security. Every day is questionable whether there will be a tomorrow.

Coworkers are nice but above that becomes less than satisfying and supportive.
Pros
Nice non-management employees
Cons
Work life, management, training/education
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Counter-Terrorism Analyst (Former Employee) –  Sterling, VAMay 11, 2015
Pros:
Excellent Management
Good Pay
Flexible work schedule
If contract was lost, company would work with you to find a new contract.


Cons
Contract work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a very fun and enjoyable place to work. I learned a lot and was challenged each and every day.
Receptionist, then Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VA 23452January 18, 2015
It was fun and enjoyable working at Sotera Defense Solutions. I only left after being laid off due to the absence in government contracts. I was fortunate enough to work there for almost four (4) years.

I enjoyed being the Travel Coordinator for the senior software engineers and corporate employees.
Pros
Loved working with DOD, Senior Software Engineers and Corporate employees of Sotera Defense Solutions
Cons
It was difficult wondering from year to year if the contracts would be there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Department
Information Security Systems Officer (Former Employee) –  Springfield, VAJanuary 4, 2015
Wonderful experience due to supervisor, she was willing to mentor those who wanted to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Company
Intelligence Analyst (Current Employee) –  Vienna, VANovember 18, 2014
Great leadership, many opportunities for advancement. Highly cleared positions and encourages independent work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team of talented people
Business analyst (Former Employee) –  McLean VirginiaJuly 23, 2014
I enjoyed the team I have worked with and the atmosphere of work which allowed for thought and innovation and encourage team participation and a since of family. The contract ended due to government cuts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice place to work
Network Engineer (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDJune 2, 2014
This was a temporary project that I really enjoyed working on. The work environment was very layed back, which brought an ease of concentration.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding
Staff Engineer (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VAApril 11, 2014
Busy
Valuable knowledge
Excellent
great co-workers
Job easy
Going to work everyday
Pros
Wonderful environment
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good fit for long term employment
Payroll (Former Employee) –  Frederick, MarylandJanuary 2, 2014
Sotera is owned by another investment group who has no history in this field and it shows. Administration where I worked was stressed and understaffed. Speed was the number one objective and the word "quality" always took a back seat. That may be the normal at most places of work however. This appears to be a very stressed company financially at this point. Please keep that in mind before you accept a job there. The employees that I worked with were very nice people but they had been asked to give up too much family life to be happy.
Pros
Payroll is there every two weeks.
Cons
Your non-work life can suffer working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company was one of the better companies that I have worked for.
Intelligence Analyst (Former Employee) –  DHS (D.C.), DIA (Reston)December 10, 2013
I enjoyed working for the company. I received respectable pay, and enjoyed some company perks (ie. box seats at the Verizon Center). I would have loved to have continued working for the company, however major contract adjustments were made, thus not allowing me, and many others to continue to do so.
Pros
Good communication, except during contract negotiations. Mobility.
Cons
Started to lose some benefits (PTO, Holidays, Healthcare costs)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well rounded company
Training Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Washington DC Metro AreaNovember 21, 2013
Sotera Defense Solutions has afforded me several advancement opputunities since I started with them in 2007. They are a very personable company where you don't feel like just a number, but you are part of a team and a large family.
Pros
ability to move and advance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Familiar with IT Infastructure. Learned VMWare Sphere Client 5.0 and other Web-based Tools Productive, Dedicated and Motivated.
Close Support Member/CMA (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VANovember 20, 2013
Familiar with IT Infastructure. Learned VMWare Sphere Client 5.0 and other Web-based Tools Productive, Dedicated and Motivated.
Cons
Training
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sotera Defense Solutions. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4