Find companies:
South County Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

South County Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work!
Patient Safety Sitter (Former Employee), Wakefield, RIJuly 19, 2014
Pros: amazing atmosphere
Cons: only downside was working 3rd shift
Great staff, amazing supervisors. Can honestly say I've never had a better job and I hope to work with South County again in the near future! I'd still be working there, however after having my daughter, I decided to be a stay at home mom.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
*
TELECOMMUNICATIONS REP (Current Employee), Wakefield, RIJanuary 13, 2014
Field internal and external calls through hospital switchboard
Page doctors for patients after hours through answering service
Page overhead all CODE calls
Greet visitors at front desk
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good co-workers, pleasant working conditions
Nurse (Former Employee), RIJune 18, 2013
Pros: great co workers and patients
Cons: high stress, management in some areas, lack of backing from higher ups.
The pay here is pretty good but not as good as some of the other hospitals in the state. Management, depending on your floor or area can be weak or show favoritism. My coworkers were great although I did see some who were cut throat and cliques were prevelant. Typical in any work environment but it was never dealt with. The board has no clue what transpires – more... there day to day and are of no help to the staff here who want to give the best of care. It is too bad because this could be a better hospital if the employees had someone backing them up. HR is a joke with a power hungry woman who needs to be reigned in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at Work
Dietary Cashier (Current Employee), Wakefeild Rhode IslandApril 26, 2013
Duties Include Managing the Cafeteria, Maintaining friendly and inviting environment, up~to~date

Knowledge of Policies, pricing and procedures, Co~training new hires, Setting up and Breaking Down

Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, Responsible for handling Large amounts of Cash, I am the Full~time

Cashier. Working as a team member preforming cashier duties, – more... product assistance, organized the

