SourceMedia Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace- Little to no room for Growth
Marketing Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 17, 2017
This is a great company if you do not want to advance your career. They do not offer competitive salaries and it is hard to earn any increases and there are on bonuses. The work/life balance is amazing and they have flexible hours and offer full insurance, gym membership, and it is a great family- like environment.
Pros
Flexible Hours, 401K, Gym Membership discount
Cons
Career Advancement, Training and Development, Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to cut your teeth
Editorial (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 30, 2017
It's a great place to learn journalism's ropes, and has great, very smart editors who know what they're doing. The highest higher-ups can't seem to figure out how to pay editorial properly, while lauding other departments for bringing in money (when they're bringing it in with editorial's help and on the strength of editorial's content). Some managers are amazing, some are amazingly subpar, and creativity tends to languish under their watch. Likewise, some managers are wonderful about allowing their subordinates flexibility (such as working from home) while others you'd think were being asked to lasso the moon.

Now, all of that said, if you try to reach out across departments (it isn't easy, but it is possible) and get assertive about opportunities, that can definitely work in your favor.

The view is unbelievable.
Pros
Opportunities for assertive employees, great editors
Cons
Uneven management, below-market pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An okay place to work
Distribution Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 30, 2017
The responsbilities of my department were outsourced to another country. My typical work day was spent first seeing if their were any problems and if there were work to resolve those issues. Then I worked on time sensitive material that had to be completed between 12 noon and 1 pm.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Enviroment with a Ping Pong table
Marketing Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 30, 2017
Great work/life balance with room to grow in your career. Management is great, but they lack with providing competitive compensation. Lots of vacation days.
Pros
Vacation
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with collaborative environment
Conference Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 27, 2017
Excellent work experience with great team members. Collaborative environment where positive results were expected. Emphasis on communication between team members.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance, not a lot of room for advancement
Digital Account Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 28, 2015
Management is committed to learning and improving and work life balance is awesome! Not a lot of room for growth, but benefits are improving and salaries are fair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and results oriented
Credit & Collections Representative (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 9, 2014
Great team to work with that cares about results and persons involved
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Media Buyer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 24, 2014
Great relationship with management and staff
Hardest part of my job is not meeting the deadlines because client would didn't sign off on ads on time
Pros
Lots of free lunches
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Last year they did have a ping pong table
Client Services Administrator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 28, 2014
casual and enjoyable environment. Learn about redemption bond. The end of the month was a little hectic.
Pros
Flexible hour lunch
Cons
No retirement plan
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed working environment, no benefits or job advancement
Senior Marketing Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 27, 2014
The environment is good to work. However, there is no 401K match, sub par health benefits, if you can call it a benefit--HSA is basically it.

No room for advancement, no pay raise, senior management is afraid to rock the boat.

Despite all this, you have loyal workers especially from those who enjoy what they do--offering up 150% or more, working long hours.
Pros
Can work from home if needed; relaxed working environment
Cons
poor healthcare benefits, no 401K match; no pay raise
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok, but not great...
Art Director (Former Employee) –  new york, nyApril 7, 2014
Relax atmosphere, some of the co-workers are fun to be around, but management is more interesting in saving their friends' job than keeping the experienced and skillful people around. Most of the people in management position have very little skills because people are not selected for management positions based on skills, but on how much you suck up to people...
Pros
Relax atmosphere
Cons
Low pay, unprofessional, high turnover...
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working at SourceMedia!
Marketing Manager, Conferences & Events (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 26, 2014
Great environment, great people, great work/life balance. No growth paths, though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, loved my job--at the time.
REGIONAL SALES MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 5, 2013
Worked for the company for 6.5 years with a management team that was totally supportive, very "team-centric", While "upper management" changed, every couple of years, there was stability within our respective divisions. I learned to flourish both personally and professionally with managers and clients, with whom I still have professional relationships.
Pros
Management team who knew the business channels; effectively motivated the sales team.
Cons
Private equity company takeover. Many management changes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and I learned a lot, Ok company to work for
Art Director/Graphic Design Lead (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 24, 2013
This was my stepping stone. Not a lot of room for growth but I was fortunate to be considered when an opening presented itself and I was promoted. I've had the privilege of working with truly great and interesting people. I learned a lot in my years working at SourceMedia
Pros
working on numerous publications helped better my skills in many areas.
Cons
poor insurance plan. Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company to work for
Not Available (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 17, 2013
Ok company to work for. This was my stepping stone. No growth available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good working atmosphere and pleasant co-workers.
Production Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 14, 2012
I was in SourceMedia for 3 years. I really enjoyed working with them.
Unfortunately they were down sizing and they had to eliminate my position.
Pros
we got bonuses every year.
Cons
they did not have a good health plan.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High productivity environment with dedicated staff reaching needed goals.
Fulfillment Supervisor for Electronic and Print (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 2, 2012
I enjoyed working there and the many varied professional personalities I encountered. SourceMedia was purchased from Thompson Media by Investcorp in 2004 in order to sell again. Overall upper manangement leadership and staff morale tended to be low. Waves of layoffs although sometimes in small numbers did not encourage feelings of job security amongst the employees. High productivity demands made at crunch times, but respect to those who made sure the work was completed efficiently and without error.
Pros
generous vacation time. veteran publishing professionals on staff.
Cons
high productivity demands, overall leadership from upper management was lacking, inefficient coordination between departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no direction for company, poor attitude and low pay
worker (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAAugust 1, 2012
Very much a hot idea of the week sales shop. Cutthroat work environment
Pros
get a discount on subscription to paper
Cons
poor insurance plan
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SourceMedia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3

SourceMedia Reviews by Location