South Austin Medical Center

South Austin Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really appreciated our supervisor and manager.
Monitor Technician; Unit Clerk (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 23, 2015
Great place to work and flexible hours. Working side by side with co-workers that I got along with. Work consisted of 12 hour shifts 0700-1900 0r 1900-0700 although may seem long it was mandatory and necessary for the care of our patients.
Pros
PTO and 401k and insurance with facility
Cons
12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time at samc
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 27, 2013
The labor and delivery unit evolved during my employment. Some of the changes have been for the good. The newest director is more concerned with money than providing excellent patient care. The new director feels that younger nurses are needed for this area. They have nurses there who can and do provide good care. Samc labor and delivery staffing is extremely minimal. Benefits were adaquate and comparible to most hospitals.
Pros
the nursing staff is very helpful to each other
Cons
extremely minimal staffing
Was this review helpful?Yes23No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good ideal. find a job somewhere else
Certified Pharmacy Technician/Pyxis Technician (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 28, 2015
I would highly suggest never taking a PRN job unless you really want to work PRN hours. My experience with SAMC was an unpleasant one I got hired PRN in the beginning. Worked my butt off for a year only to watch other people get full-time shifts. So to summarize this up....if they hire you PRN they'll only think of you as such and there isn't much moving up room.
Cons
short breaks, terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fast paced
Phlebotomy Technician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 3, 2015
I did an internship here for about a month during the summer. Everyone was friendly and most patients were accommodating. I had a really early shift but it went by very quickly.
Pros
friendly coworkers
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if trying to get your foot in the door
Radiology Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TexasApril 12, 2013
Job was somewhat difficult, never got out at scheduled time not a good place to work if trying to go to school
Pros
good if trying to get your foot in the door
Cons
long hours, poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Remarkable and caring in everything they set out to do.
Unit Secretary/CNA (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 22, 2013
I love working here. my efforts are appreciated and there is room for endless growth. A great place to work!
Pros
flexibilty
Cons
12hr shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes15No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient Access Team Lead
Patient Access Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 7, 2012
Great group of staff to work with, well educated and willingness to help others (staff, patients and their families).
Pros
excellent training program
Cons
working long weekend hours
Was this review helpful?Yes19No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family like atmosphere
RN (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 18, 2014
South Austin Medical Center was a great place to work. It always felt like family.
Pros
great people
Was this review helpful?Yes11No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close to home
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 24, 2013
Hard work and not always rewarding, but overall a decent place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes17NoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
2.4
Culture
3.4

South Austin Medical Center Reviews by Location