department and Closing up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Great Staff Overflows to Great Services
Exercise Physiologist (Current Employee), Wakefield, RIMarch 21, 2013
Pros: great staff and managements, salary, enjoyable and enthusiastic patients, hours, numerous opportunities for involvement in various aspects of facility
Cons: short breaks, small facility
Opening at 6 in the morning can seem daunting and could easily be dreaded. However, the experiences and opportunity at the facility are anything but. Originally beginning my time at the local hospital as an intern for college credit, I later accepted the position of Exercise Physiologist with great enthusiasm. My experiences have been nothing short – more... of rewarding, both educationally and personal relationships. The small staff of experienced, trained and exceptional individuals cater to each patients needs from those undergoing cardiac rehabilitation, those suffering from pulmonary limitations, diabetics, obese/weight management and those just attempting to better their overall general fitness through exercise. A typical day at the Rehab and Wellness Center begins early. Most often patients arrive before staff and wait eagerly by the door in anticipation to begin thier work outs. Patients, with ages ranging from 20-98, take part in one of morning classes of toning, balance or ball classes, each targeted to improve individuals activities of daily living. As an Exercise Physiologist duties include; catering exercise regimens to patient needs, personal one-on-one training, instructing small fitness classes, monitoring patients vitals pre/post and throughout exercise sessions, manage medical records, and monitoring/identifying patients EKGs through 4-lead telemetry. My experiences at the hospital have taught me the values, tasks and hard work required to run a successful and enjoyable cardiopulmonary rehabilitation center. Working with talented staff and under a demanding yet wonderful management (flexible, patient, caring for both patients and staff), have been truly great. The most difficult yet most rewarding aspect of the job would have to be to get patients to begin regimens and/or diet changes. As new patients enroll in the program, many have multiple limitations, limited experiences with physical activity and/or are taking numerous medications. To motivate patients to begin a program, to continue and be consistent with the workouts/diet changes, and/or make some alterations in their daily lives can be tough. As some patients may not be 100% into changing their ways or diet, its important and my job to help them recognize the importance and benefits of making even the smallest changes. As they make these changes, and begin to see success, their enthusiasm most often changes and no longer looked as an impossible task. Seeing someone not only change physically, and see improvements in their general health, but also see the emotional and mental improvements encourages me to continue my job. Its difficult to encourage someone who has no interest in working out, changing dietary habits or smoking habits to continue, however once improvements are recognized and I see attitudes change, I truly enjoy my experience at the facility. The opportunities presented at the South County Hospital Cardiopulmonary Rehabilitation and Wellness facility has been rewarding, enjoyable and an experience of clinical patient care like no other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Great Staff Overflows to Great Services
Exercise Physiologist (Current Employee), Wakefield, RIMarch 21, 2013
Pros: great staff and managements, salary, enjoyable and enthusiastic patients, hours, numerous opportunities for involvement in various aspects of facility
Cons: short breaks, small facility
Opening at 6 in the morning can seem daunting and could easily be dreaded. However, the experiences and opportunity at the facility are anything but. Originally beginning my time at the local hospital as an intern for college credit, I later accepted the position of Exercise Physiologist with great enthusiasm. My experiences have been nothing short – more... of rewarding, both educationally and personal relationships. The small staff of experienced, trained and exceptional individuals cater to each patients needs from those undergoing cardiac rehabilitation, those suffering from pulmonary limitations, diabetics, obese/weight management and those just attempting to better their overall general fitness through exercise. A typical day at the Rehab and Wellness Center begins early. Most often patients arrive before staff and wait eagerly by the door in anticipation to begin thier work outs. Patients, with ages ranging from 20-98, take part in one of morning classes of toning, balance or ball classes, each targeted to improve individuals activities of daily living. As an Exercise Physiologist duties include; catering exercise regimens to patient needs, personal one-on-one training, instructing small fitness classes, monitoring patients vitals pre/post and throughout exercise sessions, manage medical records, and monitoring/identifying patients EKGs through 4-lead telemetry. My experiences at the hospital have taught me the values, tasks and hard work required to run a successful and enjoyable cardiopulmonary rehabilitation center. Working with talented staff and under a demanding yet wonderful management (flexible, patient, caring for both patients and staff), have been truly great. The most difficult yet most rewarding aspect of the job would have to be to get patients to begin regimens and/or diet changes. As new patients enroll in the program, many have multiple limitations, limited experiences with physical activity and/or are taking numerous medications. To motivate patients to begin a program, to continue and be consistent with the workouts/diet changes, and/or make some alterations in their daily lives can be tough. As some patients may not be 100% into changing their ways or diet, its important and my job to help them recognize the importance and benefits of making even the smallest changes. As they make these changes, and begin to see success, their enthusiasm most often changes and no longer looked as an impossible task. Seeing someone not only change physically, and see improvements in their general health, but also see the emotional and mental improvements encourages me to continue my job. Its difficult to encourage someone who has no interest in working out, changing dietary habits or smoking habits to continue, however once improvements are recognized and I see attitudes change, I truly enjoy my experience at the facility. The opportunities presented at the South County Hospital Cardiopulmonary Rehabilitation and Wellness facility has been rewarding, enjoyable and an experience of clinical patient care like no other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Registered Nurse, Float (Current Employee), Warwick, RIMarch 17, 2013
Management treats you with respect, fair wages, great nursing staff! Pleasure to work for!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
South County Hospital
Goffer (Current Employee), Wakefield, R.I.August 16, 2012
Pros: great hard working coworkers who care and have very strong work ethics.
Cons: extreme low wages, not even close to competitive, incompetent management, benefits are a joke, alot of waste.
Love working there. Great coworkers. Pay scale is the same as it was in the 1980's. Horrible pay, horrible benefits. Management is way out of touch with the great people who care and make the operations of hospital happen. Extreme amount of waste. Money is literally thrown right in the dumpster. Millions worth I have personally witnessed. Instead of – more... issues being handled correctly, product is just tossed into dumpster. It really is unbelievable. SCH is a three ring circus. That I care not to be part of. Hopefully things will change for them. It really is a nice hospital. With great employees. But the way the employees are treated and the disgusting wages they are payed, it is a disaster waiting to happen. Alot of incompetence in management! – less

June 9, 2013

Its a beautiful facility and there are some really nice people working there. What they don't tell you when they hire you into a staff position is they also have a float pool with benefited nurses. When the census is low you might be bumped off your shift and have to use your PTO, paid time off, otherwise you don't get paid. Some people have had to pay for their insurance out of pocket if insufficient hours. So your 24 or 32 hours really isn't what they say. Very few full time positions, pay scale is out of synch with other hospitals in neighboring states. Senior management and Board of Trustees out of touch with frontline staff who are afraid to voice opinions for fear of being blackballed and losing their jobs. Human Resources way too powerful, its a nightmare to get through HR to be interviewed by a manager.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
sitterr (Current Employee), Wakefield, RIJune 28, 2012
Pros: great attitudes
Cons: non
great place to work. employees have a positive attitude . great co workers, ability to work as a team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work
Preventative Maintenance Tech (Former Employee), Wakefeild R.I.February 14, 2012
Great place to work. staff was great work with . Proper tools to do your job